We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and welcoming B&B”
Review of Eastman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eastman Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Quaint and welcoming B&B”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This B&B was a real find. The decor is very quaint and welcoming. The rooms seem to be individually appointed with great attention to detail. A lot of quilts and cute little paintings on the walls. The only thing I did not like was that the mattress was too soft for my back. The innkeeper wad very pleasant. Breakfast was served in shifts either at 8am or 9 am and consisted of bread pudding, ham and asparagus. I will definitely return here if I visit the White Mountains again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    50
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
122
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We booked the Eastman Inn because of photos of the porch and was not disappointed. We sat out a great deal and enjoyed the fresh air. We stayed three nights and all three breakfasts were superb. One could tell a great deal of thought and effort went into each one. Art and Sherry are such great hosts. Art was very helpful with tips on where to hike and what the weather was going to be each day.

The inn is in a house that was built in the 1770's, so don't expect it to be perfect. However, inside is a clean, warm and comfortable home. It's like going back to your Grandma's house. When in the area again, we'll return to the Eastman Inn. At first we were concerned with the busy highway out front. However, once inside you really can't here the road noise, especially at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuditMan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed in Room 5 for 2 nights as part of our wedding anniversary trip. I booked this room with an outside access because I thought having access from the porch would be convenient.However Room 5 was a great disappointment.
Cons:
There was a musty smell to the room.
The floor sagged near the bathroom door.
The wardrobe door dropped and was difficult to close.
There was a concertina blind and no curtain so the blind had to be kept closed in case someone walked past and saw us changing. This made the room gloomy.
Room 4 next door was clearly being used as a storage room.
The bathroom only had a shower which was in poor condition and the room was so small you could barely turn around - it also had no window.
The toiletries were free samples from magazines!
The exterior is in need of renovation and painting.
Whist the porch was nice it was spoilt by road noise.

Pros:
The breakfast was great - high quality and unusual.

This was one of the more expensive of the 7 hotels/motels/inns we stayed in during our 15 day trip and whilst the breakfast was excellent the accomodation was the worst of the bunch.

Room Tip: Do not book rooms 4 or 5. The road is busy so you will be woken early by traffic in front facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brosnan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArthurD6, Owner at Eastman Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and thank you for the specific comments. We shape our future plans based on guest feedback.

We have investigated and discovered the water leak from above that was causing the musty smell. The entire wall in the bedroom has been taken down to the studs and replaced. The Leak was repaired. That particular bedroom has a shower as noted in the review. It was built as an interior bathroom, hence it has no windows, indeed it is a small bathroom, I shall mention that in my room description so that future guests will know. Just as the rooms that face the road are currently noted in the room descriptions of our web site.

I participate in "Brand Connections" that provides us samples for our guests. Samples include granola, razors, shampoo, skin moisturizing creams, toothpaste, etc. These are always supplemental to the amenities we purchase and supply to our guests. The shampoo and conditioner mentioned in the review is attached to a 3x5 card with a coupon for $$ savings. I can see where a guest not familiar with marketing done by large companies may confuse these samples with what we supply. My housekeeping staff was instructed to place 2 cards in each room since mid August (in addition to the regular amenities).

I am not sure what a 'concertina' blind is. We have pull down blinds in that room, the room does darken, and since we had to remove the wall, we replaced the wallpaper with a light 'straw colored' paint that livens up the room. With the new red and yellow oriental carpet, it really 'pops' now ! (I know too HGTV...very subjective comment on my part).

The Exteriof of the house was ditry. After a long summer it was dusty and had a lot of cobwebs. I must admit I was derelict in keeping the outside of the house spotless; nevertheless, we took 1/2 a day, myself and a helper washed the entire perimeter of the 1st and 2nd floor and it looks super now.

Room 4 is a guest room; please see my web page ? It is open to rentals; I am not sure what the comment refers to or why it was mentioned in the first place.

Again I welcome all comments, we continually strive to provide high quality B and B experience in our 200 year old home.

We appreciate all feedback from our guests, it is good to have another 'eye' to help us keep up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My son & I came for a hiking trip to Mt. Washington and stayed at the Eastman Inn. Our flight to Manchester arrived late and we didn't get to the Inn until almost midnight. We called in advance, and our keys and a "welcome family" letter was at the front door. We headed to our room and it was very nice. I woke up in the morning and I have never slept so well away from home! The breakfast was amazing and they even made a special meal for my 11 year old. We were able to get great tips for our hike and really enjoyed our weekend here. I will stay again everytime I am in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We only stayed one night, but it was very nice the owner gave us a free upgrade room and it was nice to only have to walk across the street for a wonderful dinner. We sat out on the porch and relaxed with some wine and had a very peaceful night in our comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good and the who had breakfast with us were very nice to talk with.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franchise58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.3 km away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
535 reviews
0.1 km away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.1 km away
Cranmore Mountain Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastman Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastman Inn

Property: Eastman Inn
Address: 2331 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5162
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,642 - ₹ 10,126
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eastman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Eastman Inn, a 14 room bed and breakfast located in the heart of the White Mountains. Let Arthur, Marta, or Trina welcome you to our inn with a smile, a cup of tea, a bottle of cold water and some fresh baked cookies. As you enter through our dining area you will be greeted and given a tour of the common areas. Most people love to sit on our porch above the main road heading into town. You can relax on one of our porch rockers and watch the world go by. In our parlor you will find a bookshelf of games and books for you to enjoy. Use the dining tables for that late night game of scrabble. In the winter we light the fireplace in the evenings. Each of our 14 rooms have a private bath. Our rooms are all individually decorated, some have claw foot tubs with a shower combination, others a Jacuzzi bath and others a regular stall shower. Rooms come with King or Queen beds and we even have a room with Antique Twin beds on the first floor. In the morning come down for early coffee. We need it as we cook your breakfast, so by 7:00 am we guarantee a fresh pot. You can try earlier, but we could be grumpy if that first "Cooks" pot has not fully brewed. We do our best to make you feel like family, so there are few formalities, we all just respect each others privacy and property. Ask us for hints on things to do or places to visit. We have scoured the Mount Washington Valley and we can give you pointers on avoiding the crowds, yet getting that perfect picture of a Moose, Bear or beautiful stream. The Eastman Inn has been welcoming guests for around 100 years and we hope to do it another 100. Call or make an online reservation soon, we hope to make you a very satisfied 'returning' guest. Our Eastman Family has grown so much in the past 8 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Eastman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing