We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, home-like, charming”
Review of Carlson's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlson's Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Twin Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We felt most at home - - like we were sharing a room in their home. Yet it afforded the privacy we wanted for a relaxing getaway. The lodge is spacious with a design all its own. All over the lodge there are photos of folks who had stayed there with the dates on them. In addition, there were pictures of their own family displayed throughout the lobby. That usually means that it is a people-friendly place. Obviously this place is a home away from home for many past guests. So it gave us the confirmation we needed to trust our hotel choice.
Our room had everything we needed. It was neat and very clean. Didn't feel crowded. Plenty of room to move about and store luggage, etc. Bedding was comfortable. Slept great. Very quiet, cozy with wood stoves to warm the community sitting areas.
The owner went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and help us with restaurant choices--making phone calls for us, checking newspapers to help us decide. Where do you get that kind of hospitality and personal service?
She went out of her way to chat with us at breakfast even though she had just had surgery a few days prior to our stay. She is very dedicated to her guests and to her home.
A place where you can feel welcomed. Would definitely stay here again. Hope we get the chance.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

We just stayed there this past weekend...Loved the charm of this family owned place. You dont need to spend alot to get what you need: The beds were comfortable, For breakfast its coffee / toast. cereal. . Which is fine to get yourself started. Only thing I would suggest, is bring your own pillow. These were to flat for my preference, . The rooms are clean, and big enough to relax in. There is also a game room in the basement level. The view out our window was of the mountains across the way.. Lots of wood trim and rails and a wood burning stove in the middle of it all. I would stay again when we go back to New Hampshire.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 107. front of hotel - top floor facing the mountains great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvester178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

If you are looking for fancy and posh, keep on going. If you like clean, quiet, comfortable, and homey feeling, this is the place. And all with a great price.
Also an excellent location. Easy to get to area attractions.
We had a great stay at Carlsons Lodge. We stayed a week, came as strangers, left as "family".
We were there over Columbus Day weekend, they were full, and we never heard a peep from anyone.
Carol and her daughter Kate were nice, welcoming, and helpful.
The rooms were larger than I thought they would be and had a great view. The grounds were pretty with a few walking trails (snowmobile in the winter) out back.
Hopefully we will make it back there next year.
Thanks again for being part of a great vacation.

Room Tip: I might recommend a second floor room. It being a lodge, the floors are kind of squeeky. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We only stayed there 1 night and noticed it was a nice comfortable hotel. the views outside the hotel were so beautiful. When you step inside, you are greeted by a friendly staff with smiles, there's a carpeted lobby with a fire place, wood ceiling a piano, couch and in the basement, a game room. To get to your room, you climb a set of carpeted stairs with wooden banisters(railings) and there is an attached balcony. The rooms are very nice, not to mention clean. On the second floor, the rooms are equipped with a kitchen, bathroom/shower unit, 7 beds(2 hide-a-beds, one in the main area and one in the back bedroom, 1 small bed in the main area and 2 regular beds in the back bedroom, 2 ceiling fans, 1 in the main area and 1 in the back bedroom, a heater, closet, dresser drawers with a mirror, telephone and tan-ish colored carpet, and two Phillips TVs, again, 1 in the main area and 1 in the back bedroom. you can't ask for a better view from your window, looking across at New hampshire's famous "Twin Mountain" and the blue mountains with pine trees. The room is very rustic especially in the bathroom and the ceiling not to mention is painted with swirled plaster. At a price so good, you want to stay in a nice lodge such as this. Plus, in the nearby town of Bretton Woods, you can take a trip on the Mount. Washington Cog Railway, they have fantastic views from both up top and on the train. So Make this hotel your #1 choice, believe me, unless something isn't working properly, you won't be disappointed, So stay here. Have an enjoyable time :D
Mike

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REVIEWS10161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

quiet, clean rooms very well kept motor inn. we like to call and make resererations ther is always a nice person to deal with when you become regulars they do not need all the info they just write it down , i lke personal service rather than a big hotel chain i lke to deal with te same people,we go
for summer , fall, and snowmobiling any season carlsons is the place .
sincerly kevin and carleen mowrey west warwick ri

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowmobiler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twin Mountain
8.2 km away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
329 reviews
11.6 km away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
145 reviews
18.2 km away
Thayers Inn
Thayers Inn
#3 of 5 in Littleton
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
16.3 km away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
14.2 km away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlson's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlson's Lodge

Address: 330 Route 302, Twin Mountain, NH 03595
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Twin Mountain
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Twin Mountain
Price Range: ₹ 6,877 - ₹ 13,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlson's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlson's Lodge is a family owned and operated Lodge located in the White Mountain's of New Hampshire. Built in 1973 by Carl Carlson it has been passed on and is run by his daughter Carol and grandson Will. The lodge is located on 50 wooded acres and is central to local attractions and outdoor adventures in any season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlson's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlson`s Hotel Twin Mountain
Carlsons Twin Mountain
Carlsons Hotel Twin Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing