We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasant Inn: Enjoyable game room, IMMACULATE housekeeping!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Ellis River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Ellis River
Ranked #1 of 13 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant Inn: Enjoyable game room, IMMACULATE housekeeping!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

My spouse and I stayed in the Franconia Falls room. It was a pleasant, simple and quiet room. It has a private entry (though it is a sliding glass door entry so you cannot leave without locking it.)

We did have an issue with a propane smell from the fireplace. After speaking with a member of the staff we were moved to Bridal Veil Falls. The fireplace was fixed promptly and we were able to sleep in our original room the next night without an issue. I certainly appreciate Christine’s hospitality. She apologized for the night before and reassured us that things would be OK and made right. I understand that she does not make the big decisions but she really connects with the guests and her reassurance made everything MUCH better for us. My conversation with the staff member the night before left me a bit upset but Christine treated us as highly respected guests and it is only because of HER reassurance and attention that made us overlook the mishap.

I highly recommend a stay at Inn at Ellis River. I am mostly impressed with their immaculate housekeeping, the public rooms and guest rooms were spotless. Their breakfast was EXCELLENT: 2 options to pick from along with bacon and homemade granola, so delicious!
The fireplace in the main lobby was very relaxing and cozy: a wonderful ambiance. I enjoyed the game room & pub as well: very nice for pool, card games and checkers. I can see this being an even more enjoyable room to gather if traveling as a group.

Thank you for an enjoyable stay and I thank Christine in particular for making our stay a nice one!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and apologize that you experienced an odor of propane when you lighted the gas fireplace in your room. There had been no odor when the room was checked prior to your arrival, and unfortunately it was not possible to have a repair person come so late at night. Fortunately we could move you to a similar room immediately across the hall for the remainder of the night, and we tried to apologize for the inconvenience by reducing your bill. Our service person arrived early in the morning to check the fireplace and we were happy that we could move you back to the room you had originally booked right after you had finished your breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy our breakfasts and the inn’s amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    61
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
49
400
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield RI
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Returned again this year for our annual ski/snowshoe get away. We found this wonderful retreat last year and couldn't wait to return. This Inn is just a walk away from the Jackson Cross Country Ski Center. The Inn is also close to excellent restuarants.

We really enjoy our stay at this Inn. The Innkeepers/owners(Frank & Lynn) couldn't be more welcoming. The Inn bedrooms are all large and the Inn also has several rooms on the main floor for relaxing including a room with a hot tub, a room with comfortable chairs for reading and puzzle making. They also have a lounge with a bar, pool table, fireplace, dart board, games, etc.

I look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raisinbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The problem is when my expectations are unrealistic....
TI@ER was a nice spot, but after reading nothing but 5-star reviews, I expected the best thing sliced bread,
It was fine, We booked a night in Paradise Falls room. It was comfy, warm and clean. The jacuzzi in the bathroom was a nice touch. A small sitting room added some comfort.
The staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was OK, but a 5-star rating, in my book anyway, means something above all others.
This wasn't.
The downside, It really isn't in that scenic a spot. Driveway is next to gas station, just off the road. Wifi didn't work often, problems with the router. Expensive,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newzmanpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your comments. We wish that the room you really wanted, Pearl Cascade, had been available, because we think you would have enjoyed it, but unfortunately it was booked for the night of your stay. We do strive to be the best thing next to the sliced bread that comes from our favorite artisan bakery, and we regret we were not able to meet all your expectations. We apologize that we were having some difficulty with the free WiFi we provide for guests, which sometimes can be a challenge with a rural provider and century old building. We try our best to show accurately the surroundings of the inn on our website. The inn is located next to the river at the end of a 300 foot driveway which begins by the gas station. The surroundings are a village context, so other buildings are visible from the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We spent a weekend at the Inn at Ellis River. It is a very "romantic" inn, with lots of pillows and flowers and cute note for couples, which is not my style, but they do a lovely job of it, and if this is your taste, you will absolutely love it. That said, the inn-keepers - and everyone who works there - were so friendly and warm, and the place is so spotlessly clean (which is my first criteria in a place to stay) and well-kept, that I would certainly return. It's also a very nice size, small enough to not be impersonal, but big enough that it is an inn, not a little B&B. The food is very good, there is good tea and coffee available at any time. And it is nice and warm, even when the outside temp is around 0! Rooms are not big, but certainly not the smallest for an older inn, and there are many nice public areas, too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnAtEllisRiver, Owner at Inn at Ellis River, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We know that guests preferences differ, and appreciate your generous review even though the inn did not offer the style of decor you most enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed at the Inn at Ellis River as an escape from Florida to see the wonderful scenery of New Hampshire and Maine. What a treat it was to stay at this Inn. The rooms were so beautiful, the breakfast spectacular and oh those cookies in the afternoon. If you are in the area don't miss this treasure. Right in the middle of Jackson and yet you feel as though you are in the middle of seclusion. A definite must.

Room Tip: I actually looked at many of them and all were just wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.8 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1.1 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 13 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
5.5 km away
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.8 km away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#6 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Ellis River? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Ellis River

Property: Inn at Ellis River
Address: 17 Harriman Road, PO Box 656, Jackson, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,956 - ₹ 17,315
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the quaint town of Jackson, the Inn at Ellis River offers elegant, country lodging for you in the NH White Mountains. Whether celebrating a special occasion or looking for the perfect vacation getaway, our Inn offers ideal accommodations. We offer standard rooms and suites, most with fireplaces, many with Jacuzzis and balconies, some with direct views of the Ellis River. Each room has a view of the pool or the picturesque mountains near the inn. Enjoy the nearby waterfalls, trout streams and hiking trails to Mt. Washington. Reserve today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Ellis River Hotel Jackson
Inn At Ellis River Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing