We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saco River Camping Area

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saco River Camping Area
Certificate of Excellence
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I was a little worried about some of the reviews when we booked this campground but we had a great time. Grounds were clean everyone was friendly. It was quite at night. We stayed for 4 nights in August 2012. We stayed with our 3 young children and they had a blast. They loved renting the bikes and riding around the campground. The playground and bathrooms were close by. Great to be in the woods but then to drive out and be right next to the outlet stores and restaurants was an added bonus. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    25
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
67
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Magog, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Very poor reception of the owner and employees, owner full of himself that has no concept of customer service. We brought with us the wood pallet because we have the right in the U.S., we even looked on the website of campground to see if there was a note about it and there was nothing either. The owner made ​​us turn off our campfire shouting at us like we were children who had committed a crime and punish us the next day he had removed the fire pit. We asked two locations face to face but we were given two sites back to back and they told us we could not choose our site ... very noisy camping, dogs bark all day, sites very close to each other and mostly on the sand so much dust, the pool is fare from sites and is in full sun, no, we was 2 couples with no children, no dog, very quiet who have not loved our stay at this campsite. Danielle Fontaine, Magog Qc.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank mamiddf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We camped for 5 days along the river. We had a great time canoeing down the Saco River. Our site was quite large. We did not find it noisy at all perhaps because we had one of the sites along the river. We will definitely be back. We have camped at this campground for the past 10 years and find it clean, friendly and close to the shopping outlets.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JudeGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Camping site should not cost 40$ per night. It is too expansive period. If it does, it would expect it to be close to perfect, which "Saco River" is defiantly not.
It was too noisy, and the staff could not force the sites rules, such as silent hours and bone fires off hours. As a result, I hardly slept and woke up smelling from smoke and BBQ. In addition, the site has a policy of not allowing campers to use the remote sites that has no running water and no electricity but cost half of what the regular sites cost, until all the sites are full. Why?! it makes no sense, besides the fact that they earn twice as much.
I am not comng there again.

Room Tip: Go someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EyalWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights and won t be back . I have 2 kids but this site is loaded with noisy kids who are constantly buzzing round on bikes and the bannana bikes from the rental office . nobody seems to control any of this . Also the river sites are tiny . Living on top of my neighbour is not my idea of a good time . The site does have some good stuff , but the bad far outways the good . if you want a quieter camping trip DONT book here ! I have stayed at 3 other sights on the Saco , and all fared better than this site . Eastern Slopes is far nicer

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnybeach05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
1.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.3 km away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#9 of 24 in North Conway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
2.3 km away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
0.9 km away
Residence Inn North Conway
Residence Inn North Conway
#7 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saco River Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saco River Camping Area

Property: Saco River Camping Area
Address: 1550 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5144
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in North Conway
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Saco River Camping Area is in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley, at the center of it all. We offer peaceful camping in a nature filled setting with loads of onsite things to do, yet we're within easy walking distance of stores, restaurants, entertainment, and TAX FREE factory outlet shopping. Hop in your car and churches, hospital, hiking and bicycle trails, tennis courts and golf courses are just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saco River Camping Area Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing