We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun & Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sun & Surf Motel
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
montreal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We planned a last minute weekend getaway and only found this motel available, and could say I was pleasantly surprised. The bathroom was renovated and clean with lot's of towels. The room was small, but perfect for sleeping. The pool is unheated, but kept very clean and they also provide pool towels wich really surprised me. I would like to mention that this motel is not walking distance to a sandy part of the beach. Since we have small children we took the car to the beach. Compared to the ships inn,(wich we stayed 2 years ago) this room was much cleaner and the bathrooms were new.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santis_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    5
    0
    6
See reviews for
10
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

The owner was rude and disorganized. She called and tried to cancel my reservation the night before our stay saying that they do not book single night visits. I would have no problem with that if she hadn't booked my single night reservation over a month ago taking my credit card information to hold the room. The conversation ended with her saying, "Fine - we'll do it this time, but not again". Customer service is a foreign concept to these people.

We have stayed at Hampton Beach many times over the years and have enjoyed a few different motels and hotels. This was by far the dirtiest and smallest room we've ever stayed in. Two people could not fit inbetween the bed and TV stand. The shower was a single upright stall and lighting was a solitary florescent ceiling fixture. The bed was not comfortable and the pillows felt like they were made out of balloons - I ended up using rolled up pants instead.

Overall it was a very uncomfortable and disappointing experience. Please try to enjoy a different motel anywhere in Hampton!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katemary123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hampton hotels

nospamplz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

first off...let me say that I am NOT a relative or friend of anyone connected to this hotel (as some would suggest) I am a genuinely satisfied customer who had a great trip thanks in part to this motel :) My friend and I went up mid-November for a surf swell/mini-vaca before finals, and I got everything I wanted from my siesta. The local is perfect..a 5 min stroll down the wall in the morning lets you check out the waves, have a nice walk on the beach, or walk down to the shops (basically do whatever you'd like to do). The staff is over-the top sweet and will go out of their way to accommodate you in every way they can. The bed that i slept on was soooo comfortable! (more comfortable than my own bed in truth ;) ) and the small kitchen(mini-fridge, microwave, toaster, sink) made it easy to eat cheap rather than having to eat out all the time. Also the rates are extremely reasonable off-season. I admit it's not the ritz, but for a nice little spot, clean, warm, hospitable, and affordable, it's unbeatable. :)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nospamplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

I have to say that I have been going to the Sun and Surf for many years and I can not be more pleased with the room, the service and the personel, room with kitchenette are big enough, the rooms are clean and you can ask anything to the personel they will go out of their way to please you. Great place don t listen to frustated people.........

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hurraynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2008

First of all, these small Hampton Beach motels are totally overpriced and the owners take advantage of the fact that (and it is STILL a mystery to me) that most motels and hotels in this area are booked solid during July. Planning this trip, I searched a whole 2 days on the Web (and Tripadvisor - in their defence, no-one has written anything on this motel before) as I was a bit late in deciding on a destination close to Boston and outlet shopping, given the miserable weather we have been having.

Many of these small hotels have terrible reviews, but I could not find much information on the Sun & Surf motel, only 1 or 2 reviews, and they were positive! so I thought I had discovered a secret gem here. Now I know they must have been written by a relative of the owners or something like it.

The rooms are small, the walls are bare and paper-thin, and THE BEDS WERE JUST PLAIN MISERABLE and do not qualify as such, as they were way smaller than described on the phone, and the springs could be felt through my back and my sleepless nights.

This is just a very old place that is not very well kept. I had seen a couple of reviews were it said the place was clean - if this place means clean - I would hate to seem some that are dirty. The drinking glass in our room was filthy. I do not wish to over do it on the negatives, but this wannabe motel is just plain bad. On the positive side, its probably par for the course in this class of overpriced pigeon holes for the area. The lesson I have learned: 1) For a vacation near the beach on the east coast, I will be going back to a our nice Coleman pop-up tent trailer. Its 27 feet long when opened, air conditionned with a side-pull dinette, and above all its clean. I really think its still our best option unless you have $ 250.00 pet night to get out of this class of small motel the sun & surf is in. I also must mention a thing of two about this Hampton Beach destination, especially for those travellers who will have to invest in a 6 hour drive like me. Hampton Beach probably used to be a nice place decades ago, but its T-shirt and pizza city now, and well, pretty tacky. But some people (many in fact) like this, so do let this stop you if thats what you are looking for.

Nest time, I will invest in one extra day of driving, and move on to Virginia Beach, (like we had been doing the previous 5 years) where the beach is pristine, the temperature rarely falls under 90 degrees, and the water is very warm, unlike the chilling waters in Hampton and Old Orchard.

We eventually cut short our stay at the Sun & Surf, sorry to be blunt, but never, NEVER will I take chances with our family vacation this way again. What a frustrating let down.

  • Liked — Nothing really
  • Disliked — Not clean, beds and overall accomodation not as described when making the reservation
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robrobmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
1.0 km away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#10 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.1 km away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#20 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.2 km away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2.6 km away
Seascape Inn at Plaice Cove
0.6 km away
Breakers by the Sea
Breakers by the Sea
#21 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun & Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun & Surf Motel

Property: Sun & Surf Motel
Address: 528 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3641
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,948 - ₹ 10,327
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun & Surf Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun & Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun And Surf Motel
Sun & Surf Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing