We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, no major complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Barre, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent stay, no major complaints”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I just stayed there one night over the past weekend. Check-in was quick an easy. The woman at the front desk was extremely nice and friendly. The room was nice. Everything was clean and in working order. The fan in the bathroom was very loud, almost sounding like a helicopter hovering overhead. The tub/shower was a little old. But everything else was just fine.

I enjoyed breakfast in the morning. Eggs, sausage, hash browns... all were decent. My wife made a huge waffle that she enjoyed.

Location: we walked across 2 parking lots to Paddy's Restaurant and enjoy drinks and apps. It was a nice place, and great not to worry about driving after having a few cocktails. We also walked to the Red Hook Brewery, which was even closer than Paddy's. All the major shopping areas were only a 5 minutes drive away. Interestingly enough, it seems a lot of the reviews for this hotel are actually for the downtown Portsmouth location. In fact, the photo TripAdvisor shows isn't even of this hotel.

All in all, no complaints, and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACandDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    67
    34
    15
    7
See reviews for
74
46
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Repeat guest. This is a great location within walking distance to everything downtown. Staff is extremely courteous and helpful. Rooms are always very clean. Breakfast is free and very adequate. Nice experience for business travel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

After finding our original hotel was under major renovation upon arrival Marriott booked us into the residence inn. The staff was courteous and helpful and the premises very clean. Our room was a clean very roomy suite with a kitchen and living area. The daily breakfast was very good and the hotel was located close to shopping, dining and only 5 or so minutes to the kittery outlets. If i had to say anything negative the indoor pool was a little colder than you might expect it to be but other than that no complaints. Would absolutly come back .

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Race39car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We rented a suite here last August. It was very obvious from the gouges on the furniture that either a cat or dog had also sayed in our lving room at some time. The elevator and hallways were dirty!! The breakfast room was the poorest I have seen at a Marriott Residence Inn.
I will say that the front desk staff was very pleasant.
I received a guest survery and returned it (President no less) and there was no responsse. I also contacted customer service and also received no response. I realise that this is a busy time of the year but there is no excuse for poor housekeeping and poor maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have stayed here three times for a total length of around 120 nights over the past couple of years. The top feature of this hotel is the front desk staff who are very friendly and usually pretty helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is adequate parking. The location is perfect for me - it is close to a mall and grocery stores, and only 10 minutes or so to downtown. The daily breakfast has a lot to choose from and is worth eating. The dinners 4 nights a week are sometimes edible.

As others have said the HVAC is a bit noisy, they allow animals which sometimes bark, and very occasionally the brewery next door has loud concerts that go on till around 11pm on a Friday or Saturday night. In spite of all that, it is still a reasonably quiet hotel and I have never been too bothered by noise.

The gym is pretty much useless. The two treadmills are old and in such poor condition that they are nearly unusable. There are no free weights and the weight machine thing is in nearly as bad of shape as the cardio equipment. On the plus side the streets around the hotel offer a pretty decent 2-4 mile loop for running when weather permits.

On my last stay I came back to the hotel from work around 6pm and found the door to my room propped open. There were no housekeepers or maintenance staff inside. Presumably they forgot to close the door when they left hours earlier. Being a long term guest I had a lot of my personal belongings there - two laptops, an iPod, expensive luggage, etc. I found it totally unacceptable that they would leave my room open to anyone who wanted to come in. I explained what happened and expressed my concern to two young men working the front desk, they acted shocked and apologized repeatedly. I said it's not you're fault, just make sure the housekeepers and maintenance staff are spoken to and trained to lock up when they're done. They said it would not happen again.

A few days later I found the door propped open again and reported the issue to the night shift front desk worker. I told her I would be checking out and not staying there in the future. She said she would pass my concerns on to management. When I checked out there was no mention of the security issue, no request for a second... or third chance.

Because of the security issue and management's lack of response to it I will be giving my business to the Holiday Inn, Portsmouth when I return for my next two month long visit in the spring.

Room Tip: Lock your valuables in your trunk, don't trust that anything locked in your room will be safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
3.8 km away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
3.8 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
2.0 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
2.9 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth

Property: Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth
Address: 1 International Drive, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,442 - ₹ 30,491
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth, a top choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH. We provide travelers with what they need for a comfortable stay in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, including cozy guest suites and a great central location. Our hotel sits near some of the most popular attractions in Portsmouth including Portsmouth Naval Shipyard and Pease Air Force Base. We are also close to Frank Jones Center, which makes us a great choice among extended-stay hotels in Portsmouth, NH for business travelers. Our hotel offers a free shuttle to and free the airport and we provide grocery shopping service, so you can have the food you need to make meals in your suite. Stay with us for long and short term trips to Portsmouth, New Hampshire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing