We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Greeting and Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seascape Inn at Plaice Cove
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible Greeting and Stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

This is a sorry excuse for a hotel. This was the worst experience at a hotel I have ever had. To start with, when I called to book the room, I was told that the hotel was on the main beach by the owner/manager: FALSE. It is about ten minutes driving distance north of the beach. So to go to the main beach in car, you would have to pay for parking (minimum $15). When I first got there around 9pm, we were not greeted by friendly staff as some reviews suggest, instead there was a post-it on the window of the office as the attached picture shows. As we went upstairs to get settled in we realized the A/C unit was not working. Not knowing who to call we stuck it out. Not only was the A/C not working but the room itself was falling apart. I was completely disgusted; lint all over the floor, paint falling off the walls. I was appalled at the room and hotel itself. The next morning, I politely went downstairs to mention to the owner/manager that the A/C was not working, to which he responded "Well, there was an emergency number you could have called." I told him I was unaware of the number and when I looked at the front again I still could not see one, just the TripAdvisor review flyer. After going upstairs and letting my boyfriend know of his comment, we proceeded to just pack our stuff and leave. As we were on our way out, the owner/manager came through the door and headed right for the A/C. He began banging it a couple of times, and when the A/C finally started he said, "wow, what a miracle." I could not believe his rude attitude. After we spent a horrible night there, the least he could do was be nice about the situation. I couldn't believe that after sweating through the night, he would come in and be so rude and obnoxious after I was very polite and nice when telling him of the situation. A manager would try to be understanding of the situation and try to find a solution and apologize, he did just the opposite. Things escalated from there after I told him he did not have to be so condescending and the minute he snapped back at me, my boyfriend came to my defense. The manager continued calling us a piece of crap (worse profanity was used) and refused to leave the room until we 'got the heck out' (Again, he used worse language and profanity). I was very uncomfortable at this point. Being a young lady and guest, I have never been yelled at and treated that way, non-the-less by a manager of a hotel. After non-stop yelling from him for about what seemed forever, my boyfriend finally managed to get him out so we could finish grabbing our bags. When he went downstairs to return the key, the manager/owner kept at it, cursing and yelling at him. All my boyfriend could do at this point was laugh and leave. I am glad to have only spent a night there. If 1 night was this horrible I can only imagine a whole vacation. Do not stay here. Avoid it at all costs. There are many other actual hotels on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sdae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    30
    9
    8
    17
See reviews for
34
26
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weare, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The people the best. We had our two dogs with us and they were very accommodating. The hotel was right across the street from the beach, with easy access. The room was a decent size and very clean. I've stayed in other pet-friendly hotels and not had it be so clean and the people so nice. Every morning, we were greeted with a smile, hello, coffee and danishes. I highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainville, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Nice little place, just north of the busy/noicey strip. Dog friendly (a big plus). Friendly and helpfull staff, beach just across the street. Take a walk on the beach @ 2:30 in the morning you won't regret it. We are going back in the fall. Give it a shot

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimplainville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed at the Seascape with our 3 boys and yellow lab. Finally, we found a pet-friendly place near the beach. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our dog loved running around on the beach. We loved that we were far enough away from the busy boardwalk, yet close enough to go there when we felt like it. The location of the Seascape has a very quaint feel and we had a great trip. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol48103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We rented 2 rooms this past week-end and we considered ourselves lucky! It was a long week-end in Canada and US, so chances were minimal. Especially that we have a mini schnauzer that travels with us anywhere and we heard that NH is the most unfriendly of all us states. It was a nice surprise - Randy and his team were great, I don't know if I ever saw so many dogs on the beach in any state I visited, people in general were friendly and helpful. If you have a dog and you need a place to stay, you found it!
The motel was clean and quiet, the beds were very comfortable , the beach right across the street, bar&grill one block away.
We drove to Hampton Beach - 3 miles - but that just made us appreciate more the place we've choose - away from crowds but close enough if you miss them.
We loved the place and the area, we will go back for sure. Good luck Randy and keep it like that!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
3.4 km away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#13 of 41 in Hampton
79 reviews
1.9 km away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
3.8 km away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#4 of 41 in Hampton
881 reviews
3.0 km away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
218 reviews
3.4 km away
Grand View Motel
Grand View Motel
#17 of 41 in Hampton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Inn at Plaice Cove? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Inn at Plaice Cove

Property: Seascape Inn at Plaice Cove
Address: 955 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-1435
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,320 - ₹ 13,415
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seascape Inn at Plaice Cove 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Seascape Inn at Plaice Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seascape Inn At Plaice Cove Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing