We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value, great amenities”
Review of The Summit Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Summit Resort
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, great value, great amenities”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Loved it! Our room was clean and huge! Could have easily slept 6 adults. We had room 310 which is a room with a jacuzzi. The decor was a little dated but it was more than spacious which makes up for it. The kitchen had a dishwasher, oven, full size fridge, microwave and coffee maker, 2 tvs and a balcony with a view of the playground and a little bit of the lake. Beds weren't terrible. Heat/cooling worked great. The shower was a little difficult to operate but we had sufficient hot water and pressure so once you found the right temperature it was fine.

The amenities building was great. If we had brought our kids they would have loved the pool and waterslides. It is near a lot of great locations in town. Would've been better in the middle of summer. The staff was less than friendly at check out. Don't think they even made eye contact with us. Also, the cleaning staff were hanging out talking in front of the amenities building which I thought was a little strange.

Overall we would definitely stay here again and bring the kids! Wish we could afford $200 a night during busy season, but this hotel is definitely worth that price.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dcutillo, General Manager at The Summit Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
I am happy you loved the resort. The Summit offers some of the most spacious units in the area and it is close to most area attractions. Our rooms are true condo-style units, so they are a great for anyone looking for a safe haven while visiting the Lakes Region.

Our amenities center is a major asset and guests tend to love it. Hopefully you can bring your kids on your next visit so they can enjoy themselves on the water slide.

I appreciate your feedback about the staff during check out. I will be sure to address this. Guests who choose to spend their valuable time at our facility deserve a smile and a positive attitude at the end of their stay with us. I hope you choose to visit with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Rob Robillard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    66
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
84
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The front desk staff allow anyone to check into your room before you arrive when its under your name. All they ask for is the persons name the room is under and their phone number. Most peoples phone numbers are public knowledge so anyone knowing where you were going could check into your room destroy it and then leave you to pay for it. It should be a policy like every other hotel/resort that the person whose credit card the room is under be there! This happened to me and I was in shock that they allow this to happen. I would advise everyone to stay somewhere else. I had a horrible experience and will never return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irisheyess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dcutillo, General Manager at The Summit Resort, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
As an organization we strive to treat our guest with respect and provide them with a positive vacation experience. With that in mind I regret having to directly refute your review. After discussing your comments with management I was informed that your party was associated with the guests that were removed from the property due to a noise complaint (see response to review below).

We did receive a call, allegedly from the reservation holder, that another guest would be checking in prior to their arrival. This name was placed on the record for the reservation. When this guest arrived we added them to the reservation, took down their license and informed them that if they were checking in they would be responsible to pay for the reservation. It is not uncommon for reservation holders to have other guests arrive before them. In these cases, we generally allow the reservation holder to inform us about these unique circumstances. The Summit Resort has never experienced an incident where an unknown party has stolen someone’s identifying information and used it to destroy a room.

It is unfortunate that several guests who you were familiar with and spending time with during your stay were removed from the property due to noise complaints. During this time period we received 7 noise complaints from nearby guests and had to provide free night stays to 2 different reservations. It is likely that this is the true cause of your negative experience during your stay with us. Suggesting that we compromise guest’s privacy and are an unsafe facility seems extreme given the context of the situation.

Sincerely,
Rob Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This place looks nice. The rooms were alright. The front desk staff was horrible. There is no on-site security after 9pm. The front desk doesn't answer there phones. They do nothing for noise complaints either. When we finally got to through to the front desk and talked to the general manager she was rude and unprofessional. She even hung the phone up on me. I called her back and she told us we can leave the resort. I was completely disgusted with the staff there and especially disgusted with the general manager who had no cares for the guests staying there. I will never return to this place. It definitely doesn't make you feel at home with the horrible customer service. I would recommend everyone else to stay away from here as well

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snowboarding guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dcutillo, General Manager at The Summit Resort, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
It is unfortunate that what could have been a fun vacation experience had to end in such an unpleasant manner for both your party and for our staff. In this instance, I completely support my staff’s side of the story. After reading your review and meeting with all management representatives familiar with your stay, I find it very self-serving that you do not explicitly state that you were a member of the party that was removed due to noise complaints from other guests. While it is unfortunate that our security guard, whose shift ends at 2 AM, did not become aware of the disruption during the night, the resort did receive 7 independent complaints the following morning. The resort manager was obliged to comp 2 rooms in proximity to your room due to these issues. We had several eye witness account from other guests of beers being thrown from the deck during the night as well.

I understand that our manager had one initial conversation with your party in the morning and then was forced to take action on a second call based on the experience of other guests. If our manager was anything but professional with you during the process of removing you from the property I can only assume she was a bit flustered by the extremity of the situation. Our organization did refund the second night of your party’s stay.

For the record our front desk stops answering phones at 10 PM, guests are then directed to a cell phone number in their guest packets that is available until 2 PM. After those hours we have an offsite, 24 hour desk staff that is available to answer calls for the property. Your review does bring up the concerned that this communication chain may have been under-communicated to the guests staying in units near your room. We will work on improving this to be more responsive to future noise complaints as they are happening and hopefully prevent other guest from suffering as a result of irresponsible behavior by a single party.

Rob Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Was torn as to whether to mark this average or very good. There is no "good".
The units are nice as advertised, but in no way would I consider this a luxury resort. This is the second time I have stayed at the resort. Last time was the summer, this time just a few weeks ago to ski. The units are dated, but comfortable. As previously stated, the master bath had no shower and the walls are thin. The unit was very clean. I have stayed there twice in two separate units and they were both the same.
These are condo's. The pool is very nice but I do not really consider this a resort. There is no restaurant on property or even within walking distance. They provide basics but no starter pack of coffee etc. A bar of soap but no shampoo. If you are ok with the basics, it is a great place, if you are expecting luxury you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wbn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Went here over the weekend with my son, daughter and her friend and we all had fun. The rooms are perfect for a family and the activity center is a blast. Racquetball, pool tables, multiple swimming pools, slides.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: take a top floor as you can hear people walking when your on the middle or bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
0.4 km away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
440 reviews
19.5 km away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
319 reviews
3.5 km away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
647 reviews
5.0 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
0.6 km away
Lazy E Motor Inn
Lazy E Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Weirs Beach
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Resort

Property: The Summit Resort
Address: 177 Mentor Ave, Laconia, NH 03246-2137
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,198 - ₹ 21,997
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Resort is a four season getaway overlooking New Hampshire’s magnificent Lake Winnipesaukee. Ideal for families, the comfortable, spacious suites provide privacy for six with the convenience of a full kitchen and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Hotel Laconia
Summit Laconia
Laconia Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing