We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place...and our wedding headquarters”
Review of Franconia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franconia Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Franconia, NH and Cannon Mt. have deep meaning for our daughter and now son-in-law so they wanted a Franconia wedding to allow friends and family the chance to experience the beauty of this neck of the White Mts. For the Church ceremony, mountain top service and reception at the Cannon Mt. Ski Lodge, The Franconia Inn was the perfect hub for all of our wedding week activities.

The Inn is just a few miles from downtown Franconia and is set on scenic grounds with views of Cannon Mt. and Mt. Lafayette. There is a large front porch perfect for rocking while taking in the Mt. views or watching the planes across the street from the Inn which offers glider rides. (The small engine aircraft were not a noise issue for us at all.)
There are tennis courts, volleyball, hiking trails (xcountry in the winter), pool, hot tub and a horse stable offering trail rides to name a few of the recreation options. The grounds are beautiful and we loved the short hike to the small river that winds it's way behind the Inn.

The Inn has 30+ bedrooms of all different sizes and styles which were able to accommodate the varied needs of all our family and friends. My wife and I stayed the "Inn Suite" which had a small kitchen, whirpool, large sitting area and a rear deck overlooking hills and the horse corral. This suite was very roomy and allowed plenty of room for relaxing and for active grand-kids! Another huge plus was the cottage on the Inn's grounds which had a second floor loft with a bedroom and a large living room/kitchen area that our daughter and her bridesmaids used for prep-events on the morning of the wedding. My mother-in-law stayed in the Inn's handicapped accessible room on the first floor and, since she uses a walker, we were pleased that the Inn was generally navigable for her. There is a fireplace with a cozy sitting area and library off of the lobby which was just a short walk from her room. While the restaurant is on the first floor, the Inn Pub is on the lower level and, since there isn't an elevator, we also brought a travel wheelchair to transport her outside and around to the pub entrance. Luckily we had enough family present to help with that as she would not have been able to get down there on her own.

Speaking of the restaurant, the food at the Inn is absolutely fabulous. Breakfast and dinner are served and the selection was always very varied and delicious with specials offered each day. The Inn staff also were able to provide a catered lunch during our photo session and appetizers for gatherings we had after the rehearsal dinner/wedding reception. The pub level has a very cozy, dark wood atmosphere with a large wood-burning fireplace, bar service (you can order dinner down here), dart board, large screen TV room off the lounge section, video arcade, ping pong and foos ball table. It was a great spot for meeting new folks and re-connecting with old friends.

By far the most wonderful aspect of the Franconia Inn is it's staff. From Diana who help us coordinate most of the reservations and who for months graciously handled all sorts of questions and requests, to Donna who also helped with food plans, to Lisa and Finn in the Dining room, to Belinda in the pub (who is the kindest, most accommodating pub boss I've ever met), to the housekeepers, servers, desk staff, etc., we experienced the best in mountain hospitality. We truly don't think there could be a better staff top to bottom in the Inn business.

We can't wait to return to Franconia for a visit without a schedule to keep and when we do, we will definitely stay at the Franconia Inn.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at what type of room you want: cozy, standard, etc., to see what kind of space you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

My wife and I were staying at a nearby hotel and needed someplace to have dinner. There are not many restaurants in Franconia and the Franconia Inn was suggested to us. We went there and only the pub was open at the time for dinner. The staff was very friendly, the food was excellent and the drinks were very good. Nice cozy atmosphere sitting at the bar on a cold winters night. After leaving the inn to go back to our hotel we definitely wished we had booked a stay at the Franconia Inn instead and will next time we are back in the area.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KeyWestbound2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This was our first stop on a week-long trip to New England and we drove all day from New Jersey on a Friday to get here. It was worth the effort and a nice start to our vacation. The inn is on a quiet (in September at least) state route south of the town of Franconia and close to everything the White Mountains area has to offer. The décor in the lobby and the rooms is plain in an elegant manner. The lobby itself is cozy with a fireplace and a library adjacent.

We did not make use of the facilities and activities but noted a pool and hot tub, riding stables, a glider port and tennis courts. Breakfast, which was included in the room, was substantial and good with friendly service. The menu included eggs, omelettes, pancakes, waffles, fruit and a buffet. Dinner is available in the dining room as well, but we opted for the downstairs pub and again were not disappointed.

We will definitely return here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We spent four nights here in late August. This is a wonderful old style 'grand hotel' excellently situated for exploring the White Mountains. Our room was most comfortable and attractively furnished, and everything worked well. There was no coffee/tea tray in the room (although hot drinks are available in the lobby up to 5 pm), but restaurant staff were happy to provide mugs of hot water if asked. Also no television or Wi-Fi. This may be deliberate policy to preserve a 'retreat' atmosphere, but for us it was a disadvantage.
Excellent restaurant - we had two high quality dinners here, and breakfast was particularly good.

Room Tip: Rear facing room would be quieter. Front rooms face the road (although not much traffic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This was a nice and quite place to stay with a horse barn next door. There was even a small airport across the street that ran glider flights during the day (no flights at night). Don't worry about noise as there aren't many flights going on and we never really heard much. The had a great breakfast included with our package they we took full advantage of every day. Our kids enjoyed their game room, pool, and hot tub throughout our stay. I would not bring kids that are too young here unless they are fairly well behaved as they do try to keep things quiet and under control which just adds to the ambiance of the place.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
3.8 km away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
3.2 km away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
182 reviews
3.2 km away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#2 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
4 km away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Sugar Hill
389 reviews
2.6 km away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franconia Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franconia Inn

Address: 1172 Easton Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range: ₹ 8,973 - ₹ 12,330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Franconia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely 3-story white clapboard, colonial-style Country Inn features 29 beautifully appointed, cozy guest rooms, 3 luxury suites, a living room, library, 2 dining rooms, a Rathskeller Lounge, and 2 spacious verandas. And Oh what a view! Feast your eyes on the White Mountain landscape in all of its resplendent beauty! The Franconia Inn has much to offer guests visiting the White Mountains. Whether you are seeking the enriching experience of hiking high on mountain peaks, to thrilling kayak adventures, skiing, scenic bike trails, horseback riding or memorable trips to popular attractions such as Clark's Trading Post, The Cog Railroad and more. You and your family will return home with memories to cherish for a lifetime. Each season has unique possibilities - many from right out our front door. At the end of the day The Inn beckons with relaxed, gourmet dining, an outdoor hot tub, movies, game room, or a nightcap in the Lounge. Whether your interests are antiquing in the area, scenic drives, active sports, family attractions or just sitting by the pool with a good book, we strive to help you make the most of your precious leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Franconia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franconia Hotel Franconia
Franconia Inn NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing