We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, great property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing views, great property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Was worried about some reviews I saw. We stayed in the Presidential Suite. Not as big or splashy as I would have liked but great room with amazing views. Bathroom has wonderful tub and shower. Would have liked to see bath salts and robes. No mini bar in the room but a wetbar with mini fridge if you brought your own things. If you eat in the wine cellar ask for the "nook" table, it is the best. Waiter Keith was outstanding and knew the wines expertly. Regular dining room was good. Stayed 2 nights and we were getting sick of eating there. I suggest going off property to eat if you are staying a few days. Smores by campfire, some activities for the kids, indoor pool was ok, kids really liked it. Had the lavendar crush spa treatment, it was a male that gave the treatment. He was excellent- front dest spa girls could have been nicer. They didnt offer me tea but did off another guest. General service was very very good. Property requires tons of walking. Wouldnt bring my grandmother here! But we didnt mind. I cant say enough about the views. Just unreal. mt Washington right outside our windows and the entire presidential range. Plenty of game, a movie theater, barn, and more. We would go back and take the same room. Only because all other rooms are smaller. Nicely furnished, bed was confortable. Kids slept on pull out couch in front of the fireplace.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxgoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the resort. We appreciate feedback and suggestions from guests as it helps us know what we are doing right and we need to improve on. From fine dining, to the game room, to the spa, it sounds like your stay was enjoyable and relaxing. Thank you for your valueable input and we can't wait to welcome you back to the resort in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    469
    151
    92
    63
See reviews for
779
772
31
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Just 2 weeks prior to going to MVG my boyfriend and I came across the Groupon for a 2 night stay and decided to take our 4 kids up for a few days for April vacation. It is never boring driving up to the Mountains considering the breathtaking views, and once at the hotel, the views were even more spectacular. Grounds and hotel are very well maintained (love the turn-down service and chocolate on the pillow!), the staff is incredibly friendly and knowledgeable about the surrounding area and places to go. Because of the somewhat rainy weather, we had just as much fun staying at MVG with all the MANY amenities they have - indoor movie theatre, wine tasting, game room fit for adults as well as children, activites scheduled throughout the day, on-property farm, playground, golf, tennis, pool, spa, restaurant.....If you have children or don't, this is definite must for Mount Washington lovers to visit!

Room Tip: We received a free upgrade when we arrived to Mountain View rooms...I recommend these for the view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Michelle,

We apprieciate your review. We have numerous activities and amenities for our guests to enjoy and we are glad you were able to take advantage of what we had to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We have been to this Resort in late summer and winter and now spring, and it has never failed to be a delightful experience. The setting is magnificent the rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spotless and the staff go out of their way to help accomodate any requests. The resort has something for everyone - kids love the game room, pool and movie theatre. I love the peaceful setting and elegant old world style. We had spent the night before in another family resort, and it didn't hold a candle to this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mainetraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your kind words and hope you will continue visiting the Mountain View Grand in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent two nights at the Mountain View during April vacation. Rates are low since the snow is gone and the leaves haven't come out yet. If New England had had any rain this year, it would be 'mud season'. The staff at MVGR&S are wonderful, ever present in public areas yet un-intrusive; the ideal combination. The resort goes out of their way to provide activities that will appeal to all ages (tots, tweens, teens, adults). If your budget limits you, nearby towns offer plenty of dining options between walks, swims and barn visits (all free activities).

Room Tip: North side rooms may have some noise from kitchen ventilation and truck deliveries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jkeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our Activities Department works hard to ensure everyone has something fun to do during their stay. We are glad your stay was an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
02019
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The resort was beautiful, kept spotless, and the grounds were nice. They upgraded our room to a beautiful mountain view suite which was awesome. The room was very nice and big. They offered room service and had two or three restaurants at the hotel which we never used because we were always out and about. We stayed in April which was a mistake only because it is the off season up in New Hampshire. Any attractions that you want to go to are only open on the weekends and whatever is open closes @ 6 p.m. We couldn't even do a train ride up the white mountains because they only ran on weekends. This resort is about an hour away from North Conway where all the action is. I would probably chose this resort again but only in the summer when everything is open and the weather is nicer.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't underneath any of the flagpoles on top of the resort. It is very wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandalsgirl0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We apprieciate you taking the time to review. While things do tend to be on the quietier side this time of year, it is still great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back at the resort this summer.

Chris Diego
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
19.3 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
20.0 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
15.8 km away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.8 km away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
19.7 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,292 reviews
19.4 km away
Omni Bretton Arms Inn at Mount Washington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Property: Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,279 - ₹ 22,422
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing