We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Somersworth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Great location. Not as pricey as the downtown hotels and only a short walk. Restuarant has ok food. Rooms are a little small but clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystaleyes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    110
    89
    40
    31
See reviews for
92
119
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed with some friends over vacation and found the prices to be resonable. The rooms are a good size and clean but bathrooms are very small. Close enough to walk downtown and enjoy the sights.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here during the President's Day Weekend. Very easy to find, my gps led us there with no problem. Check in was fairly fast and the girl behind the desk was nice. Stayed on the 6th floor. The room was nice. Wasn't anything that you will remember or rave about to your friends, it literally did the job. Close to downtown 5 min drive, very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
202 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel during a one night layover at PSM. Hotel is convenient and easy to find. Lobby refurb is tasteful and comfortable. Check-in staff was friendly.

Slowest elevator in the world.

Hallways were dark. Doors to rooms painted purple with visible brush-strokes. Looked very cheap and low-end.

Room refurb looked very nice at first glance. New furniture, carpet, etc. Lots of power outlets but, interestingly, the outlets in the lamps didn't always work because the lamp-base was too close to the plug so I was unable to get the plug to fit.

Bathroom very, very small. They didn't tile the bath during refurb. Still looks like cheap overlay. Hard to maneuver around bathroom door, they should have went with a pocket door during refurb.

Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Windy night and you could hear howling and whistling around windows. They must have been poor quality because it was cold near them.

Checked out 6am and front desk staff was chatting loudly and using some "colorful" language. Glad my family wasn't there to hear that!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cville, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here on our way to Maine. The hotel is conveniently located and easy to find being near the traffic circle. However, it is not up to even the modest Holiday Inn standard. The rooms are a bit worn and tired. The hotel is noisy. The service is poor and haphazard. The restaurant is substandard. Our chief complaint, though, was we could not get away from TV sets, even in the elevator. We woudl turn them off, only to have staff turn them back on. We would lower the sound only to have staff turn it back up. Very Irritating.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBTCville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
2.2 km away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Property: Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Address: 300 Woodbury Ave, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3208
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,470 - ₹ 10,986
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Portsmouth! Our hotel features 130 first class guest rooms just of I-95 at the intersection of Route 1 and the Spaulding Turnpike. Our guests may enjoy a heated indoor pool, fitness center and game room, as well as free wireless high-speed Internet. Our own Cranberries Restaurant serves popular American cuisine and is open for breakfast, dinner and room service daily. Kuzzin's Lounge offers a more casual atmosphere with a lighter selection of great food and drinks. Don't forget, Kids Eat Free with a paying adult. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is conveniently located near historic downtown Portsmouth, the Kittery Outlet Malls, Water Country and New Hampshire and Maine's greatest beaches. We are just minutes from the University of New Hampshire and UNH's Whittemore Center. On property, we have 7 function rooms for business meetings, social events, sports teams and much more. We can accommodate up to 100 people for a banquet and up to 150 people for a business presentation. The Holiday Inn Portsmouth is great for both the business traveler and those just looking to escape. Remember, Relax, It's Holiday Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing