We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Franconia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Franconia Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Arrived by chance - staff couldn't have been nicer and found us a room straight away. Great facilities (clay tennis courts, pool, bikes) and very good restaurant. Definitely worth a night if you're in the White Mountains.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodgo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    70
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
45
121
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The rustic inn was just right for our trip to the Franconia Notch. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The dining room was lovely; breakfast was excellent and dinner was good. The staff was most helpful and attentive. The immediate surroundings of the inn could be landscaped in a more attractive manner, but there is a lot to do on the property--swimming, horseback riding, etc.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susanj453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

you love the outdoors, amazing food, and very helpful and cheerful service (hiking, horseback riding, beautiful views of mountains and flowing rivers). This is exactly what my family and I love when we vacation. Extremely reasonably priced! We got the dinners and breakfasts included and were truly amazed at the quality of the meals. The food is absolutely delicious. So tasty, flavorful and a great selection. We thought that for the price we paid we would just get a small selection to choose from...NOT the case at all. There is plenty to do here, including StoryLand, Clarke's Trading Post and the Polar Caves, as well as the pool and jacuzzi on site for kids. We had our 3 year old with us and it's a great place for pure and simple fun. There's also a runway for small planes directly across the street which is amazing if you can fly in. No cabs to take, just a one minute walk across the street. We can't wait to return again and have more family fun.

Room Tip: It is an absolutely beautiful and rustic inn. No TVs or room service. Plain and simple, and EXCELL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank t h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at the Franconia Inn for three nights in early August 2011. Before deciding to stay in the room, I did my typical bed bug check and found no evidence of bed bugs. I felt confident that the room was clean and bed bug free. The second afternoon we were there I found two small blood streaks on the sheets at the foot of the bed. I was concerned, but tried to stay rational and thought the blood was from a small scab on my ankle I got the day before. The next morning we woke up very early to go on a run and I immediately found more blood streaks at the foot of the bed. There were also two brown specks which upon picking up and squishing were filled with blood. I then checked around the bed skirt and found a bigger bug crawling around. (I tried to capture this bug, but it fell off the ledge of the glass I tried to scoop it up in and fell onto the carpet...) I am not entomologist, but I have educated myself about bed bugs because I travel frequently and do not want to pick them up in my travels. Everything I've read, the images I've seen, and the experiences I heard from other people match what I saw in my room at the Franconia Inn. (Staying in an environment with bed bugs (or bugs of any kind) is my worst nightmare and I would never make up this situation up as I understand how damaging a bed bug problem can be to a hotel.) We alerted the front desk as soon as it opened (8:30am is a bit late for a front desk to open!) and they took the situation seriously--they vacuumed, purchased all new bedding, and sprayed the room, but ultimately we decided to sleep elsewhere. There lack of knowledge about what appeared to be a very clear cut bed bug situation did not make me feel safe. (In my opinion if you're in the hotel industry you should be up to date on the bed bug epidemic in the US and how to handle this type of situation.) They never did use the words bed bug with us, but as far as I'm concerned that is what was in our room. We took all precautions with our luggage, clothes, etc. and treated the situation as such. Below is a more traditional review of the hotel:

+ beautiful scenery, numerous outdoor and indoor activities, friendly restaurant and bar staff, acceptable food

- small rooms and bathrooms, dated furniture and bedding, lack of hot water, too many kids running around (esp. in hot tub), confusing billing system

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PetiteLinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We have stayed here with our family and my brother's family on several occasions. we find the Inn to be utterly charming and cozy in every respect. It was what New Hampshire is all about. The people are wonderful and the food that comes out of the kitchen is fantastic. It is a very warm atmosphere. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN White Mountain Inn
14.3 km away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
18.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
26.0 km away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
3.2 km away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franconia Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franconia Inn

Property: Franconia Inn
Address: 1172 Easton Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,821 - ₹ 12,439
Hotel Class:3 star — Franconia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely 3-story white clapboard, colonial-style Country Inn features 29 beautifully appointed, cozy guest rooms, 3 luxury suites, a living room, library, 2 dining rooms, a Rathskeller Lounge, and 2 spacious verandas. And Oh what a view! Feast your eyes on the White Mountain landscape in all of its resplendent beauty! The Franconia Inn has much to offer guests visiting the White Mountains. Whether you are seeking the enriching experience of hiking high on mountain peaks, to thrilling kayak adventures, skiing, scenic bike trails, horseback riding or memorable trips to popular attractions such as Clark's Trading Post, The Cog Railroad and more. You and your family will return home with memories to cherish for a lifetime. Each season has unique possibilities - many from right out our front door. At the end of the day The Inn beckons with relaxed, gourmet dining, an outdoor hot tub, movies, game room, or a nightcap in the Lounge. Whether your interests are antiquing in the area, scenic drives, active sports, family attractions or just sitting by the pool with a good book, we strive to help you make the most of your precious leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Franconia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franconia Hotel Franconia
Franconia Inn NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing