We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly met our expectations”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mostly met our expectations”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Having stayed at Comfort Inns in the past, we knew pretty much what to expect. The hotel is just a ten minute drive to historic downtown Portsmouth and the rates are better that the hotels downtown. The hotel's landscaping could use some work. There is a large vacant lot next to the hotel that had overgrown weeds. There are also weeds growing in back of and on the sides of the hotel. I appears they allow big rigs to park overnight in the large parking lot. Checking in was easy. Staff was friendly and helpful. We could not our TV to turn on and they had somebody come up right away. Seems the TV's sometimes need to be unplugged and "rebooted."
The beds were a disappointment. We had two queens and they were way to soft for us. We both woke up a little stiff and sore. I noticed they advertise all beds are "pillow toppers." The free breakfast if good. The breads, pastries, juices were good. The make your own waffles are a nice touch. They seem to alternate between sausage and bacon. The eggs are the preformed patty type.
The pool and hot tub were very nice. It seemed we had both pretty much to ourselves most of the time. All in all, a good value. We plan on visiting the area again and if we do stay someplace other than the comfort Inn, it will be because if the beds.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottoofussy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    94
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
53
80
12
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coggeshall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Passing through Portsmouth on a road trip and found this little gem. To be fair it was only the 3rd hotel we had tried and it seemed to be the most reasonably priced place. The counter staff were very friendly even though it was late in the evening.

Our room was very smart and well appointed. Linen very fresh and no rank smells like some other Comfort Inn's I've tried.

That evening we went straight to sleep After driving for hours from Scranton, PA and found the room very quiet.

In the morning after packing away our typical road trip mess we had the breakfast. Nothing special but a nice outlay and a pancake maker which sold it for me. I had 3!!!

Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Try the 'make your own pancakes'. Being a Brit, we don't have such things and it was rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in July, 12. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is older but our room was clean & comfortable. I liked that it was very convenient to the NH beaches and to southern Maine if you want to go up there for the day. There are good restaurants nearby as it is right in the middle of Route 1. The pool is big and they have a nice hottub too. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonSarah_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed for just one night and had a wonderful experience. The place looked nice and was very clean. We didn't use any of the amenities such as the pool or gym, but they have them.

It was much cheaper than any of the hotels directly downtown and is only a 45 minute walk away. There are also cabs in the are that can take you back and forth.

Only con was that the bed was too soft, but I prefer a harder mattress.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I have worked in a hotel for the last five years. I started in housekeeping, and I am now in management at the front desk. Needless to say, anyone that works in this business looks for less obvious things than a regular traveler.
Arriving in the middle of the night, I didn't do an immediate inspection of things like I normally would have. First impressions walking through were good, the lobby area is clean and welcoming.
The next morning I was going outside to smoke and took the stairs at the end of one of the halls. During this time, I passed a few housekeepers. They were starting their days. (It was hot already and just a bit after eight in the morning.) The first thing I noticed about the few I had passed was.....the smiling. The 'good mornings'. And the 'how are you?'s.
It was like this the few times I went down during the day. I only had one, "eh, she should probably find a different job" moment. As I was coming back to my room, again, a pleasant housekeeper was getting some things from her cart and mentioned to me, how hot and humid it was outside and it was making her hair a mess. I LOVED this! She was awesome! The not so awesome one...the one who poked her head out of the elevator and yells down (Past me) to the one who mentioned her hair, "Yea, I am here today!" At which point she noticed me and says "Mouthy!"
She obviously misheard what the woman said and took offense. Whatever, but seriously, you keep those things to yourself and do NOT talk down to or at a fellow co-worker in front of guests. Sadly, I didn't see name tags.
So kudos to most of the housekeeping staff there. KNOWING how hard that job is, most of them were still smiling and pleasant. Too bad for the bad seed you have there.

Oh, and lastly, using a point night there....I wasn't impressed with being put right above the carport. If someone has points enough to stay at your property for more than one night, they are obviously frequent travelers and should be treated as such.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AriFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.1 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
2.7 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
3.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
Howard Johnson Portsmouth
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
377 reviews
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
355 reviews
3.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1190 Lafayette Rd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-5408 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,814 - ₹ 17,380
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Portsmouth
Comfort Inn Portsmouth
Portsmouth Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing