We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food on Back Lake.”

Rainbow Grille & Tavern
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Pittsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 16 - US$ 40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Went with two families. The food was good as well as the service. A reservation is recommended. Do try the duck breast. My wife loved it.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Great food. A comfortable and uniquely designed interior. Great hosts and treat you like royalty. Will definitely return and reccomend.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I dined here for breakfast and dinner while staying at Tall Timber and were pleasantly surprised with how yummy the food was the entire time. They have a great breakfast menu with delicious pancakes and the best corn-beef hash you will ever have. They have lighter options as well with yogurt parfaits or fresh fruit which was also great. The dinner menu was also fantastic with a smoked trout with capers and a horseradish cream appetizer a must try. The dinners come with a soup or a salad, potato, vegetable and dessert. They have the most scrumptious large sea scallops, a great tuna dish and even their meatloaf was awesome. I must also recognize the wonderful staff they have working here always professional and pleasant even when really busy!! we will defiantly be back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank MandaTom9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

This eatery is an unqualified gem in the far northern reaches of NH. My wife and I had 530p reservations on a Saturday night, and were seated promptly. We were presented an extensive menu- listing virtually anything one might desire. We ordered beef dishes. I ordered the Woodsman Ribeye. She had the prime rib. Both dishes were beyond excellent, and included in the price were salad or soup, veggies, and a potato choice.
Everything was fresh, cooked to order, and generous in serving size. Some may consider the Rainbow expensive, and perhaps it is by the area standards, but for all that you receive it is a bargain. Imagine down home ambience, with big city restaurant quality. That defines The Rainbow Grille.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank ted c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

While grouse hunting in Pittsburg I had dinner at Rainbow and saw not reason to go elsewhere the next night. One of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at. I thought maybe because I was extra hungry from the exercise and fresh air but other travelers have confirmed that the Rainbow Grille & Tavern is indeed exceptional. Looking forward to my visit this fall.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Steve n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Grille & Tavern also viewed

Pittsburg, White Mountains
Pittsburg, White Mountains
 
Pittsburg, White Mountains
West Stewartstown, NH
 
Pittsburg, White Mountains
Pittsburg, White Mountains
 

Been to Rainbow Grille & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing