We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to try this one again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Shovel Handle Pub

Shovel Handle Pub
Ranked #8 of 16 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Need to try this one again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Maybe it was just a too busy time in the area but, we found this place to be a bit lacking. Hot sandwiches were served cold with the exception of the soups which, were outrageous! We will try this place again in the Fall to give it a fair review.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BergenLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    54
    26
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food, relaxed atmosphere for families and couples, evening entertainment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

My husband and i have eaten at The Shovel Handle Pub in Jackson, NH annually, for 1 night during February school vacation week over the past 3 years. We like the atmosphere of being inside an old barn, with a fireplace, various levels available for a bar and dining, and usually a solo musician playing a guitar. It can be a busy but relaxed setting for families or couples after a day of skiing. The menu is a mix of pub food and dinner entrees. The prices are reasonable and we have enjoyed whatever we have eaten there. If either the pecan crusted salmon or barbecued ribs in blackberry sauce are on the menu, I would highly recommend them!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enfieldwatersprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Hampshire
1 review
“Girls Night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We arrived to a very busy crowded fun filled pub. We had to wait for a table, but we were made to feel very much at home. Our drink order was taken immediately and we were able to wait for seating in the area on the first level. They were short staffed but you wouldn't know it as even the innn keeper was waiting tables and making sure that everyone was enjoying their evening. Our dinners were out standing and we decided that they had the best french onion soup in the valley. We all had different dinners and they were all great. Our server was very good and made the dinner party a great evening. With all the different Inn' s and pubs in the area ths is one of my favorites.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Apre' Ski or Apre' Anything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Just an old Barn on the outside. But the best little tavern in the white mtns. for a drink with friends and a upscale pub menu. Steaks, salads and special. Live music. Tons of locals.

Helpful?
Thank Snorkl3guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We love the atmosphere of this barn/pub and always have great, friendly service. This place is such a nice alternative to chain and unfriendly restaurants who sometimes prey on tourists. The menu is varied and we especially like to order the daily specials - the shrimp flatbread and ahi tuna are great as appetizers or even as main meals. This place is the real deal and not to be missed. The live music is a nice added bonus on weekends.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DurhamNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shovel Handle Pub also viewed

Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 
Jackson, White Mountains
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Shovel Handle Pub? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing