We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
11
8
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
8
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2016

The room were a gem inside, clean and cozy. Randi was warm and welcoming and helped us out with pillows and a parking spot for our camper. It's a nice place to stay and a good mom and pop business to support.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vern G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Mom & pop kind of hotel on the end of town (about 3/4 mile to the boardwalk). Owners were incredibly nice and friendly! Room was very cute--antique furniture, comfortable bed, felt somewhat authentic with creaks in the floor, lacy curtains. As other reviewers have commented, there are thin walls, so you might hear the baby next door crying into the night like we did. One big con for us was no hot water. The folks in the room next door had none either. Hopefully just a fluke! The good news was the room had a nice heater to stand in front of when you hopped out of the freezing shower! All being said, $60 on a Saturday night is a great deal, and we would probably go back, once the memory of the cold shower has faded! Put a little adventure in your Virginia City visit!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YbarraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Went in with reasonably low expectations, and left pleasantly surprised.

Pluses ...
- Owners are pleasant and friendly.
- Room was clean, quite spacious and quaintly decorated.
- The fireplace in room #5 is a nice touch, and can be operated with or without heat for ambiance
- Parking was right outside our unit's door.
- Quiet location
- Large king bed

Minus ...
- bed wasn't the most comfortable, but the pillows were excellent. I know these folks are owner/operators on a budget (she even cleans the rooms herself), so perhaps egg-carton mattress toppers might be an alternative to add comfort without the expense of new mattresses?

- walls are a bit thin, but our neighbors were quiet so it wasn't a problem

- a bit of a walk to downtown Virginia City -- .4 mile to Cafe Del Rio (nearest restaurant); .6 mile to southern most shops; .8 mile to center of town. We like to walk, so it wasn't a problem for us, but would've been nice to be in the heart of town. Street lights do end a few blocks before reaching the Comstock, so be prepared if you're walking at night (we used our phone flashlights and were fine.)

TIPS: Don't expect anything fancy (such as in room photos and wifi -- although we were told you can get wifi if you're near the front office), and cell coverage is sketchy - but you'll find that throughout Virginia City. Ask for a hair dryer at check-in if you think you'll need one, as they don't come standard in rooms.

Aside from that, can't really complain. Great value for the price ($60 on a Saturday night). Would definitely recommend the Comstock and stay there again.

Room Tip: Room #5 is the only one with a fireplace
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

The Comstock Lodge is a little bit outside the main part of Virginia City, but quiet and a hidden treasure. I stayed in room 11 which features a gorgeous king size 4-poster bed and the mattress was nice and firm - unbelievable! Unheard of! But true.
The room is large and appointed with beautiful antique-looking furniture: a real dresser, a writing table, a side table, bentwood rocking chair, and two sitting room chairs in the main room and another chair in the closet alcove.
Real bath towels in the bathroom, beautiful large lamps, a small coffeemaker, a television, and everything is clean as a whistle.
This is THE place to choose for comfort and cleanliness as well as a visit back to a time when hotels were like home away from home.
The Comstock Lodge will be my first choice of where to stay from now on. I only regret forgetting to leave a tip, so I have to come back and remedy that!

Room Tip: Parking is a challenge so if you have a large vehicle, it might block other vehicles from pulling through to leave. Taking a shower might be challenging, as the shower valve in the faucet didn't work so well. Also, shower early in the morning or later in the afternoon for the best hot water. I showered at around 9am and the water was tepid at best. The views are "eh". Overall this is the best place I've stayed at compared to anywhere else in town for the price.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We loved it here. there were wild horses roaming when we first got there, Bob and Randi treat their guests like family and did everything they could to make us comfortable. It was the best sleep we got our whole 6 day trip. In fact we loved it so much after leaving and going back to Reno for a night we decided to extend our trip an extra night and come back to the Comstock for our last night in Nevada. It is charming and feels personal. Not the place to stay if you want a modern hotel. It's laid back charm fits the area. Love this place and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martnela1lng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews