We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Portsmouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
704 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Best Location in Portsmouth”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My family stayed here for one night on our way up to the coast of Maine. From check in to check out this hotel did everything to make our stay hassel free and comfortable. The accommodations were comfortable and we had plenty of room for our family of 5. The location was great we walked to dinner and found some great shopping on the way!

I would recommend this to anyone stopping through or staying to explore Portsmouth, you cant find a better location and the rates were good.

Room Tip: I told the check in I was traveling with family and they gave us the largest corner room, so we woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaisyDot24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    145
    29
    14
    4
See reviews for
148
187
12
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Once again this hotel has exceeded my expectations during a recent visit during the Market Day Festival taking place in town. Upon arrival the front desk supervisor, Jeri, graciously offered to provide a late checkout once she learned we were running the 10K road race the next morning. She provided a phelora of information regarding locations for lunch/dinner based on our questions and appeared very interested in ensuring our stay was delightful. It was obvious that although there was a large wedding party at the property, Jeri and her staff made us feel as though we were the only clients in the facility.

While staying at the property, I realized it would be the perfect place for a family member celebrating his 30th wedding anniversary. When I mentioned such to Jeri, she immediately offered to provide any assistance necessary for their arrival in November.

This was my third visit to this property in the last two years and it just keeps getting better every time. Although there is a charge, the parking is onsite providing a no hassal entry/exit.

The complimentary breakfast was very fresh, room linens appeared to be new, beds extremely comfortable and in town location make this property a MUST when staying in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the Portsmouth bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BooneSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

Seemed newly updated. Big rooms with kitchen. Perfect location. Possible to get a good deal on the rate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobR947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was my second stay at a Marriott Residence Inn (the other in Denver) and this hotel was even nicer.

I went with a group of girlfriends to the hotel and we had a great time. One night we were in a corner suite and the next we had a second room since some people only came up for the second night.

The corner room was much bigger and had a larger kitchen area with island. The standard room just had a kitchenette nook.

Check in was quick and the front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating during our stay.

The kitchen had a dishwasher and refrigerator and burner. it was stocked with coffee, tea, silverware, paper towels, plates, glasses, soap, can opener, wine glasses etc. We were in a group and they quickly brought up more wine glasses.

There is also a living area with tv and a pullout couch. The bedroom had a king bed. There was plenty of closet space.

The bathroom had double thanks, a glass shower, and high end toiletries.

I had the short straw so had to sleep on a cot one night and the pullout the other. I've yet to sleep on a comfortable pullout and this one was no different. However the cot was, without exaggeration, the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on. if I had pulled up the sheets I wouldn't be surprised if it was a granite slab. Since it was a short stay it wasn't a big deal but if you are in a larger group you should take turns in who gets the cot.
The hotel also provided a breakfast buffet which was more than adequate. There were bagels, waffles, cereal, yogurt, eggs, bacon, etc. Nothing gourmet but it hit the spot.

Location of the hotel was great. There is a municipal lot for parking $.75 an hour and you are in close walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 99vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level 6 Contributor
707 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We always try to stay here when the rates are right. As Gold member got a room upgrade. Manager Jeri was extremely helpful! Highly recommend staying here for visiting the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
478 reviews
2.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Property: Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,277 - ₹ 34,485
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing