We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will look elsewhere for our next trip...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gunstock Inn & Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Gilford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

The beds were comfortable - that's the positive. We booked the largest room as we were traveling with teenagers: 2 queen beds and a trundle, efficiency kitchen, balcony and a bath. The room was a good size and recently refurbished but still smelled of paint and the windows were painted shut so we couldn't open them. The man at the check-in desk explained that we had to turn the bathroom light on to use the microwave, but this also meant that the microwave beeped every time someone turned on the bathroom light (not good in the middle of the night). The TV remote did not work from the bed; had to stand up to change the channel, volume, etc.
Other odd things about the Inn were that the front desk closed around 8:30-9:00PM, the staff could usually be found in the restaurant rather than the office (there was a sign) & the balcony next to ours was overflowing with stuff (you also got hit with hot air from the A/C unit next door if you sat outside).
There is a very nice pool and fitness area but my son was turned away from the pool and told he wasn't old enough to be there without a parent; something we were not told when we first toured the facilities and for which there was no sign. The pool area is extremely hot and not a place to hang out if you're not swimming.
We ate dinner in the restaurant. Not a great experience as the soda was flat, the frying grease needed changing and the chicken had no flavor.
The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired, some of which I'm not sure was edible. We went to Ames Farm for breakfast which was well worth the extra trip and expense.
We look forward to our yearly trek to Gunstock Mountain Resort, and saved on our tickets by staying here, but we will find another place to stay the next time we stay overnight.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Booked in for 1 night . The corridor of rooms was like your Grannies, rocking chairs, chintzy decor, but very quaint & homely, the view from the room was beautiful, lake & mountains all set against the orange of autumn trees. When we went for a wander down stairs were utterly amazed by the full sized swimming pool & gym. From thd front the Inn looks small, on one level. All of this was hidden below stairs, with fabulous views through all glass walls. The restaurant was old style, huge stone fireplace, beams etc. The steak was the best my daughter had ever tasted. Definitely worth a stopover

Room Tip: Ask for moutain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lornadixon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The musty smell hit me upon entering. I have never before stayed in a room with no windows. There was the 3-4 inch gap beneath the doors that allowed some light in and all the noise in. The ceilings were low and it was very claustrophobic. The floor creaked as people walked in their rooms overhead. I believe you could take all the mismatched furniture, lamps, (2 of which didn't work) wall decor, everything and not get $5 for it a yard sale. Linens were old and carpet had multiple stains. Run away!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Gunstock is no doubt one of the best ski resorts in NH. The staff is friendly- the snow crew works hard to keep trail conditions great- and just overall it's an awesome mountain. I would definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Gorgeous view of Lake Win.... Nice & clean room. Pleasant staff, very helpful. Great salt water lap pool, really cool. Good continental breakfast which was unexpected. All of this for a bargain price. Stayed 3 nights.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Caryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilford
12.5 km away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
338 reviews
6.6 km away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
19.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
6.6 km away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
772 reviews
3.3 km away
Belknap Point Inn
Belknap Point Inn
#3 of 6 in Gilford
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunstock Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunstock Inn & Resort

Address: 580 Cherry Valley Rd, Gilford, NH 03249-7841
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Gilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gilford
Price Range: ₹ 5,703 - ₹ 10,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gunstock Inn & Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gunstock Inn & Resort is the Lakes Region's inn for all seasons! Located in beautiful Gilford, NH, this colonial-style inn features a country tavern with an inviting rustic fireplace and a fitness center with an indoor, Olympic-sized saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gunstock Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gunstock Inn And Fitness Hotel Gilford
Country Inn Gilford
Gilford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing