We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful mountain retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
eliot, me
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful mountain retreat”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I spent a night here this month, and have nothing but good things to say about our stay. The location was perfect for us as we wanted a quiet get away, with hiking nearby. The room was very comfortable and the lobby and pub were cozy and relaxing. We'd especially like to acknowledge the staff. They were very welcoming and attentive, and by the time we left we felt like family! (In a good way.) The food was great and the breakfast buffet was incredible. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the halls offer a quieter option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Jenn K,

I appreciate your time to comment on your recent stay at the Eagle Mountain House. To hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the hotel is what all of the team seeks to achieve, we are especially pleased that you felt like family. With a variety of rooms and options for location we are always happy to fulfill special room requests.

Looking forward to your return,

Craig Boyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    182
    99
    45
    28
See reviews for
171
250
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Our review is based on our wonderful dining experience this past April 2012. We made our dinner reservation after reading past reviews. Though the Inn was slow due to the weather conditions, the dinner was outstanding. We were served our meal in a huge dining room with tons of nostalgia. The waitress was quick to take our drink, and then dinner order. She made it a point to check on our table as needed without being overwhelming. The prices were extremely reasonable
for the servings we received. The Eagle Mountain House is a hidden gem up on the hill in Jackson. When we are in the Jackson area again, we will book our stay and dinners at the Eagle Mountain House. The staff is first class!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Scooter105,

Thank you for your nice comments on your recent dinner in the Highfields Dining Room at the Eagle Mountain House. Our goal is to provide a great dining experience offering appetizing food served by an attentive staff in a comfortable and relaxing setting. I was pleased to hear that we met these expectations. We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, MA
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were fortunate enough to spend two glorious days at the Eagle Mt House. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. The hotel is certainly "vintage" but beautiful, rooms are small but clean and comfortable. The view from the large and beautful dining room is breathtaking and Jackson Village with its covered bridge is a step back into history. Breakfast which was delicious was part of the package. What a great deal.

Only drawback was there is no air conditioning but the fan sufficed. I understand it's going to get major renovations!

We'll be back, to be sure!!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms viewing the mts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleMountainHouse, Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Bobbie 41,

Thank you for your nice comments on your recent stay at the Eagle Mountain House. As you mentioned, having breakfast with views of Carter Notch and Black Mountain is something special. We are always seeking to offer the best experience for our guests and am glad that we delivered for you. Hope to see you back soon.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

eagle mountain house.. what to say but feel the history of the start of the place in 1870... really on check in Daisy... The lady at the front desk greeted us with such courtesy and kindness like we were the only people checking in here... the view... just breath taking.. from the long verandah as you step into the hotel... The rooms are small, have a upgraded bathroom... they need attention.... but.... its a historical hotel... and you feel that... if that is what you are looking for... to escape to history..... the room i stayed in still had the old television... but i was not here to watch tv... i love to smell the mountain air... and feel the sence of all the mountains around me.... the great thing was that the breakfast was included in the price.... and the food is very good here...... there is a pool table, ping pong and a jacuzzi.. in the basement and a small gym....and there is a bar.. in the lobby with a flat screen tv... and a fireplace.... there is also a room with some information and books and another fireplace... and in the lobby some couches... and chairs... for resting and looking at the mountains.... and guess what... another fireplace.... most of the wood is original and you can feel it still (there is a old western union telegraph and cable blanks board still over the front desk) experience vintage new england and step back in time to spring fed waterfalls, covered bridges wrapped around the resort.... it felt like i was somewhere else... (but dont forget the place has not had much updates ... but then again... tooo many updates .. take away the new england vintage feeling...all in all just sit on the 280 feet of the grand verandah and forget the world you originally came from.. enjoy the historical experience..

Room Tip: I dont think it makes too much difference on the location of the room... for the mountains are all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Antonette,

Thank you for the great description and observations of the Eagle Mountain House. Your comments outlined all of the things we feel are important at the hotel. We have plans to make significant improvements while still preserving the charm and feel of the hotel that you enjoyed.

Your mention of the great customer service you received is very important to everyone at the hotel and I am pleased that you noticed the sincere efforts of the staff.

We look forward to your return.

Regards,

Craig Boyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shapleigh, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We just stayed in a two room suite with full american breakfast for $99 a night, how can you go wrong. The staff was excellent and they have a neat bar with comfortable seating and fireplace. The dining is an excellent experience with super wait staff and food prices are great.
One thing I think they should do is put a treadmill in the fitness room, I can't think of any hotel without one. This hotel was built in the late 1870's so you must be ready for the charming rooms and hotel areas but you also have to be prepared for substandard (small and old) TV's and no channel changers found. I noticed that some of the doors had gaps with the door jams at the tops because of the age of the buildings but the locks on the doors are very solid. Think old charm if your staying here and the Jackson village area is one of the best places in the USA to stay and for viewing NH at its best.

Room Tip: You can either overlook the golf course or the mountains so both are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEShapleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.7 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
1.1 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
805 reviews
1.2 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,471 reviews
2.8 km away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
482 reviews
10.3 km away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Property: Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,901 - ₹ 13,028
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing