We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just spent the weekend at Wentworth and enjoyed a day of spa treatments....wonderful spa, took advantage of a room overlooking the water, great food. Great hotel, staff was great, short trip from Boston. Gorgeous location! Would love to check it out in the summer months.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    340
    126
    76
    36
See reviews for
310
670
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac,FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Wentworth by the Sea over the Easter weekend(10/7-10/9 2012).
The room was very nice , clean and comfortable. The staff was also courteous and attentive.
The hotel is located in a great spot, with some really nice views. The one thing that we didn't like, was where our room was located. We were in a standard room,located on the navel yard side of the hotel. The room was directly above the hotel restaurant and there was a constant noise from the ventilation/AC system on the roof of the restaurant. Although not horrible it was some what annoying. I would suggest when booking in the main hotel try getting a room away from the Restaurant side. However all-in-all a great hotel and a great experience...

Room Tip: see review
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobannsass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a wonderful visit to the Wentworth by the Sea in New Castle, NH. Just a few minutes from Portsmouth with a lovely ocean view. Built in 1874, they have kept the ambiance of the time while updating the facility. We had a king suite with a water view. The room was quite large - living room had a sofa, 3 wing chairs, fireplace and dining room table with 4 chairs overlooking the beautiful gardens and ocean. The bedroom was roomy and comfortable. They have a spa, sauna, fitness room, an indoor and out door pool and several dining options. Housekeeping was terrific. They serviced us twice a day, with nightly bed turn down, fresh towels and a special treat on our pillow. The room was immaculately clean. Don't miss dinner in their dining room - incredible food. Highly recommend Wentworth by the Sea and will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Wentworth is a lovely property in a lovely location. It has lovely architecture, great views and very nicely appointed rooms. It isn't cheap, but for a long weekend getaway, which we were enjoying in conjunction with a family event in the area, it was very nice. One negative was the bed. We went so far as complaining to management and asking if changing rooms might help, but we were told that all of the beds were the same throughout the hotel--and our bed was very hard! We both woke up with hurting backs. They tried putting an extra comforter down as a layer of padding for us to lie on, but it only offered partial relief.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessnyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I love Wentworth By The Sea....a saved piece of history. Beautiful facility and great service. We try to stay here any time we are in the area...Always reminds me of the film "Somewhere in Time"

Room Tip: I like the rooms with a walk in Shower...rather than a tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestfieldJackieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Castle
3.5 km away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
3.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.5 km away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
5.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 588 Wentworth Rd, New Castle, NH 03854-3001
Region: United States > New Hampshire > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Castle
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,439 - ₹ 39,587
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel And Spa
Wentworth By The Sea, a Marriott Hotel New Castle
Wentworth Sea Nh
Marriott Hotel New Castle
Marriott New Castle
New Castle Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing