We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 180
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 184
US$ 175
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 184
Element.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Six South St Hotel(Hanover)(Great Value!)
US$ 206
US$ 196
Six South
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 124
US$ 119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
69
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesgracious hostsfull bloomfriendly dogsshirred eggsclassic new englandfarm househome away from homeplace to stayking arthur flournancybolebanonhanoveraccommodationsherbslake
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2016

My husband and I have been staying at this Cream of the Crop B&B for eons. Nancy is the most amazing host we have ever met. She made us feel right at home from our first stay ten years or more ago. We sometimes stay twice a year because we have family in the area.

Her breakfasts cannot be beaten. A B&B in Maine came close but failed. The shirred eggs are my favorite. There are fresh scones every morning with handmade jams and preserves. I am partial to the blueberry but the others are just as yummy.

Now I feel as if we are coming home every time we see Nancy. We return on July 2 for another delightful stay.

There was new a new art installation when we stayed at the beginning of this month.

Room Tip: The rooms are all cozy and attractively decorated with easy chairs.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boonafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerHillBB, Owner at Shaker Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Frankly it is like greeting family each time you arrive - that makes it easy to take good care of you. Thank you for coming to Shaker Hill. Blueberry Scones are on the menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

This was one of the loveliest B&B's ever.
The house is an old farm style house that was beautifully renovated. The host Nancy was absolutely perfect! Ever little details in the room and guest areas were decorated to the hilt. There are dogs on the property and in the house if you have allergies. I thought they added to the experience.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank River332015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

This was our very first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, so we didn't know what to expect. Nancy has set the bar incredibly high, so it will be difficult for any future B&B to top our experience at her delightful home.

The room was comfortable, spotless, and delightfully attractive. We had the New Hampshire room that overlooked some of Nancy's gorgeous flower beds. Quiet and restful, it was the perfect place to refresh and unwind from days of looking at real estate in the area. Like the bedroom, the bathroom looked, felt, and smelled sparkling clean, and the towels were fluffy, large, thirsty, and soft. The shower was easy to operate, and the water flowed perfectly. There was no television to be seen, which we liked, and the WiFi was fast and easy to use.

If you have any food allergies or sensitivities, you will have no problems here; Nancy asked us immediately if we had any dietary restrictions. She graciously offered us tea or coffee in the evening and we loved sitting on the wide front porch sipping hot beverages while enjoying the gentle rain, cool temperatures, and the peaceful New Hampshire atmosphere. The breakfasts were legendary: mouth-watering stuffed French toast with maple syrup, homemade blueberry scones, freshly cut fruits, and a scrumptious blend of yogurt with cream that melts in the mouth. The following morning Nancy treated us to golden scrambled eggs with fresh vegetables, tasty bacon, her yummy scones, and a heavenly concoction of apples that gave me that delightfully guilty feeling that I've just eaten dessert for breakfast.

Nancy is the perfect hostess. She does not hover, but if you want to chat and she has time, she knows all about the area and will guide her guests to local highlights. She's a wealth of information about a wide range of topics! If you prefer all the bells and whistles of high-end hotels, this delightful B&B is not for you. But if you seek a quiet, personal, welcoming place to spend some time, and like dogs (hers are friendly and funny), you owe it to yourself to see if she has vacancies for your dates. This was our first time at a B&B, and it sure won't be the last time we ring Nancy's doorbell.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Nancy is a treasure. She is a wonderful hostess. Not only did she advise us on local sites and dining, but prepared delicious breakfasts. The room was comfortable and spotless. The grounds well kept, pleasant. As a special treat just for us, Nancy arranged to have a lunar eclipse on a clear and warm evening in September..In New Hampshire! An unforgettable trip. We also enjoyed her 3 beautiful vizslas. We highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarmenMichelleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

A picturesque home with friendly welcoming and helpful host, very comfortable room, great breakfast, lovely views of surrounding landscape. In autumn the maple tree in the field glows scarlet in the sun. Large lawn with chairs is perfect for star gazing on clear nights. Cozy sitting room for reading, or chatting, lots of reading matter on hand. Excellent for dog lovers as three family dogs will give you lots of attention and entertainment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shaker room and loved the views.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kittyroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerHillBB, Owner at Shaker Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Thank you so much - I appreciate your kind words - and certainly appreciated you as my guest! You were terrific - the dogs miss you! Hope to see you again.
Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews