We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motel 6 Portsmouth
Nearby Hotels
US$ 124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 140
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$ 175
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 162
US$ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 162
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 186
US$ 141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 144
US$ 140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
US$ 157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
36
88
68
39
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
88
68
39
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmall across the streetspaulding turnpikebasic roomallow petsoutdoor poolbed was comfortablewould stay here againmainedresserhighway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I travel to Portsmouth for business several times a week and have stayed in numerous hotels in the area. This Motel 6 has the friendliest, most efficient staff of any of them! Easy as anything to check in and get to your room. Very accomodating, down to earth clerks, unlike some of the other snobby hotels in the area.

Some of the rooms have excellent beds, some do not. Quiet. Good internet. Clean rooms.

Highly recommend this motel above the other big-name chains.

PS - I've never seen any bed bugs here and I've stayed in several smoking rooms on the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: The queen beds aren't as comfortable as the full-size, in my opinion. But the showers in the queen rooms are awesome!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

No-nonsense highway motel. The room seemed OK at arrival, but during nighttime a pump/generator or something else kept humming at a level keeping you half awake. We stayed at 2nd floor at the far end from the elevator - maybe it's better at the other end?

Room Tip: Check your specific room before signing in.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Firstly, we had to ask to have our non-smoking room changed to another non-smoking room because the first smelled like...you guessed it smoke. The other room still smelled like cigarette but wasn't as bad. But hey it was just a one night stay but then I laid down on the bed and all I could feel we're the springs. I had to put the main bed spread which I should mention had at least one cigarette burn in it underneath me. If you have any type of back or neck problems you'd be better off sleeping in your car. I am in SHOCK so many people gave it a Very Good rating

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twinsapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Bed Bugs! Bed Bugs! Bed Bugs!

Room and bath appeared clean and recently refurbrished. Quite basic, but what do you expect for the low price, and they take dogs.

We checked out in the morning and began the drive home when both my wife and I felt itching sensations. We wondered aloud if it might be bed bugs. By the time we got home, I had a welt on my back and two welts on my scalp.

Had it not been for the bed bugs, I'd have given the place 3 stars.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler33470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This is one of our regular stopping locations when travelling south on the 1-95. It is in a great location near the highway, shopping center, and eating establishments. Over the past year, the hotel appears to be improving - service and overall appearance. We will continue to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSRoadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews