We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gale River Motel and Cottages
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This is a little strip motel from mid-20th century, the rooms being perpendicular to the road rather than parallel, and there's a reason for this - pull into your parking space steps from your door then turn around. The view south through Franconia Notch is breathtaking!

The owner was very friendly and helpful, with homemade Tollhouse cookies waiting at the reception desk, and suggestions about where to eat. The room was very clean, nice firm bed and a very nice flat screen TV with cable. But it was the view from the Adirondack chairs just outside the door that really made this place special. My husband sketched the view, while I just sat and watched storm clouds moving in through the Notch - amazing!

Amenities of which we did not partake, but that were available: swimming pool, shuffle board, fire pit, kids playground, indoor hot tub. I wouldn't have minded another day here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jannwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    43
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
82
94
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Excellent location-- quiet in the shoulder season. Friendly greeting from the owner upon arrival. It was easy to see that Kevin had put a lot into the old style motel to make guests feel welcome. As an eco qualified property, you can see he has put a lot of effort into his operation. Before selecting this location in the Franconia area, we read about lots of accomodations. Gale River Motel stood out not just because of the overwhelming positive rating but because of the mention of the owner's efforts to make you feel welcome.

This is 2011 and hotels, motels, and business owners should be reminded that travelers are looking for value . The visitor may not always view it that way initially but if the experience is not near perfect , they will remember the negative! The morning of our departure, Kevin asked where we were heading. We replied and he advised that the remnants of Irene had washed out the bridge and that we needed to take an entirely different route! We left with even stronger positive feelings.

I suggest that the value Gale River Motel has begins with its personable owner, a view of Franconia Notch in the distance, amenities that meet most individual's requirements --- swimming pool,hot tub, an offering of teas, home baked chocolate chip cookies, dried cranberry snack, immaculately clean accomodations. Visiting in the shoulder season was quiet. Rates are lower, also. I am sure that a summer visit would bring lots of activity around the pool. Gale River Motel offers an opportunity to stay within easy reach of the Flume , the Basins, and many hiking trails at an affordable rate.

Gale River Motel is a different experience than the franchised hotel chain.The location, ownership involvement, cleanliness, and a reasonable level of amenities exceeded expectations. We all make the investment in a night's stay with many considerations in mind. Travelers need to focus on what they take away from their experience. A visit to Gale River Motel leaves you wanting to return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valueseeker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleRiverMotel, Owner at Gale River Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful words...you captured the very essence of what I am hoping to achieve at the Gale River Motel...It is my desire to set the Gale River Motel apart from the "chain" lodging and have guests experience what traveling was like prior to the big chain hotels and motels. My goal is to truly welcome people to my home and appreciate their choosing to share their travel-time in a comfortable, relaxing, and personally caring environment. It was my sincere pleasure to have served you in way that was reflected in your heart-warming comments. May I share my "Inkeepers Blessing" with you in thanks...."May your travels always bring you back to the ones you love."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenmoore, PA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Gale River Hotel from Saturday, July 30 to Wednesday, August 3, 2011. We chose it because of the good reviews online, and we're glad we did. Everything was clean--room, bathroom, pool, picnic area, and parking lot. Kevin, the owner, made us feel as if we were guests in his home (which is actually true since he and his family live on the premises). He was readily available with suggestions for eating, hiking, directions, etc.--and had delicious complimentary home-baked cookies in the check-in area.

The motel has a beautiful view of the mountains and a rural feel to it, and yet we could walk to stores and restaurants in Franconia. Sleeping was great with very comfortable beds, and no noise from neighboring rooms. The free WiFi was inconsistent and could pose a problem for someone trying to work from that location. There were plenty of quality towels for our use in both the bathroom and pool area. There was also a play area with swings, a slide, a sandbox and plenty of toys for little ones. If we are ever in the vicinity of Franconia, NH again, we will definitely return to the Gale River Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

If you are looking for a nice, clean, family friendly motel in the White Mountains of New Hampshire, look no further. We have stayed at many motel style locations in New Hampshire and this one is the best hands down. When we checked in, we were greeted by the owner, Kevin. Everything you have read about Kevin in these reviews is true...he is the most helpful and friendly innkeeper you will ever meet. After checking us in, he actually walked us to our cottage to show us around. The cottage, which is called "the executive" was comfortable, spacious, and clean. Kevin explained to the kids about the "magic laundry bag". If you happen to run out of any items during your stay (coffee, paper towels, dish liquid, etc.....) simply put the empty in the magic laundry bag and leave it outside. Before you know it, your item has been magically refilled!
The property was clean and tidy the entire week we were there. There is a shuffleboard court, horseshoe pit, and children's play area. The outdoor swimming pool and hot tub (which feature a breathtaking view of the mountains) were always clean and a supply of fresh dry pool towels was always available.
After reading most of the previous reviews about this property, I feel obligated to comment on the chocolate chip cookies and tea available daily in the lobby. Believe it or not, this feature was our second favorite reason for stopping by the office each day. The first reason was Kevin. He is extremely knowledgeable, always pleasant, and obviously takes great pride in his motel. You will never find this kind of dedication and commitment to customer service in any of the chain hotels. This was our first visit to the Gale River Motel and it certainly won't be our last!

Room Tip: Executive cottage was huge. More than enough room for our family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dudesbrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaleRiverMotel, Owner at Gale River Motel and Cottages, responded to this review, 14 August 2011
Thank you for your kind words...I am humbled by your comments and honored to have served your family during your visit to the Gale River...I enjoy the opportunity to meet and welcome so many wonderful people to my home and motel...and truly love what I do in helping individuals, couples, and families make special memories. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and may your journeys always bring you home to the one's you love....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Gale River Motel during a road trip up towards Vermont. Kevin was the ultimate host. He greeted us with warm cookies and a friendly smile. He also helped us find a great evening dinner and provided us with a discount to the restaurant! The Motel is a "50's style" treasure. (We have paid triple for this type of room in S.Austin, Tx.) Our room was exceptionally clean. I loved our bath with original fixtures and a spotless shine. The beds and linens were clean and cozy and Kevin has gone to great lengths to create a comforable, eco-friendly place to lay your head.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugargal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.9 km away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
18.6 km away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#13 of 20 in Lincoln
620 reviews
22.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
168 reviews
3.2 km away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
274 reviews
4.2 km away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gale River Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale River Motel and Cottages

Property: Gale River Motel and Cottages
Address: 1 Main St, Exit 38 of I-93 to Rte 18 North 1/2 mile, Franconia, NH 03580-4801
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,210 - ₹ 14,122
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking mountain views from every room. #1 Eco-Friendly Motel in New Hampshire. Recognized as an Environmental Champion by NH Sustainable Lodging Program. Spacious rooms with two full-sized beds, refrigerator, coffee-maker, A/C, and Complimentary Wi-Fi access in all rooms. Heated outdoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, playground, picnic area with grill. Cottages sleep up to six guests with full kitchen facilities. Pet-Friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gale River Motel And Cottages Hotel Franconia
Gale River Hotel
Gale River Motel And Cottages Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing