We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't go back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Purity Spring Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

we stayed just after christmas with three kids - the promise of iceskating and free sleigh rides. No skating. No sleigh rides. No apologies for either. Corridor outside room stank of cigarettes. Room smelled stale. Decor old, dark and shabby. Nylon-feel sheets. Peeling paint in bathroom. Swimming pool felt unclean. Service ranging from nice to unbelievably unfriendly. Overall the rates we paid for this felt ludicrous. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rocketshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write down your comments and concerns. We are truly sorry we did not meet your expectations during your family’s first visit to Purity Spring Resort. We value the importance of family time together and strive to make each experience a good one.

Unfortunately, Mother Nature wasn’t very cooperative this winter, making outdoor ice-skating impossible most of the season, and sleigh rides unsafe that week for guests as well as the horses. We do offer several other activity options for guests and these options should have been presented to you as soon as we realized that the skating and sleigh rides would not be available.

Ongoing training and communication between the various departments continues to be a priority and we hope that if you choose to visit us again that we will far exceed your expectations.

Our various departments read your feedback and appreciate the areas that we can improve on. We are continuously making improvements and upgrades to our guest rooms and common areas throughout the resort. For example, since the beginning of April, we have replaced mattresses in all Standard, Deluxe and Luxury rooms, with new pillow top mattresses, refreshed several guest rooms and common areas with new paint, as well as retiled and added new sinks to many of our bathrooms. Our pool had recently been drained, cleaned and refilled, and the hot tub in the pool area is drained on a regular basis as well, this is an area that we haven’t received complaints on and will look into them to make sure all cleaning procedures were being followed. We will continue working on making improvements and upgrades as time permits.

We appreciate all of your comments and concerns, as they will help to make us a better resort for future guests. We hope to welcome your family back to Purity Spring Resort in the future!

Warm Regards,
Steven Hoyt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 166 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

My husband had to go on a trip to Boston, and having been to NH before, we decided to take a little side trip in the middle of the week to experience winter in New England. We found Purity Springs online back in December, read some good reviews, and also discovered they were celebrating their 100th year as a resort! We were excited about the ammenities available there such as horse-drawn sleigh rides, snow tubing, and skiing even though we dont ski. We booked for the luxury room pkg with all of the above activites included.

As it turns out, Mother Nature was not very cooperative in this region with the amount of snow they are accustomed to, so there wasnt enough snow for the safety of the horses to go on a sleigh ride, and the tubing park could only be open on the weekends. That said, we were so grateful that Beverly, one of the reservationists in the main office, called us A WEEK IN ADVANCE of our stay to make us aware of the weather situation, and offered to let us cancel our reservation without penalty. However, if we chose to come anyway, they offered a very generous discount on our room, and also included complementary breakfast at the restaurant as we did not sign up for a meal plan in our original reservation.

Their honesty and upfrontness about the weather, and going out of their way to still provide a great stay for us impressed us so much that we wanted to come! Let me say, we were so glad we did! Our room was amazing with pretty views outside each window. Our room was like an upstairs apartment with an extra bedroom, mini-kitchen, and a sitting room within our bedroom. Our queen bed was very comfortable, and reminded us of the bedding in the Hilton Hotels.Our flat screen TV received perfect reception and had many channels even though we were in a rural area. The Resort itself was beautiful and totally looked like a scene out of a Currier and Ive's Christmas card!

In addition to having full access to the other rooms in our building such as sitting rooms,library, fireplace rooms, TV room, and the full kitchen in the Inn, we were also given free access to the beautiful fitness and activities center across the street. There was a large pool, hot tub, gift shop, excercise room, and list of activities going on. It was a very nice facility, and impeccably clean in all areas of the building!

Our meals at the restaurant were warm and delicious comfort food, much appreciated on a cold NH evening! Although we do not drink, we ate at their Pub the first night. I had the homemade crab mac and cheese dish, and I can tell you that was one of the best pasta dishes I have ever tasted! My husband had their French Dip sandwich that filled the plate, and hung over the sides. He loved it, and I tried it as well. The sandwich was as delicious as ever! We were both so full, but had enough room to share an amazing apple crisp dessert with vanilla ice cream on top. Outstanding!

The next morning, we ate breakfast in their Traditions Restaurant and once again, the food was delicious and the portions abundant. I had the vanilla cinnamon french toast, and my hubby had the pancakes! There was also complementary homemade muffins and breads as side dishes. We ate heartily, and were warmed and filled to prepare for our touring in the White Mtns about an hour north of the resort. By the way, the town of Conway, and North Conway are just 10 miles from Purity Springs and has outlet shopping, restaurants, snowmobile rentals, antiques, and other quaint shops to visit.

What really set Purity Springs apart from other places we have stayed was the incredible hospitality, friendliness, and the helpfulness of the entire staff! Beth, Doreen, Joan, Beverly, and Brenda in the front office, our server Chris at dinner, and the great young lady serving us at breakfast, made us feel so welcomed! They offered advice about local places of interest, suggested places to eat and visit when we went to the White Mtns, provided street directions to us, and even gave us a map! They truly made our stay quite pleasant and memorable.

The King Pine Ski area located at the resort is up and running as they were able to make some snow, along with some natural snow that fell last week. If you ski, do try to visit them this winter. I think NH and MA have Spring Breaks in February, and if you dont plan on going to FL, do plan to stay at Purity Springs. You will not be disappointed!

If our travels ever bring us back to New England again, we will definately be coming back to Purity Springs. It is a special gem in the White Mountains, and the hospitatlity is great!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luminalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Purity Spring Resort. As a family-owned resort for over 100 years, we take a great amount of pride in providing the same service and accommodations which previous generations of our family worked so hard to create.

We're glad that you were able to discover our little piece of heaven in the White Mountains and hope that you can return again soon.

Many thanks,
Steven Hoyt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Have a group that come each Nov. We have been moved from one site to another for many different reasons....have NEVER had a smooth check-in or check-out. When we first visited Purity Springs, we fell in love with the place. Lovely views, quaint lodging and good meals, all reasonably priced. Sadly, it has not continued to be a happy experience for us. Rude office staff, slow kitchen staff, cold dry food....and the only people who seem to care were the wonderful people who cleaned and stocked the condos we were in. Sue and Donna go above and beyond every year. We will miss them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mainetrolleyguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuritySpring, Owner at Purity Spring Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your most recent stay. We've looked into your concerns since your November post and have worked towards improving check-in/out policies, kitchen procedures and guest services.

We're thankful that you have since re-booked and look forward to providing the service and accommodations which have brought your group back time after time. Please call us if you need anything else.

Sincerely,
Steven Hoyt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

The room were little smaller and overall its a decent place to stay. The property is scattered and so if you want to use the amenities you have to drive 0.5 miles :) The only problem i had was with the noise level at night and the thin walls. Every time someone is moving around the hallway and going in and out the doors makes a huge bang noise and its very very hard to get a decent sleep.

Room Tip: Book way in advance if you plan to travel in autumn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wizkidca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Went there for a friend's wedding all the way from Europe (Portugal). It is so nice! You have a lot of things to do around, there is an enormous lake where you have a lot of activities. plus swimming pool, tennis court, etc... The rooms were a little bit poor, but when you are on vacation none one that matters! I am usually very piky with hotels but in there I felt completely integrated and had a very nice time! I would like to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GFdC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
18.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
19.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
18.2 km away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
Merrill Farm Inn
Merrill Farm Inn
#10 of 30 in Conway
246 reviews
33.5 km away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
521 reviews
22.2 km away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purity Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purity Spring Resort

Address: 1251 Eaton Rd, Madison, NH 03849-4316
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: ₹ 6,770 - ₹ 15,217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purity Spring Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over 100 years of hospitality and outdoor recreation, family-owned Purity Spring Resort has long catered to families, groups and guests looking for traditional country lodging in a setting of forests, lakes and mountains. The resort property surrounds pristine Purity Lake, which offers unblemished shorelines, sandy beaches, bogs and heaths, and is adjacent to a NH Audubon Wildlife Sanctuary. In addition to an indoor pool and fitness center, guests can enjoy kayaking, waterskiing, hiking and biking during the warmer months plus alpine/xc skiing, snowshoeing, snowtubing, skating and sleigh rides during the winter season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Purity Spring Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purity Spring Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing