We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay at Lamies Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed for 3 nights at Lamies Inn. The beds were comfortable, the rooms very clean. We had a second floor room and I was grateful for that because it is a VERY busy place! The air conditioner kept the outside noise to a minimum. I think I would ask for a room facing the back of the building for added quiet. We did have a few times where smells seemed to come in through the air conditioner. The staff was very friendly. Our stay included a continental breakfast in the Old Salt Restaurant, which is attached to the Inn. This included bagels, toast, cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, assorted Danish, coffee, tea and orange juice. This was the perfect start to our day of exploring, as Hampton Beach was very close, as well as Portsmouth. Lamies Inn is located at a busy intersection. The spot in town where it is located is NOT a quaint walkable area. Go to Portsmouth for that! Friday night there was a band in the dining area (Old Salt Restaurant) and we were NOT disturbed by the music - we never heard it! A nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor and the back of the building would be best for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thinair6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

My husband took me here for dinner with friends. We were amazed by the size of the fishermen s platter. It is really large and very good. Everyone in our party loved the meals they ordered. There is also a lot of history on the building on the menu and pictures and articles on the walls. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottnancy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

I've seen other reviews and have to agree with old and tired. The bed was probably covered in a plastic mattress pad that kep all three of us awake all night. I also don't understand the great reviews of the restaurant. The food was at best cafeteria qality. Be warned!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank Prestochango1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Everything was very good. Matt, our waiter, was great, he was very attentive but did not hover. That alone adds 20 points in my book. Obviously the food was great. The salmon was cooked perfectly and the garlic potatoes, scrumptious. My wife had a meal with scallops, she said they were the best she had had in awhile. My dad was very impressed with the surf and turf. My eldest son had the shrimp scampi and he loved it. My middle son had a pasta dish, which he also loved. My youngest, he had chicken fingers, which he ate very well. All and all the most common description, in addition to delicious was large, every meal was at least 30% larger then normal sized meals, and with three boys that always affects our choice to come back to this restaurant. We chose this restaurant because my wife remembered coming here back in late '79 or '80 when she was very young with her brothers and sisters. It is good to know that it has kept up its quality of food. My review is ONLY for the restaurant. The hotel looked very pleasant but I did not even go in it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim3771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Dinner at the Old Salt was a pleasant alternative to the lobster pounds and place-your-order-in-a-line and wait type places we often visit. It was nice to be served comfortably and get good meals that were freshly prepared.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
4 km away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#5 of 41 in Hampton
921 reviews
3.9 km away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
0.5 km away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
4 km away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
10.2 km away
Exeter Inn
Exeter Inn
#3 of 3 in Exeter
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#3 Business Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: ₹ 7,211 - ₹ 11,997 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1740, this family-owned and operated New England inn continues to deliver hospitable service to guests from around the world. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, it is our pleasure to make you feel at home! Each of our rooms is authentically decorated in colonial style, retaining the charm of the era in which our property was built. Yet we offer all of the modern-day conveniences you would expect to have today. We offer free wifi as well as hard wired internet service throughout the building. All of our guest rooms are furnished with private baths, digital cable television with five HBO channels as well as local news, family and sports channels, individual climate control with air conditioning, alarm clock radios, in-room telephones with free local calling, refrigerator, microwave, room service, 24-hour fitness club privileges at Vanguard Fitness Center, complimentary newspaper and deluxe continental breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing