We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped and no privacy, but great location.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lafayette Campground
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great location to get to all the good hiking spots in the area, however I don't think this campground is suited for longer stays. the camp sites are all crammed together and there's hardly and trees to aid to your privacy. we spent most of our time hiking but when we got back to the camp site spent most of our time listening to screaming children from 6:00 in the morning till they passed out around 10 which happens to be the quiet hour for the camp ground. the showers are coin operated, and while using one my husbands time ran out while he was still covered in soap, putting in a couple more quarters to start it up didn't work, it had just stopped working. The man at the service counter wouldn't give us our dollar back instead he offered a quarter to get it started, but thats why I had sunk a dollar into it to begin with and he had already dried off and gotten dressed. There was trash strewn across our site and half burnt logs that wouldn't fit into the fire pit. The fire wood we bought from the campground cost $12.00 for two bundles, and it was so wet we couldn't even use half of it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juno05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed for 2 nights. Had a very nice site right on the little stream there. Very clean bathroom and showers. Had to pay for showers but worth $1 for it! Hiked Lafayette Lincoln and Haystack which was literally across the road from the campground. Has a tunnel that runs under the road even. Our site was pretty close to the dumpsters, and they did smell pretty ripe. Would specify a different site next time. But all in all a very nice location and a step above most other campgrounds we've stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJVatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Lafayette Campground is ideally located close to several trail heads in Franconia Notch State Park. It's a great base camp for hiking trips in the Whites. It's also right next to the bike path (NOTE: the bike path is very hilly and not for casual bikers or people who are not in good shape. I saw lots of people pushing bikes up hills.) The campground is mostly heavily wooded. There is a main lodge at the entrance with a well-stocked store that is open until 9pm. There are coin-operated showers at the lodge and one other building in the center of the campground. There are also toilets and sinks at the lodge and several other locations. There is a stream running along the campground which is very nice. The campground is quite close to the highway, but the road noise goes down significantly at night and wasn't a huge issue. Sites are pretty well spaced and seem to vary greatly in size. Our site, #60, was on the smaller side. All come with a picnic table and fire pit. Reservations are definitely recommended. It was completely full when were there. Lots of families and activity during the day but still nice and quiet at night. The folks at the lodge were very friendly and helpful and the facilities were cleaned regularly. It's $25 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bostowyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank alexchandonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cascadeur37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
5.6 km away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
16.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
4.9 km away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
279 reviews
1.6 km away
Mittersill Alpine Resort
Mittersill Alpine Resort
#7 of 8 in Franconia
53 reviews
13.3 km away
Profile Motel & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette Campground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette Campground

Address: Franconia Notch State Park, Franconia, NH 03580
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Franconia
Price Range: ₹ 6,516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Lafayette Campground Hotel Franconia
Lafayette Campground Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing