We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable Overnight Stop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Brockville,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Overnight Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed overnight twice at the Top Notch, in 2009 and 2011, both in mid-October. We came the second time because we'd enjoyed the first. Both times, the second by our request, we stayed in the "Mount Adams Room", one of the smaller quarters at the front of the building.
We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the inn a cheerful, comfortable spot. I am sure it would make for an equally pleasant stay in any of the four seasons, as well as in between when we were there.
Thank you, Top Notch Inn, and good luck in your future affairs.
Name: Paul S.
Date of Stay: October 11 - 12, 2011
"Mount Adams Room"

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
We're glad you enjoyed our Country Inn rooms. We appreciate your coming back a second time. Returning happy customers are our biggest form of flattery :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    182
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
188
246
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Do not stay in the Washington or similar room. It is only a few feet from the main highway and the traffic, especially the trucks that start passing non-stop around 04.00 am, is very noisy and seem virtually in the room. We had to be relocated for our second and third nights and the staff did not seem surprised by our request. It was even implied that some previous occupants had turned on the room fan in attempts to drown out the traffic noise.
A disconcerting fact is that the motel runs a competition awarding prizes for writing presumably a positive review. This cannot be to the motel's advantage in the long run as it must raise doubts as to the true validity of some of the reports.

Room Tip: The "special rooms" are very close to the highway and ours was extremely noisy. Avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
We did have a photo contest this season, and the prize was a complimentary room for two and dinner at Libb'y Restaurant. We do not award prizes for Trip Advisor reviews :) We appreciate your comments, and our customers comfort is as always our concern. We thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Hebron, NB
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband & I were looking for pet friendly accomodations & found the Top Notch which was really "top notch". Nancy was so friendly when we called for a reservation & so welcoming when we arrived. We were both very tired from travelling all day & the bed afforded us the best sleep ever! Our room was spacious and very clean. If ever travelling in the Gorham area again, we would definitely be staying at the Top Notch Inn. Barb C. room 111 Oct.10,2011

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Every time we plan a trip to Berlin we stay at Top Notch Inn without question. We love the area and the restaraunts in the area. Nancy and her staff were very friendly and helpful.When asked about church services in the area,without hesitation, Nancy gave us the times of the services and churches in Gorham and in Berlin. Oh for sure,we will be back to our favorite Inn.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meathead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

My boyfriend and I were looking for a last minute mountain getaway on Labor Day weekend. Because we waited down to the wire to book our hotel, we assumed all of the "good stuff" had a been book up--boy, were we wrong! We were thrilled with everything even before we got there. We received great service over the phone, directions when we were lost, great recommendations for eateries, and best of all, our furry children were able to stay with us free of charge! (The quiet streets behind the inn for walking and waste station were bonuses!) Honest, we couldn't have been happier we stumbled upon this place--it will definitely become our regular White Mountain destination.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElBee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
1.0 km away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.6 km away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
2.8 km away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
36.4 km away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
25.0 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,344 - ₹ 12,143
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with us and $ave! We can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you, our guest. AAA approved, great location in the town center. Walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings and bunks or doubles and twin & deluxe king rooms. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Pinkham House with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout. Mt Washington Auto Road and Great Glen Trails are 10 minutes away, discount available. Story Land, Santa's Village, hiking, rafting & Moose tours all close by. Newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing