We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Conway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eastern Slope Camping Area
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We only stayed for 2 days, but We thought the campground was a great place. Very happy that we were able to bring our dogs :-) Beaches were nice, Beach # 2 we were able to bring the dogs too. Bathrooms were in a great location, pretty close to our site... #22. Sites are a little close together but both sides of us were fine. Would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternSlope, Owner at Eastern Slope Camping Area, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments! We are so glad that you and your dogs had such a nice visit and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    42
    23
    24
    27
See reviews for
112
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Attleboro, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I love this camping area. I went here every year when I was growing up and now that I have my own family, I will keep going here. Everyone I have had contact with has been nothing less than nice, friendly and helpful! It is kept clean and safe and comfortable for all families (whether your children are in bed at 7:30 or 11:30). Love you gus and see you next year!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternSlope, Owner at Eastern Slope Camping Area, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are very proud to continue hosting generations of families and to provide a beautiful place for them to create memories that will last forever. We will see you when you return :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I just got back from this campground and LOVED IT! We have 4 kids (6, 8, 10 & 12) and they can't wait to go back. We are from NS and had camped the week before in Ontario (Sibbald Point-humungo camp sites for each guest btw-if that is your concern) and stopped here on our way home. Weather was fantastic and we loved the size of the beach area. We did the kayaking and the service was great- although my hubby did say the young girl on the counter spoke minimally and was not friendly at all. We chalked it up to it's prob her parents' place and she is being forced to work there for the Summer. lol.
I am not sure what people are talking about with the bathrooms. I have major issues with public toilets and these were SPOTLESS. I cannot say that loud enough. The showers were free, loads of hot water and not a stray hair (sorry to be gross) in sight. My 6 year old had a fit in Ontario (using the Campground's shower) but carefully inspected these, relaxed and got clean. They sang Karoake, went on the hayride, biked around the park, used the playground at length, swam at the beach, used the rope swing to jump in the water in the river, pooled it (my 6 year old and me) and adored it all. Loved Michelle, she was super sweet to us and Alex was friendly, too.
People need to realize that for the amount of investment that you as a customer put out for these campgrounds, you are getting a strong return. It is CAMPING after all. It's not the Ritz. It has loads of good features.
We are tenters and initially were dismayed by the proximity to other campers, but the good stuff definitely outweighed that item.
People need to relax and stop sweating the small stuff. We didn't like the dust either, but we put it in perspective and if you want a BEAUTIFUL area with loads of playground area (not to mention all the sports that you can do with their equipment) you should go here. We went to SACO Family Campground last year, also very good, but can't wait to get back here.
Having said that, we are not complainers and cannot speak to how they handle customer issues.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrookfieldGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternSlope, Owner at Eastern Slope Camping Area, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
First of all, let me thank you for your positive feedback about our camping area. It is so nice to see someone take the time to compliment the many things that we do well. We do welcome any and all feedback as we strive to improve at at every opportunity. We have put a lot of work into our playground and in planning activities for the children. We did implement out own karaoke this year as opposed to bringing someone in from the outside and we think it's going pretty well, glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the nice comments about our bathrooms, it is so difficult to keep them clean with all the sand from the beautiful beaches but we try our best! Also, thank you for the kind words about your staff, we are all very passionate about doing our best to make your stay a memorable one. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I really don't understand the negative reviews. I read them before I booked here but a freind told me that we would like Eastren Slope. We tent camped August 2-5 at Eastren Slope. Yes, our site was not HUGE but it was a good size. We have an 8 man tent and it fit fine and we still had room. The sites are open and not private but we had very nice neighbors and actually didn't find it a problem. We loved the shelter or covering over the picnic table...it was huge. Our site was close to the garbage area and I noticed one reviewer noted how loud it was...it wasn't loud at all and really was not a problem. My children 12 and 9 loved it also. They rode bikes around non stop, we enjoyed the grassy open field and played games there nightly. Our Golden Retriever was welcomed and we found the campground very dog friendly. The bathrooms were clean and well attended. Yes, there three toliets clogged but once the office was told they addressed it immediately. You cannot beat the location. They have two beaches: one is a dog beach and one a non dog beach. Both were wide and very nice. The the river access and the river were wonderful. The boys loved the rope swing!! We also did a canoe trip and enjoyed it very much.....we were able to bring out dog on the shuttle too!! We will go back next year. Oh and the staff was very freindly!!!! Kids activities? We play with our kids and enjoy our family time so we didn't look for any kids activities. Overall a great time had by all!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieNH_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternSlope, Owner at Eastern Slope Camping Area, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, we always love to hear what we are doing to make people happy! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found us very dog friendly, we love dogs here! We fell blessed to live in such a beautiful area and love to share it with as many guests as possible. We are glad that your children had fun with of our activities and happy that you found the office staff helpful and friendly. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Wow I just couldn't believe the negatve reviews..This is camping are peoples expectations to high...So we booked a week to form our own opinions..The positives: the location is perfect, best part of the river...the older women that works in the store is so sweet and the man that drives the firetruck thats where is ends..We picked out a site for a reason it gave alittle extra room between the campers..One day 2 families( about 10) with two huge tents/and a screen house appeared on this non-existing site...I asked the office why and the reason I got was they lost the families reservation and had to put them somewhere..honestly right next to my kids side of the camper, almost under their beds..so much for planning ahead and carefully picking the site. This was not a one time mistake at least three other families had a problem and that was just the people I was chatting with at the park. Michelle just doesn't care she is not in the right kind of PR job.. NO activites for the kids before 700pm and its a firetruckride/candy bar bingo at 7pm really kinda late dont you think/Karaoke and the machine broke after 1 hour I know my daughter went home crying she had waited her turn to sing...The bathrooms are horrible just as a visual my four year old asked why do people go #2 on the floor and it was in every stall. So this would be a great campground if was organized, had activities and was clean...We were in a very quite area but the tent sides where really loud and the playground was very loud until security rode by then became quite the exploded again with kids...Again loved the location but we will be looking somewhere else next year...I can't imagine they will be in business long with the not caring attitudes, overbooking /lossing reservations, and poor general upkeep esp the bathrooms..gross gross gross

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaysprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EasternSlope, Owner at Eastern Slope Camping Area, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback, as we value all our campers’ experiences at Eastern Slope Camping Area. It saddens me to see that as in most cases, only people with negative experiences write reviews, with the exception of several of our loyal happy campers. We serve thousands of happy guests every week of every season as our rebooking rate clearly illustrates. Our location is amazing, and we are so lucky to be here in the Mount Washington Valley! Thank you for the compliments on our staff, they have been passed on to those people. However, we would like to clarify a few things. It’s unfortunate that you were disturbed by people camping next to you, but with all due respect, that property belongs to the campground, and it was not part of your or anyone else’s site. We never claim to have private or secluded campsites, and in cases, sites border at least one other site. This is clear when you look at our map and when you talk to our staff. Michele, one of our office managers works tirelessly with a positive attitude, and is a vital part of this campground, going out of her way to make ALL our guests experiences as positive as humanly possible. . . As for activities, it is unfortunate that you did not partake in any of our many activities which are clearly posted and offered to all our campers, including “Paint Your Own T-Shirts (and bags), paint your own pottery and CAMP camp. We also offer a variety of sports equipment that is free for all to borrow and all of these activities are available all day long. We carefully plan our activities so that most campers will have the chance to participate. Most people have dinner at 6, and there is just so much to enjoy in the area and on the river that most people are out and about earlier in the day. It is also unfortunate that our karaoke equipment experienced a temporary technical difficulty but those things do happen from time to time and fortunately it was quickly repaired and we went on to have a lot more fun singing that night! Yes, the playground is bustling with children laughing and playing, but that is what we intend it for. We do ask that children be on their sites by dark or by 10, to ensure the safety of all. This is a family campground, but there are other places you can go that cater to different age groups and lifestyles. Eastern Slope Camping Area has been loved by generations since 1960, and hundreds of people return with their children and then their grandchildren. The facilities have only been getting better over the years with a great deal of dedication and thousands of hours of hard work. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Conway hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Conway hotels
4.6 km away
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
0.1 km away
Scenic Inn of Conway
Scenic Inn of Conway
#21 of 29 in Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
5.4 km away
The Yankee Clipper Inn
The Yankee Clipper Inn
#20 of 24 in North Conway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
7.5 km away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#2 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Slope Camping Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Slope Camping Area

Property: Eastern Slope Camping Area
Address: 584 White Mountain Hwy, Po Box 1127, Conway, NH 03818-4205
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Conway
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Conway
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family camping in the heart of the Mount Washington Valley, Eastern Slope Camping Area is a great choice for your next camping vacation. Whether you have a tent, pop-up, Class A Motorhome, or travel trailer, we have a place for you. Many sites feature full hook ups with water, electric, sewer, and cable. Come in the spring and summer and enjoy our two beaches, heated pool, updated playground, huge soccer field, and much more! In the fall, you have to come up and see the beautiful fall foliage and stay close to the Fryeburg Fair in October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eastern Slope Camping Area Hotel Conway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing