We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plain and basic, no "frills".”
Review of Motel 6 Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Motel 6 Portsmouth
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Plain and basic, no "frills".”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The motel is listed as having an outdoor pool however it's very small (only goes to 5' and is about the size of a parking spot -- 8'x20'). Motel exterior is somewhat elaborate but that feeling ends once you leave the lobby: hallways are old (yet nicely scented) and our room had a musty 'glow'. The deadbolt lock didn't work and half of the lights are burned out. The price is decent for a spur-of-the-moment stay, as well as for being so close (15 minutes) to Portsmouth but we will be choosing something else next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inthismoment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    79
    63
    34
    42
See reviews for
74
93
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I travel to Portsmouth for business several times a week and have stayed in numerous hotels in the area. This Motel 6 has the friendliest, most efficient staff of any of them! Easy as anything to check in and get to your room. Very accomodating, down to earth clerks, unlike some of the other snobby hotels in the area.

Some of the rooms have excellent beds, some do not. Quiet. Good internet. Clean rooms.

Highly recommend this motel above the other big-name chains.

PS - I've never seen any bed bugs here and I've stayed in several smoking rooms on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: The queen beds aren't as comfortable as the full-size, in my opinion. But the showers in the que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
311 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

No-nonsense highway motel. The room seemed OK at arrival, but during nighttime a pump/generator or something else kept humming at a level keeping you half awake. We stayed at 2nd floor at the far end from the elevator - maybe it's better at the other end?

Room Tip: Check your specific room before signing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Firstly, we had to ask to have our non-smoking room changed to another non-smoking room because the first smelled like...you guessed it smoke. The other room still smelled like cigarette but wasn't as bad. But hey it was just a one night stay but then I laid down on the bed and all I could feel we're the springs. I had to put the main bed spread which I should mention had at least one cigarette burn in it underneath me. If you have any type of back or neck problems you'd be better off sleeping in your car. I am in SHOCK so many people gave it a Very Good rating

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinsapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrill
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Bed Bugs! Bed Bugs! Bed Bugs!

Room and bath appeared clean and recently refurbrished. Quite basic, but what do you expect for the low price, and they take dogs.

We checked out in the morning and began the drive home when both my wife and I felt itching sensations. We wondered aloud if it might be bed bugs. By the time we got home, I had a welt on my back and two welts on my scalp.

Had it not been for the bed bugs, I'd have given the place 3 stars.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveler33470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
2.4 km away
Anchorage Inns & Suites
Anchorage Inns & Suites
#16 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.5 km away
America's Best Inns & Suites
America's Best Inns & Suites
#12 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
2.9 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#15 of 17 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portsmouth

Property: Motel 6 Portsmouth
Address: 3 Gosling Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,514 - ₹ 9,148
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motel 6 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Motel Six Portsmouth
Portsmouth Motel 6
Portsmouth Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing