We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique place with good food and great people”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silver Moon Creperie - CLOSED

Silver Moon Creperie
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Description: Located on N. Mississippi Avenue in Portland, Oregon; we serve sweet & savory crepes, espresso, fresh juice, wines by the glass, local hard cider & beer on tap.
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
271 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A unique place with good food and great people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The food here is unique and good. The conversation is always fantastic. The only thing I would like to see is them accept credit cards.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JillA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Such a treat! Amazing flavor combinations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is an easy place to miss, tucked away in a really small space on a side street in Dover, but if you're in town you have to give it a try. When I was a kid, crepes were these flimsy little pancakes rolled up like enchiladas, and usually stuffed with ice cream. Not at the Silver Moon Creperie!

They serve huge crepes folded into a square, stuffed with amazing flavor combinations like brie and honey, or banana and nutella. They have a whole board of savory crepes to choose from, and then a board of sweet crepes. So good! They also do panini sandwiches.

The owners work the place themselves, and they are really nice, friendly folks. This is a really fun place to visit if you're into interesting food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Unique place... Gotta try iT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our son and daughter-in-law took us into this unlikely eatery right in downtown Dover. We wouldn't have gone without their leading us there, BUT the handmade in front of you crepes of ALL kinds were excellent. There is a bit of a wait due to small seating area and the made to order nature of the place, but it is 100% worth it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pawwap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A fantastic alternative to your standard lunch choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

My employer moved the office location to Dover from Portsmouth this summer. Needless to say, Dover doesn't compare to what Portsmouth has to offer for lunch spots. I Google'd restaurants in Dover one day and came across several reviews for the Silver Moon Creperie and after looking at their menu decided I HAD to check it out.

The savory crepes are a little thicker than what you'd expect but still delish! (Actually fills you up more too). I ordered the turkey, swiss, and tomato and topped it off with some Cholula hot sauce. Mmmm. My co-worker and I also decided to split a sweet crepe for dessert because we just had to try it. We got the bananas and creme crepe and I've seriously never had anything so creamy and delicious! The batter they use on the sweet crepes is a thinner and fluffier texture–what you'd expect from a traditional crepe batter. Very, very good...

Their prices on crepes range from $4 to $9 so it's a budget-friendly meal and rumor has it they have excellent fresh-fresh squeezed juices too although I've yet to try one.

The owners (I believe) who work behind the counter are extremely friendly so it makes the whole trip enjoyable. An extremely small restaurant but they've somehow jammed a bunch of tables in there to accommodate as many customers as possible. Order ahead for take out if it's a weekend brunch/breakfast or weekday lunch you're looking for as it'll likely be busy and it might take a bit to get your food. All in all though...DEFINITELY worth the wait and a must try for this area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kateberry9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Crepes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Very good selection, awesome food, great service.
Go!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnG229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing