We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware-Unfriendly Staff”
Review of DW's Oceanside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DW's Oceanside Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Hampton B&B and Inns
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beware-Unfriendly Staff”
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Heard a lot about the place but very non customer service oriented and almost "snooty" when having to deal with staff. If you have to deal with "Skip" at this establishment you'll walk away wondering why he's working in this field.
We were there a week and half way through our TV service was cut-off with no explanation and "Skip" could've cared less.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NYTELE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwoceanside, Co-Owner at DW's Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
We did not originally plan to respond to this negative review as we feel it would probably just perpetuate the issue. However several phone calls & emails from a few of our caring & loyal guests who have stayed with us over the past 30+ years made it clear that at the very least a short response was necessary.

The important thing for anyone reading this review to know is that this person never stayed at our Inn and has never even been inside the Inn. We know this because it is not possible that the reason he gave for his complaint could ever have actually happened here. If he had stayed here, he would have known this.

Based on his comments we do know that the problem that occurred that was not resolved to his satisfaction happened in a totally unrelated business. Skip & anyone else at our Inn have always tried to respond immediately to solve issues that may come up just as soon as we are made aware of them. We want all of our guests to enjoy their time at our Inn and to know that we are always available to help them do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

If there is such a thing as a perfect inn, this would be it. Attention to detail is amazing. This was our third stay at DW's and we'll likely be back. The inn itself is beautifully decorated. Attention given to guests is solicitous, but not smothering. If you need something, Skip or Debbie will make it their business to get it to you immediately. Each of the rooms is decorated differently. Comfortable beds, lovely (and plenty of) linens and extremely comfortable.

Wonderful amenities. Breakfast (prepared by Skip) is always delicious. We recommend Skip's poached eggs. Everything we needed for the beach was right there (umbrellas, towels, chairs, coolers, hats, etc.). Safes in the rooms. Plenty of places on the property to relax. Easy access to bottled water, etc. Lovely gift shop. Friendly and helpful staff.

The only downfall would be the beach. However, we are picky about our beach. The hotel is separated from the beach by a busy street. So there is street noise. The beach is also a bit crowded on the weekends. We found it easier to just pack up the above mentioned beach gear and head out to a quieter more private beach.

If you're thinking of heading to New Hampshire, you should make it you business to check out DW's.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paohctny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable 4 night stay at the Oceanside Inn. The location is perfect, directly across the street from the ocean and a few blocks up from the busy part of the "strip," making it a bit quieter and a little less busy feeling. Skip and Debbie were great hosts.

There are 9 rooms at the inn. We stayed in the Gilman Marston room, a "deluxe room" with a comfortable queen size bed (see photos). All rooms have private baths. Water pressure and temperature were great. We had a hairdryer, safe, robes, toiletries, etc., everything you need. Our room and common areas were spotless. Fresh towels were supplied once or twice a day.

Simple amenities that we appreciated were the availability of beach chairs, umbrellas and towels if needed. The basement level of the inn included a shower to wash off sand before going upstairs, and also a large refrigerator/freezer (shared by all guests) where you could keep your beverages etc. cold. There are 2 shared patios, one in the front overlooking ocean, and one in back with lounge chairs and self-serve mini bar). Also a small cute gift shop on the first floor. Parking is available in a nearby private lot. Their attention to detail even included embossing the end of the toilet paper roll with an "O" for Oceanside each day when the room got made up.

Breakfast each morning consisted of a choice of pastry/bagels etc (with excellent jams!), fruits, and fresh squeezed OJ, as well as an egg and/or other entree selection (french toast, awesome).

Upon check in we received a $10 off coupon to eat at the neighboring restaurant, Ron's Landing. We had our final night's meal there and it was excellent.

Beach - Water was freezing but very clean and relatively large. This area of the beach seemed less crowded than further down where it is directly across from the majority of the motels.

One minor drawback... The side street directly next to the inn is evidently one of the main roads that leads you back to interstate 95, so it caused for some added traffic at certain times (i.e., Saturday night we went to sit on the balcony to relax to the sounds of the ocean but instead we got to watch/listen to a steady stream of cars leaving a Casino ballroom concert).

A few small details/recommendations....the inn has central air conditioning which I am sure is an added bonus during the hot summer months, but there are no thermostats in the room. We found it to be a bit cold for our liking (as it was cool and rainy the weekend we were there), so we shut the vent in our room. Later we tried to open our windows for some fresh air, but the storm windows were in, so we couldn't do so. This was our last full day so we didn't bother to ask if they could swap the screens in for us.

Also, our first night our room was stocked with some bluish-gray towels that were clearly worn and had seen better days. For the rest of our stay, however, we had newer, plush white towels and we did not see any more of the ragged ones (maybe it was laundry day). I would ditch those old blue towels! This is a minor detail, but they stuck out enough to make me mention it in this review! Also, at breakfast the "napkins" were small forest green terry cloth towels that also looked like they belonged to an old bath towel set, not on a dinner table. With breakfast being served with fine china and silver, I couldn't figure out why some simple linen napkins weren't used.

I have to say that my husband and I were not crazy about Hampton Beach in general. The beach itself was great but the resort area seems rather "tired" (generic arcades, shops, eateries and motor lodges) and just "ok". We did not notice many other people in our age group (couple in late 20's, no kids). The area was mostly older folks or families with children. By contrast, it seems like it would be a great family beach vacation area, and I know many families go back year after year. But it lacked a certain uniqueness, and the quaintness that we enjoyed at Cape May. The experience was probably a little bit soured by the fact that we didn't get as much beach time as we hoped for due to the rain.

Overall we loved the Oceanside Inn for it's proximity to the beach, amenities, and service, at what we could consider a reasonable price for what we got. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing stay, I don't think you'll find a better place in Hampton Beach.

  • Liked — clean, comfy, quiet, wifi
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cjc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lawrence, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2006

We just got back from spending three great nights at the oceanside and can't say enough good things about this INN. If you are looking for a fantastic place to stay this is it. Great location and just a beautiful facility.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank john12967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2006

If there's such a thing as a six star property, D.W.'s Oceanside Inn is it. Centrally located directly across from the beach, this adult, smoke free, quiet property is a diamond in the rough along the strip of Hotels and Motels of Hampton Beach. The Inn itself, and the rooms are incredibly decorated. You won't be able to take your eyes off the fabulous antiques. Breakfast included, was excellent. The Inn is immaculate from top to bottom and Innkeepers Skip and Debbie couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Everything you need is here.

  • Liked — Uniqueness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dbct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.3 km away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
871 reviews
0.2 km away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
83 reviews
0.4 km away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
1.4 km away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#12 of 41 in Hampton
41 reviews
4.0 km away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#14 of 41 in Hampton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DW's Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DW's Oceanside Inn

Property: DW's Oceanside Inn
Address: 365 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3633
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Hampton
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,292 - ₹ 25,487
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, elegant Inn on the NH seacoast. Set up as a quiet get-away for mature adults, mainly couples. Located directly across the street from a wide sandy beach & within easy walk of all tourist shops, restaurants & activities in center area including the beautiful new SeaShell Stage with free nightly entertainment in summer. All rooms have been completely renovated. The Inn has many common areas, i.e. front porch with beautiful ocean views, back deck self-serve bar area, living room, breakfast cafe & enclosed front porch. Rates include full breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing