We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We have been to this Resort in late summer and winter and now spring, and it has never failed to be a delightful experience. The setting is magnificent the rooms are beautiful, comfortable and spotless and the staff go out of their way to help accomodate any requests. The resort has something for everyone - kids love the game room, pool and movie theatre. I love the peaceful setting and elegant old world style. We had spent the night before in another family resort, and it didn't hold a candle to this place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainetraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We appreciate your kind words and hope you will continue visiting the Mountain View Grand in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Chris Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,091)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,619 - 1,623 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent two nights at the Mountain View during April vacation. Rates are low since the snow is gone and the leaves haven't come out yet. If New England had had any rain this year, it would be 'mud season'. The staff at MVGR&S are wonderful, ever present in public areas yet un-intrusive; the ideal combination. The resort goes out of their way to provide activities that will appeal to all ages (tots, tweens, teens, adults). If your budget limits you, nearby towns offer plenty of dining options between walks, swims and barn visits (all free activities).

Room Tip: North side rooms may have some noise from kitchen ventilation and truck deliveries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jkeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our Activities Department works hard to ensure everyone has something fun to do during their stay. We are glad your stay was an enjoyable one and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The resort was beautiful, kept spotless, and the grounds were nice. They upgraded our room to a beautiful mountain view suite which was awesome. The room was very nice and big. They offered room service and had two or three restaurants at the hotel which we never used because we were always out and about. We stayed in April which was a mistake only because it is the off season up in New Hampshire. Any attractions that you want to go to are only open on the weekends and whatever is open closes @ 6 p.m. We couldn't even do a train ride up the white mountains because they only ran on weekends. This resort is about an hour away from North Conway where all the action is. I would probably chose this resort again but only in the summer when everything is open and the weather is nicer.

Room Tip: Make sure your room isn't underneath any of the flagpoles on top of the resort. It is very wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandalsgirl0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We apprieciate you taking the time to review. While things do tend to be on the quietier side this time of year, it is still great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back at the resort this summer.

Chris Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I've been looking for a place like this forever it seems! Two working parents, with two active boys ages 8 and 12, looking for relaxation, enough things to keep them occupied, good service and food, and I think we got it! From the views to the welcoming and friendly staff, to the farm animals, indoor pool and game room, thank you for such a treat for weary parents! Not many places can boast a glass of Pinot Griogio on an Adirondack Chair watching the sun set on multiple mountain tops. Thank you. We'll be back. Minus children.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Kelly,

You are quite welcome. In turn, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to review. We are glad you and your family were able to relax and enjoy the many amenities our resort has to offer. We look forward to your next visit.

Chris Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Great week-end, My kids and I joined my husband for a conference and we were pleasantly surprised on how nice the hotel, staff, and overall stay was. Our room was a little small for a family of four, but rooms nicely done and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent, not allot of outside dining options so we ate in the restaurant most of the week-end; the food was very good but service needs some improvement, mostly breakfast time! The wine cellar and cooking demo was great. What I was most impressed with was the Kids Club, outstanding job! Ms. Baker is passionate about her job, great with the kids and really strives hard to make it a fun place for the kids. The craft activities were great, my kids loved coloring t-shirts and back packs, painting and making beads bracelets and of course their favorite part was- Junk Food Bingo...how is it not, right! The best aspect from a parents stand point is the option to leave the kids for a couple of hours & allow the parents a little alone time if they choose. The fact that this was not only great for the mind but that its offered complimentary, made all the differences in the word of having a great week-end or over an ok wknd.!! Thank you for recognizing whats important to families.

Room Tip: If traveling with a family, make sure to ask for a room with some "elbow" room; all the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBMCON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldwalkerCA, General Manager at Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review. Your kind remarks about Ms. Baker have been passed on. It sounds like you and your family had an enjoyable and fun stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.

Chris Diego
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefield
20 km away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
772 reviews
19.3 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
323 reviews
15.8 km away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
218 reviews
19.7 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,788 reviews
13.8 km away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Mountain View Rd, Whitefield, NH 03598-3149
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Whitefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whitefield
Price Range: ₹ 11,813 - ₹ 27,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1865 and set on 1,700 acres with sweeping views of the White Mountains, Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa is New England's premier historic mountain resort. It was the only resort or hotel in the state to earn AAA Four Diamond awards in both Lodging and Dining for since 2008. With stellar dining choices from the gourmet selections in the wine cellar to casual meals in the Tavern or spectacular views at the seasonal Club House and Veranda, guests find a style and price to fit their mood. With a full-time Activities Department and complimentary children's programs, guests enjoy hiking, kayaking, biking, indoor and outdoor pools, a health and wellness center, golf on the resort's historic course, and four Classic Clay tennis courts. In winter, it's time for cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing, ice skating, snowmobiling, and dog sled adventures. Mountain View also provides the opportunity to choose from over 500 movie selections in the in-house movie theater. Mountain View Farm features friendly animals at the Big Red Barn. Evening activities include marshmallow toasting over an open campfire. Conde Nast Traveler named Mountain View one of North America's top five resort spas for 2008. There are great views high in the landmark Tower Spa, with an infinity-edge Sok tub and side-by-side massages a specialty. The Presidential Suite has spectacular vistas, a private wet bar, fireplace, flat-screen TVs, hand-painted furniture, and a lovely dining area with French doors. The elegant master bedroom has a king-size bed and cozy window nook while the master bath features a luxury whirlpool. Business meetings are served in 20,000 square feet of flexible conference space with built-in AV equipment and reliable internet and cell phone service. Mountain View specializes in storybook weddings in the domed Crystal Ballroom with its famed hand-painted ceiling or the century-old gazebo on Grand Fountain Terrace. Mountain View Grand is 100% wind-powered and has been recognized as an Environmental Champion by the NH Lodging & Restaurant Association. The resort is a proud member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Grand Resort And Spa
Mountain View Grand Hotel Whitefield
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa Whitefield, White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing