We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
69
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesgracious hostsfull bloomfriendly dogsshirred eggsclassic new englandfarm houseking arthur flourplace to staynancybohanoveraccommodationsherbs
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2015

A picturesque home with friendly welcoming and helpful host, very comfortable room, great breakfast, lovely views of surrounding landscape. In autumn the maple tree in the field glows scarlet in the sun. Large lawn with chairs is perfect for star gazing on clear nights. Cozy sitting room for reading, or chatting, lots of reading matter on hand. Excellent for dog lovers as three family dogs will give you lots of attention and entertainment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shaker room and loved the views.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kittyroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerHillBB, Owner at Shaker Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2015

Thank you so much - I appreciate your kind words - and certainly appreciated you as my guest! You were terrific - the dogs miss you! Hope to see you again.
Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

We booked all 3 rooms and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Nancy was very welcoming and cooked us the most amazing breakfast I've ever had. The house is full of interesting nick nacks and antiques and the verandah over looking the garden was the perfect spot for an early cup of tea. There is a nice swimming beach just 5 minutes away and Nancy recommended an excellent restaurant nearby. The only reason i didn't give it 5 starts was because it was exceptionally hot when we visited and the aircon was quite noisy to have on at night (ceiling fan would have been nice) and because there were a few maintenance items needing doing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Ozi-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

We've been here a few times and have enjoyed our stays. Nancy is a great hostess and makes you feel at home. She has three Viszlers who are very friendly dogs. The yard is expansive and well planted with abundant bird life ranging from nesting phoebes to a soaring kestrel.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cherylsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerHillBB, Owner at Shaker Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Thanks - it means so much that you enjoy yourselves - and the pups! It was great to see you again. Next time we get the banjo out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

My husband and I wanted to escape for a couple of days and chose Shaker Hill B&B as our destination. Our room was clean, pleasant and comfortable. The breakfasts are outstanding and Nancy couldn't be lovelier or more accommodating! Lots to do in the area that is enjoyable and very relaxing. Wonderful! Wonderful!! Don't miss it!

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank 1025kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We got a recommendation from a local: "This place would be much nicer than a standard motel." She was so right, but that was really an understatement -- we thought staying at Shaker Hill B&B was a highlight of our trip to the USA.

The B&B is located in a 200 year old house, so be prepared for a few creaks in the (huge) floorboards and a walk up a flight of stairs to your room. The infrastructure has clearly been updated many times.....our bathroom was small but well-equipped. The wifi was excellent at all times.

And the experience of staying in a lovely old house with flowers blooming in the yard was fantastic. Nancy made us feel like friends, not clients, and was generous with advice on how to visit the best attractions in the area. Her three dogs were enthusiastic and friendly hosts, too....making sure we knew we were prized as guests (and playmates). My only regret was that it was too cool during our visit to sit in the rockers on the porch with a glass of sherry......in the summer that's a thing, for sure.

Breakfast was probably the best we've ever had in a hotel. Freshly-made scones, pancakes with wonderful local maple syrup and inventive egg dishes -- that became a highlight of our day.

I'd actually give this place a "vaut le voyage" rating (in Michelin-speak). It's worth visiting Enfield just to relax and experience the natural beauty, history, and Nancy's warm welcome.

Room Tip: The place has 3 individualized rooms, I believe.....and you can look at them all on their website to pick the one you want.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HK_Observer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShakerHillBB, Owner at Shaker Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2015

Your kind words make it all worth it! I am so happy you enjoyed yourselves - and hope you can return when you can take advantage of the rockers on the porch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews