We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Ranked #10 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here in early September, the location for shopping and local attractions was excellent. Due to their storm (Irene) a few roads were closed, this was to be expected. The cottages were very rustic and need updating. The hosts were very warm and friendly with one of the breakfast we have ever eaten. Everything homemade and right from the oven. Yummy!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    49
    13
    12
    13
See reviews for
77
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlton
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This is our 3rd year at the Old Red Inn and Cottages and we love our "home away from home". It is so nice to be able to rent a pet friendly cottage that we can enjoy along with our dog. Hiking trails and shopping are both nearby as well as great restaurants. Richard and Susan are now like family to us and we look forward to our frequent visits throughout the year. Susan cooks an awesome breakfast every morning! The cottages are clean, cute and comfortable and the swimming pool is an added bonus that we love. Richard and Susan both work very hard to maintain this very successful business and we appreciate their efforts. Jim and Sandy (and Sadie Mae!)

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This place is great! It's about 50 miles from home and makes you feel a 1000 miles away. The cottages are, cute, rustic, well equiped ( microwaves, cable t'v, comfy beds) and plenty warm even in winter.

The breckfasts are great with something for everyone in the family. The Inn Keepers,
Richard and Susan make you feel comfortable, relaxed, and welcomed. They are also a great source of fun info of things to do in the area.

They participate in all the great valley special events. Herb Tour, Fall Foliage, and the Polar Express in December, and the Holiday Cookie Tour.

It's the first place we think of when we think quick fun getaway.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doodledog27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

I booked a room in the Old Red Inn & Cottages using Expedia website. They had a listing of room amenities that stated: microwave, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker. There weren’t any details like “in some rooms” or anything similar in that listing. The price was OK (not too expensive, but not cheap as well), cancellation policy allowed free cancellation if made 14 days prior booked date, so I booked the room. Fortunately for me, our friends also decided to stay at this hotel, they informed me that the room I booked has a different description on the Inn web-site. I called hotel and found out that the room I booked does not have microwave, refrigerator or coffee/tea maker and the washroom is not in suite. Immediately I log on Expedia and cancel the reservation (it was 15 days before booking date). However the hotel owner charged me $25 cancellation fee (transactions weren’t made through Expedia, but came directly from the Old Red Inn & Cottages).
Our friend didn’t want to lose their money and stayed in the Old Red Inn & Cottages (in cottage # 3).
When I saw their room I was glad that I gave up 25 bucks and booked another place. The room was tiny. There was a little fridge and microwave on top on the fridge, a couple of chairs and a little table, instead of a fireplace there was some kind of stove, hidden in the corner of the room, not visible if you were sitting in the chairs. There was barely space left to walk around, not to mention to store your skies, boots and other gear that you have if you are visiting North Conway in February. You can probably find some charm in this old property, but I think charging 25 bucks cancellation fee doesn’t say much good about the hotel, and management rudeness does not compliment the property.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank puteshestvennik_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nconway, Owner at Old Red Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
As it sometimes happens a guest will see a number of different rooms and prices on line and then book the cheapest room and yet still want all the features of the more expensive room. Your friends booked a cottage, you booked a room in the inn on the third floor,each room separately list the exact room amenities. The policy states clearly a 14 day cancelation for a refund and "A $25.00 administration charge is deducted for all refunds" this helps to cover the charges we are charged by the online booking company you used and the credit card company for your deposit. Since you and your family spent time in cottage three with your friends both of the days they were here (6 people total) the cottage could not have been that small. There are pictures online that clearly show the fireplace and it's location in the room, it's not hidden. I do beleive all reviews and responses should be verified before posting them to eliminate the exaggerations and lies. In order to avoid any problems we encourage all of our guest to always call their hotel prior to booking a room to ask any questions they may have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I don't understand why this place received such negative reviews previously. My boyfriend and I had such a lovely stay in cottage #4! It allowed privacy, the room was cute (and the gas fireplace a great touch), everything was clean and neat, and the owners were INCREDIBLY helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were really yummy, and the best part about this place: we could leave our dog at the cottage while we were out for part of the day, no problems at all. We would absolutely stay here again and highly recommend it, particularly to pet owners.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razzer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.7 km away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
4.1 km away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
542 reviews
3.3 km away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#3 of 25 in North Conway
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Red Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red Inn & Cottages

Property: Old Red Inn & Cottages
Address: Rt 16 / 302, White Mountain Highway, North Conway Village, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,012 - ₹ 12,370
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Red Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Red Inn and Cottages is located in the Village of North Conway, we are the closest Inn and Cottages to the Village, only five hundred yards away. We offer five Inn rooms and ten cottages (both 1 & 2 bedroom) all with private bathroom. If you are looking to experience the simpler way of life, then charms of the Mount Washington Valley will be your perfect place. The Inn has free wi-fi, in-ground pool, pinic tables and grills along with a delicous morning breakfast. The mountains are close by so hiking, swimming, canoeing, horse back riding, skiing, tubbing, snow shoeing, mountain climbing, scenic rides, gondola rides, sleigh rides and so much more are with-in minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Old Red Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Red Inn And Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing