We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
23
7
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
7
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the barn ping pong table full kitchen paul shuttle hostel lilly hikers laundry signal trail walmart mount
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2014

The facility is decorated in over the top Victorian style, and I understand the furnishings and accessories are from the original owners which made it really fun. The wood work in the entry and stairwell is beautiful. When we stayed, however, the facility had recently changed hands and the new owner, while extremely pleasant and personable, didn't provide all the amenities we had contracted with the previous owner. For instance, we were expecting a "full gourmet breakfast" as described on the web-site and on the flyer in the B&B, but all that was provided was drip coffee in our room that we had to make ourselves and a basket with 4 slices of store-bought cake. Not enough for our planned hike on the Appalachian Trail after breakfast. The website also advertised that we would have full access to the living room and library for reading or relaxing with tv or a DVD, but both rooms were blocked off with furniture during our stay. I'm sure that once the new owner has time to get organized, things will improve as he seems very competent. And we wish him well!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHeila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

The Libby House Inn and it's proprietors are the best. The house was very clean, very comfortable, quiet and anything that is needed is furnished. Bobby and Steve are very friendly and helpful, making you feel right at home. This is the place to stay if you are in or near Gorham, NH.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0b4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

SORRY TO SAY, IT IS TIME FOR THE OWNER TO SELL THIS PROPERTY, TO SOMEONE WHO HAS THE INTEREST IN RUNNING A B&B..
attitude- not good!!!!
Suite- bathroom wallpaper hanging down put up with tumb tacks!!! NO TV IN ROOM
no tissues, no water, no ice and definitely no breakfast served on site.... therefore I do not consider this a B &B if you have to go down the street..
It is a great old house with a lot of potential.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank marief3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After a couple of days on the road staying at large chain hotels, we decided to stay at the Libby House Inn in Gorham on our way up to Montreal. The location of the Inn is a plus. Once you are parked you can walk just about everywhere in town. "Doc" gave us great food recommendations for the Saalt Pub (see separate review) and other local eateries. And when the local moose tour canceled for lack of patrons, he gave us excellent advice for our own moose-spotting -- and it worked! We saw three moose that evening (and a fox). The rooms are large, and that is always welcome after staying at box hotels.

That said, The Libby House Inn is not really a true B&B. One of the benefits of a B&B is that you breakfast with other guests, which is a nice way to meet people. But when we were there, we simply received from Doc two $10 vouchers to a local diner per night. We would have preferred that the tariff for the room had been lowered $20 per night and then we could choose out own breakfast place. Additionally, parts of the house looked a bit run down. The bed was nicely appointed, but the mattress lacked support. There was no hair dryer in the room, and no locks on the bedroom doors. Most B&Bs at least offer a chain lock for the doors. When you are sharing a house with guests you don't know, it is nice to feel like there is some privacy and security.

Overall, the Libby House Inn is blessed with a winsome proprietor and a great location, but it needs some TLC and a good cook in order to get its rankings up.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I'm typically not a B & B guy, but I thought I'd try it. Stayed at the Libby House for 8 consecutive nights, 9/29 - 107. No in-room television is something to consider. No (very little) Wi-Fi is something to consider. As far as sleeping, you'll sleep like a bear as this is a comfortable place to stay and we found "Doc" to be a very nice guy and helpful too.

Room tip: The Kristen room is huge and comfortable.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews