We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic restaurant, best in Hanover.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphy's On The Green

Murphy's On The Green
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Murphy's on the Green - Exceptional Food in Hanover, New Hampshire *** Murphy's is very LOCAL. We purchase almost all of our meat, produce, dairy and bread products from our many high quality Upper Valley Farms and purveyors and we appeal to the new 'locavore' movement... eating and purchasing food within 100 miles of your location. Our 'day boat' seafood comes 'hand picked' from the docks of Boston. We are proud members of the Vermont Food Network.
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
“Fantastic restaurant, best in Hanover.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Murphy's is fantastic in every way. Great menu, great food, great service. Looking forward to their new BBQ restaurant in town--3 Guys BBQ.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 656Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    100
    36
    14
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Food was good. Not fabulous. Very over priced for portion and quality. Very small menu. No salad soup or even bread served with entree what restaurant doesn't serve bread now a days? Not impressed. Food was good and service was good but way o er priced. Even for Hanover....my beat advice...include. bread with each seating and include a soup or salad with entrees. Hanover is decent but no reason to take advantage by over pricing average meals with minimal included. C'mon.....what restaurant doesn't serve bread now a days.... I only go e 2-3 stars at most. Id rather spend my money at weathervane or the 99

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mytorque2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Not for the calorie counter. Great food with creative preparations. Our waiter was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, and personable. We sat in the back library...neat room.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank fly_momFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We were looking for a casual dining experience with good menu options and great food. Murphys was the right choice!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chizzimama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good all around restaurant, kind of dark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Murphy's is trying to be more upscale than it really is, but if you want a good burger or simple meal, this is a great place to go. Good for a crowd, too.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank loriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's On The Green also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's On The Green? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing