We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent a few nights here for my husbands birthday. I paid a little extra to stay on the club floor. Not really worth it. There was a club lounge that was to have snacks for free instead of paying for the snacks in the room. When we went there, there was nothing to be found. They also offer breakfast there for free it was decent but closed early on Patriots Day (A holiday in MA and ME - note that this hotel is 20 from the MA border and you can see ME across the river). The restaurant on site also closed on Sunday night - again poor timing on a long weekend. Why give me a voucher for money off my meal if I can't use it? The room was small for what we paid for. The Marriott Courtyard had a larger room for half the price.....the staff was really great, they are what made it enjoyable. They went out of their way to do what they could for us, even keeping breakfast open a few minutes later on the Monday holiday so we could have the meal we paid for.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gert0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Gert0517,

Thank you very much for taking time to provide us with feedback. We use our guest feedback to improve our service and hotel offerings and your comment regarding Patriot's Day holiday observation with our proximity to Maine and Massachusetts is certainly valuable feedback. We will review our processes for next year and see if there is an opportunity for us to make adjustments in the future.

Also, for your future visits, we do indeed still offer dining options on Sunday night in Riverwatch Lounge and in room dining but please accept our sincere apologies that this was not communicated clearly to you during your stay with us.

Again, we thank you for your time and consideration in sharing your experience with us. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you and wow you with not only our staff but the remainder of your visit as well.

Warmest Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    348
    177
    56
    37
See reviews for
268
409
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pepperell, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great location downtown, service is excellent. Rooms are spacious and clean. We stay here whenever we visit Portsmouth.
Our most recent visit was for the Menu Tasting for our wedding reception being held there. The food at the hotel was amazing and the staff was very helpful. Betty was our server and we were well taken care of. Bob the bartender was great as well. I can't say enough about Katryn and Dan. They go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Brittany,

Many thanks for your very kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoy staying with us and really appreciate the time involved to share your experiences. We will be sure to share your wonderful review with the tasting team.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

With Warmth,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Staff extremely helpful and food in restaurant was very good. Location was also excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We just enjoyed our second annual visit to the Sheraton Harborside in conjunction with Restaurant Week in Portsmouth NH. The friendly, accomodating staff, top-notch restaurant and lounge and well maintained and appointed facilities will ensure our return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Hotel was MORE than we ever dreamed it would be. We planned to leave once settled in our room & scour the town by foot but NEVER left the hotel until late the next morning! Enjoyed it all.. from our room - to other patrons we met who needed to 'get outta town' as much as we did - to the pool & sauna - to the special treat we rec'd from Shandy... Aaaawwww.... Shandy..our favorite sweet face as we walked through the doors to register... (wonderful staff you have)

Room Tip: recommend CLUB level... you'll not regret the few dollars more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.7 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
3.5 km away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,603 - ₹ 23,792
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing