We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay in North Conway”
Review of The Cabernet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cabernet Inn
Ranked #5 of 21 North Conway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in North Conway”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary. We stayed in a deluxe jacuzzi room - this was a normal room, but with a large jacuzzi in the corner of the bedroom. Jacuzzi worked well. We had our own exit to the (large) car park (useful for loading/unloading the car) or we could go through the b&b.

Breakfast was good - menu to choose from for main courses as well as hot muffins etc (and there was home baking at tea-time).

The owners were helpful - even emailing me beforehand to ask if they could arrange a dinner reservation and suggesting some of their favourites.

This B&B is run by the owners, who live in the annex.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Larklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    41
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
229
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We frequent the North Conway area and usually stay at places that accept pets as we travel with our 2 labs, but we had a gift certificate to this inn and had a wonderful time (without our dogs) They do have a sweet 9 yr old lab Cleo to get your puppy fix in. The bed is so comfortable and we got such a good night sleep. This inn is so beautiful and in a fabulous location. The owners Jessica and Bruce do a wonderful job at this inn. She is a chef and the breakfasts are so delicious. You have a variety of choices and also a special offering. I tried the maple walnut stuffed french toast that others have commented on and it was so delicious. There is coffee and treats available in the afternoon as well. Although there are no TV's in individual rooms there is a TV available in the guest common room along with a fireplace which Bruce attended all night for us. (thanks Bruce!) We would recommend this inn to anyone and we would stay again, if my sister will watch our dogs!
Lablovers

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lablover97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefield, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I have stayed here many times in the past, we were impressed with the place when we were in N. Conway in the past, however, the last time we were there in a "Premium" room with a Jacuzzi & fireplace the Jacuzzi didn't work well at all... the force was like pouring a glass of water down the sink, lol.. The white painted woodwork was stained and needed to be repainted. There were scuffs on the walls that could have been cleaned with a bit of elbow grease, the finials on the 4 poster bed were wonky and could have been easily fixed. There were noticeable cracks in the bathroom where the tile met the drywall, the corners and edges of the bathroom floor were dirty. The antique armoire needed to be tightened to the point that one had to jiggle it to get the doors to close. On the bright side, we never fail to meet very nice folks there to enjoy our breakfast with. The breakfasts are awesome too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleopatra-7, Owner at The Cabernet Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Maintenance is not slipping at the Cabernet Inn
We thank you very much for pointing out some things that need to be addressed in one of the guest rooms. Bruce and I work very hard to keep things at the Inn as pristine as possible. We have an annual room by room maintenance schedule and do a thorough Fall and Spring clean of the entire Inn. As for the Jacuzzi, in your attempt to adjust the jets, you ended up shutting them off. The jets are on now and working properly. We truly thank you for your concerns and suggestions. We hope to see you for a fourth visit to the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Weekend getaway... Nice, clean, good made to order breakfast, excellent hosts, very,very charming. Wonderful place.
My wife and I stayed 2 days, went outlet x-mas shopping and hiking on the Kancamangus hiking trails.

Best pub we found: May Kelly's Cottage - didn't try the food but it looked good as the waitresses passed our table... I was drooling. My wife had made plans to go someplace else for dinner.
Best food we found: Red fox bar and grille, Steak was really good.

Everything was fantasic..... I was going to note that there are no TV's in the rooms but a B&B is suppose to be romantic and quaint and I guess TV's aren't. Would be nice to watch a romantic movie (football) in the room, though. They do have a very quaint basic TV room downstairs with an old tube set and some vhs tapes... uhg. They also provide a WIFI connection if you ask... I did.

Also worth noting only because from the photos I had an expectation of this place being setback off the road. The place is very pretty as shown in the photos, what you don't see is that it is right on the main road. I noted this when we arrived, expecting road noise but it was not an issue, although we had wonderful room (fireplace) on the 1st level in the rear of the bldg.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheddarRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We decided to spend a "couples-only" Thanksgiving away from it all. I found the Cabernet Inn using an internet search, liked their website and photos, and hoped that all the positive reviews I read on the web held true. The reviews were spot on. Bruce and Jessica made us feel welcome from the time we walked in. Their inn is beautiful, clean, and comfortable. Bruce is a wealth of information from where to go to eat, how to spend your day in the White Mtns, and how to avoid traffic in North Conway on Black Friday! The breakfasts and Thanksgiving dinner that Jessica prepared were beyond delicious! She is a wonderful chef. They are genuinely warm and unassuming hosts. I even got to spend time with the third host of the Inn - their beautiful 9-year old black Lab - Cleo. We loved our time there, didn't want to leave, but we are already planning when to go back in 2012.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Conway hotels
4.7 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.4 km away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Cranmore Inn
Cranmore Inn
#1 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.7 km away
Red Elephant Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.0 km away
Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
Spruce Moose Lodge and Cottages
#6 of 21 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cabernet Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabernet Inn

Property: The Cabernet Inn
Address: 3552 White Mountain Hwy, PO Box 489, North Conway, Conway, NH 03860-5114
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway > North Conway
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,591 - ₹ 11,224
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and elegance of this romantic New England Inn, located in North Conway, just a stroll away from one of the most breathtaking views of Mt. Washington in the valley. We cater to couples seeking romance, outdoor adventure, delicious cooked to order country breakfast, relaxation and privacy. Let us make your stay in New Hampshire truly memorable. "Unforgettably romantic. Exquisitely maintained. Simply…elegant." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Cabernet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabernet Hotel North Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing