We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find-- welcoming and clean”
Review of Comstock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Comstock Lodge
Reviewed 11 November 2016

A really nice, really clean place with lots of love from the owners. Randi went out of her way to get my room in order and cleaned every little corner. She was a woman of great grace and love, shown by the affection she extended to a little boy staying in one of the other rooms, affection shown to the stray orange tabby cat who found his way to the motel (but was NOT allowed in the rooms), and the care evident in each of the rooms. The whole family helped me plan my travel itinerary. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank margery p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2016

The room were a gem inside, clean and cozy. Randi was warm and welcoming and helped us out with pillows and a parking spot for our camper. It's a nice place to stay and a good mom and pop business to support.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Thank Vern G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Mom & pop kind of hotel on the end of town (about 3/4 mile to the boardwalk). Owners were incredibly nice and friendly! Room was very cute--antique furniture, comfortable bed, felt somewhat authentic with creaks in the floor, lacy curtains. As other reviewers have commented, there are thin walls, so you might hear the baby next door crying into the night like we did. One big con for us was no hot water. The folks in the room next door had none either. Hopefully just a fluke! The good news was the room had a nice heater to stand in front of when you hopped out of the freezing shower! All being said, $60 on a Saturday night is a great deal, and we would probably go back, once the memory of the cold shower has faded! Put a little adventure in your Virginia City visit!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YbarraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Went in with reasonably low expectations, and left pleasantly surprised.

Pluses ...
- Owners are pleasant and friendly.
- Room was clean, quite spacious and quaintly decorated.
- The fireplace in room #5 is a nice touch, and can be operated with or without heat for ambiance
- Parking was right outside our unit's door.
- Quiet location
- Large king bed

Minus ...
- bed wasn't the most comfortable, but the pillows were excellent. I know these folks are owner/operators on a budget (she even cleans the rooms herself), so perhaps egg-carton mattress toppers might be an alternative to add comfort without the expense of new mattresses?

- walls are a bit thin, but our neighbors were quiet so it wasn't a problem

- a bit of a walk to downtown Virginia City -- .4 mile to Cafe Del Rio (nearest restaurant); .6 mile to southern most shops; .8 mile to center of town. We like to walk, so it wasn't a problem for us, but would've been nice to be in the heart of town. Street lights do end a few blocks before reaching the Comstock, so be prepared if you're walking at night (we used our phone flashlights and were fine.)

TIPS: Don't expect anything fancy (such as in room photos and wifi -- although we were told you can get wifi if you're near the front office), and cell coverage is sketchy - but you'll find that throughout Virginia City. Ask for a hair dryer at check-in if you think you'll need one, as they don't come standard in rooms.

Aside from that, can't really complain. Great value for the price ($60 on a Saturday night). Would definitely recommend the Comstock and stay there again.

Room Tip: Room #5 is the only one with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2014

The Comstock Lodge is a little bit outside the main part of Virginia City, but quiet and a hidden treasure. I stayed in room 11 which features a gorgeous king size 4-poster bed and the mattress was nice and firm - unbelievable! Unheard of! But true.
The room is large and appointed with beautiful antique-looking furniture: a real dresser, a writing table, a side table, bentwood rocking chair, and two sitting room chairs in the main room and another chair in the closet alcove.
Real bath towels in the bathroom, beautiful large lamps, a small coffeemaker, a television, and everything is clean as a whistle.
This is THE place to choose for comfort and cleanliness as well as a visit back to a time when hotels were like home away from home.
The Comstock Lodge will be my first choice of where to stay from now on. I only regret forgetting to leave a tip, so I have to come back and remedy that!

Room Tip: Parking is a challenge so if you have a large vehicle, it might block other vehicles from pulling th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia City hotels
0.2 km away
Virginia City Inn
Virginia City Inn
#1 of 5 in Virginia City
69 reviews
0.6 km away
Sugarloaf Mountain Motel & Market
0.7 km away
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
Edith Palmer's Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Virginia City
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Gold Hill Hotel
Gold Hill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Virginia City
186 reviews
1.5 km away
Silverland Inn & Suites
Silverland Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Virginia City
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comstock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comstock Lodge

Address: 875 South C St, Virginia City, NV 89440
Region: United States > Nevada > Virginia City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Virginia City
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Comstock Hotel Virginia City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing