We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed here for my high school reunion and it was great. Big rooms with great views of Portsmouth, one of my favorite towns in New England! Highly recommend this place. Also very central location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelambudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 442 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed here March 8, 9, 2012 . & June 2011 .I'm from NH but moved away after highschool & come back generally twice a year. In june 3 of us stayed in the Corner suite , Very beautiful decorated but the bed was awful , very very Hard , as well as sofa bed but sofa beds I can understand not being top notch but Marriott beds are known for the 5 star quality beds . We complained to the management & they did accomadate & bought matress Pads & foam pillows as the pillows were horrible& took 50- off the bill, so we were satisfied but we still didnt get a desent night sleep.. As for this March 2012 visit , I came alone , I immeditley checked the bed & was sadly dissapointed & contact fron desk as they remember me from june's visit , they apologized to me but said unfortunley the matress pads that they have are all being used. I was upset as I wanted to stay so I could get my marriott reward points. The front desk stated to me that this particular Marriott is ran by a managment firm & that 60% of people do complain about these beds & nothing has been done & she was soo very sorry. The first night I only slept a few hours & was up like 5am , Next night a tad better , I wouldnt recommened this hotel if you are particular about a bed , Also Noisy but nothing I couldnt handle ..

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for returning to the Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown this March after your satisfactory experience in June of 2011. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experience with regards to the bed. We did take 15% off both of your nights in an effort to compensate your for the trouble. I hope you understand the firmness or softness of a bed is very much an individual preference and the vast majority of our guest very much enjoy our beds and find them quite comfortable. I am not sure where you heard that 60% of our guests complain about them as nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, we very rarely have guest complaints about the beds and many guests inquire what kind of beds they are because they want to look in to getting one for their homes. I wish that you had put a request on your reservation or notified us you were coming to stay with us again and we would have definitely taken care of it for you knowing that the beds did not match your preference the last time you were here in June. If you are ever returning to the area, please feel free to contact me directly and I will arrange everything personally and ensure that we have a mattress topper put in your room prior to arrival. We appreciate your feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve guest experience. We will be looking in to getting a few more mattress pads or feather beds to ensure we can match everyone’s preferences. Thanks again for staying.

Best Regards,

Jay Finney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Great location, comfortable rooms, clean hotel, and possibly the best customer service I have ever encountered. Every employee, from the assistant manager to the housekeeper, was welcoming and more importantly, empowered to make my/ our stay better.

The complimentary breakfast is better than most. The complimentary snacks/meal in the evening, Monday - Thursday, can assist those on a budget.

I will not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here one night last week and it was very good! The room was very clean as was the whole facility. Parking was a little challenging as you park on street for the night and have to move car in AM. No worries though! Ate dinner at the Portsmouth Brewery and it was delicious!
Breakfast is included at this hotel and it was also very good. The manager made a presence and spoke to guests to check on the stay and the food. I like to see this as it shows they care. We got the room on priceline and it was a great value. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local shopping and dining.

Room Tip: Hallways are noisy so I would ask to be away from the elevator and maybe even and end room to cut do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ratootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Don't be fooled by the name of this hotel...it is not waterfront, but who cares! This is a great, new Residence Inn and much nicer than most I've stayed in. The rooms are large and very nice. There is a reasonably priced self-park lot across the street. The hotel has a great complimentary breakfast and other complimentary meals during the week. The is a short walk to the restaurants and shops of downtown Portsmouth. This is definitely worth every penny!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjhtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
523 reviews
2.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3719
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: ₹ 9,172 - ₹ 27,070 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing