We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was our second year staying at this hotel while working Air Show at Pease. Front desk staff was wonderful even though our crew got a "bit" loud at times! They were all wonderful as was the shuttle driver who carted us around Saturday night. The rooms were immaculate..happy hour was great and I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    227
    75
    38
    24
See reviews for
231
254
21
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Two-night stay, room very clean and quiet. 24-hour coffee service, extensive a.m. breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located, tucked back behind the malls, close to the highway but the noise does not carry. And the Manager Reception serves locally-made brews (Red Hook).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldCranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was a last-minute trip for a memorial service. We needed a 2-bed room, and the Hampton Inn had one. I thought the price was high (all of the places in Portsmouth were, too), but figured it had to do with the 4th of July weekend. As it turned out, there was a 2-day air show at Pease Tradeport, which is directly across Route 16 from the Hampton Inn. We had great views of the show right from the motel parking lot!

The room was spacious, well-appointed, and clean. The room had a larger refridgerator, a microwave, desk, iron, ironing board, neat little coffee maker, plenty of towels, and small bottles of the usual toiletries. The motel also provided a van to anywhere in a 5-mile radius, but we didn't use it.

The free breakfast offered a waffle maker, cereals, pastries, bagels, scrambled eggs, sausage patties or kielbasa, and oatmeal. Coffee was available all day. In the afternoon, there were cookies, & lemonade.

Conveniently located near the Portsmouth traffic circle, right off Route 16, with plently of shopping & dining options nearby.

The only blemish was the patio/grilling area, which had been used for a private beer & wing party. The trashcan was overflowing with bottles & cans, & food boxes littered the large table & grounds around the trashcan. That area hadn't been cleaned when were were out there the following moring at about 8:00AM. I forgot to mention it when we checked out.

All in all, I would recommend the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: don't get a room on the ground floor, or any facing the patio area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you NelleS for making your first TripAdvisor review about our hotel. I’m sorry to hear that a memorial service is what brought you town, losing a loved one is always hard. I appreciate your glowing compliments and recommendation, and it’s great that you got the chance to see the air show, it really is spectacular. If you ever find yourself in Portsmouth again, please come back to stay with us.

All my best,

Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
330 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Our stay at this Hampton Inn was my first experience with the Hampton hotel chain and it will not be my last. I was genuinely impressed with everything.

The moment we arrived we were greeted for the Manager Reception was totally surprised me. I had never experienced such a thing. Locally brewed beers and wines. Snack foods, what a delight. I had previously read on Tripadvisor that the lobby to this Inn was small and overcrowded. We did not find this to be so. In fact it was warm and inviting.

Our room was on the 4th floor and the room was clean and well laid out. As we were unpacking we could hear that a small dog was in the room next to ours and was barking frantically. We figured that the dog had been left unattended and was excited to hear us in the room next door. We did not know dogs were permitted in this hotel and later learned that many dogs were in fact in this hotel.

A quick call to the front desk to complain and we were assigned to a different room on the fifth floor which we were told had no dogs on it. This was our only "surprise" but was remedied by the front desk to our satisfaction.

Each morning we ate breakfast in the lobby and I was very pleased with all that was available. The food was good and plentiful and there was something for everyone. You could see that the breakfast staff was working their tails off to accommodate everyone and I expressed my appreciation to the "lady" who was working so hard.

One word of particular comment. I found the coffee served at breakfast to be perhaps one of the best cups of coffee I have ever had.

All in all a great experience with the Hampton and I look forward to the Hampton Inn being my hotel of choice on our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
A J L,
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hook, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is our 3rd stay at a Hampton Inn and this one continues to please. Excellent clean rooms with quality bedding. Top notch breakfast. We requested a first floor room and were a bit concerned that it might be too close to the lobby area, but we had no noise problems whatsoever. Lobby staff was friendly and professional. We requested 2 extra bath towels and they were delivered to our room in less than 5 minutes....even with a full house!. Way to go Hampton folks. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianfallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
brianfallis,
Thank you for your review and recommendation!  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Cathi Tingley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
3.1 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
2.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
3.1 km away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central

Property: Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Address: 99 Durgin Ln, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3156
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,623 - ₹ 20,216
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central hotel is in vibrant historical Portsmouth near Pease International Tradeport. Our hotel provides amenities such as a free shuttle to area destinations and tasty offerings from top local restaurants and locally famous Redhook beer Monday through Friday*. Within easy reach are New England beaches and historic lighthouses along with Redhook Brewery and Water Country waterpark, all within a 5-mile radius. Also nearby are Lonza, Sig Sauer, New Market International, High Liner Foods and Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. Allegiant Air offers service into Pease International Airport, making our Portsmouth hotel more accessible than ever. Explore nearby Strawbery Banke, the oldest neighborhood in New Hampshire featuring more than 375 years of history. Immerse yourself in the charm of downtown Portsmouth, where you'll find local boutiques and restaurants. Browse the Kittery Premium Outlets, just four miles from our hotel, accessible with our free shuttle. Rooms with one king or two queen-sized beds are offered at our hotel in Portsmouth, NH. Select rooms provide a sofa bed and whirlpool. Connect to free WiFi and stay productive at the well-lit work desk, and feel at home with thoughtful amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave and 32-inch HDTV. Spend a quiet day at the hotel relaxing on the outdoor patio with a fire pit and grills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing