We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carter Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carter Notch Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

There's a reason this place is the #1 B&B in the entire region. It's really that good! My wife and I spent a lovely weekend in room #8. The room was spacious, immaculate, had a gas fireplace and a loft with our own jacuzzi! Sally and Dick are really what make this place special. They couldn't have been more helpful and hospitable from waiting up to welcome us for our late arrival to providing restaurant suggestions, hiking recommendations, and trail maps for us. And we loved meeting Lulu, the cat, and Dudley, the Old English Sheepdog. It's quite competitively priced despite the fact that they're clearly superior to most other B&B's/inns in the area. Breakfast was scratch-made and hot every morning. There's a framed certificate proudly displayed on the wall in the breakfast room from the NH state legislature declaring it the #1 B&B in all of New Hampshire. I agree! Will definitely stay here again when we travel to the White Mountains.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatorfan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
331
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at the inn for two nights earlier this month, and we had a wonderful time. We decided on this inn after reading through many reviews on trip advisor, and were impressed with the unanimous high praise. We were definitely not disappointed - not only is the inn itself cozy and beautiful, the inn keepers are also exceptional. I had forgotten to pack my snow boots, and not only did Sally lend me her own boots, they also lent me and my fiancé snow shoes for the day! We stayed in room 6, the suite with a large jacuzzi and nearly panoramic view of the surrounding woods, and it was romantic and just lovely - it even had it's own electric fireplace! We loved our stay and will definitely be back. If you're looking for a warm, comfortable visit to New Hampshire, you won't be disappointed with Carter Notch Inn.

Room Tip: Choose room #6 for a gorgeous view and en suite jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

It is very difficult to imagine that you could find a better B&B than the Carter Notch Inn in the Jackson/Barlett/North Conway area. For many years, my wife and I have taken a long weekend each winter to go skiing (alpine and cross country) in this area. We've stayed at a good number of B&B's and researched many more. For the past 6 or 7 years, we've always come back to this Inn because it is consistently superior in every respect. The innkeepers, Sally and Dick, work exceptionally hard at providing a wonderful experience for their guests, but somehow make it look easy, from the most obvious items to the smallest details. They strike a perfect balance of being completely helpful and welcoming, without being the least bit intrusive. The Inn and its rooms are immaculate, homey, relaxed, and comfortable. The location is beautiful, just off the beaten path, and quiet--you have the advantage of a peaceful rural setting that is still within easy reach of whatever activities interest you. The people that stay here tend to be very interesting and engaging folks of all ages and walks of life. Try it out--you will thoroughly enjoy your stay at the Carter Notch Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TallFries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was just the perfect getaway, tucked away in the natural beauty of the region. The inn is cozy and extremely homey, from the living room and kitchen area to each room as well. Sally and Dick are wonderful and welcoming, and always happy to offer help with anything, and insight into the area - highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a very nice inn with great innkeepers. Dick & Sally made us feel right at home and keep the inn immaculate. They have a large a large English sheepdog (Dudley) and a beautiful cat (Lulu), both of whom are completely at ease with guests of the inn. There is a great year round hot tub for post skiing relaxation. We've stayed at almost all No. Conway and Jackson inns and this is the best quality, value, and ambiance.

Room Tip: Several rooms has 2 person jacuzzi tubs. Rooms 6 & 8 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerMike14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.0 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.1 km away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1.6 km away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Snowflake Inn
Snowflake Inn
#2 of 14 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.1 km away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
1.4 km away
Inn at Jackson
Inn at Jackson
#4 of 14 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carter Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carter Notch Inn

Property: Carter Notch Inn
Address: 163 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box 810, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,228 - ₹ 15,410
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Bed and Breakfast located in the quaint New England village of Jackson, New Hampshire, overlooking the Wildcat River and Eagle Mountain Golf Club. In the heart of the White Mountains and close to the Mt. Washington Auto Road. Year round outdoor hot tub, full country breakfasts & quiet location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Carter Notch Hotel Jackson
Carter Notch Inn Jackson, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing