We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one of the better Best Westerns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Minden
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not one of the better Best Westerns”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We picked this Best Western because I have the rewards card and there is one in Grass Valley I really like. This one could not compare! When we arrived, the clerk was basically just performing her job. The hotel was under construction, but none was going on when we checked in at about 5pm. It was pretty neat on the outside though, even though there were a few plastic covered mattresses stacked outside. We could see that our door was newly painted, so they had been in there. We went in, the AC had been turned on (it was about 95 outside), but wasn't cold, so we decided to go to dinner. When we came back, the AC hadn't changed, and it was noisy. We did not complain, as we were tired. The only thing that saved us was that it was a corner room and had cross-ventilating window which gave us a nice breeze and allowed us to sleep. I didn't have any problems with the mattress, but my husband, who is very skin and smell sensitive, complained that the bed was uncomfortable (it really did look like they had hurriedly put on a sheet with nothing underneath), and didn't seem washed. I understand about the continental breakfasts, but this one was definitely under par for my tastes! Very poor selection, and not really kept up. We grabbed a cup of coffee and left, and we will not be back!

Room Tip: Corner room upstairs provided nice breeze at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDBoardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    21
    14
    13
    12
See reviews for
21
11
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Booked two nights going on fishing trip and one night coming back.
The location was perfect and the accommodations were great.(micro and refri in room)
Room was large and convenient for walking our dog.
Great location for dining out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccardnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed here only for one night on the way from Yosemite to Lake Tahoe. The hotel is located just outside the town of Minden and a 15-minute drive from Carson City, where we went for dinner. We were expecting nothing in particular, but were pleasantly surprised. We received a room upstairs which was very spacious and clean. The air-con was quiter than in some five star hotels. The only minor negatives were the not-too-friendly check-in desk staff and the minimal complimentary breakfast. For the low price we paid, though, this was ok, although we have seen better breakfasts in other BW's.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
418 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

stayed one night during the week. front desk very courteous. room nice and clean, beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows to choose from. free wifi easy to connect to. can hear plumbing from adjacent rooms and walking from upstairs but nobody during our stay was noisy. location close enough to gas stations and restaurant choices within 3 or so miles. tucked in one block from highway 395 but not noisy. the complimentary breakfast consisted of cereal, hard-boiled eggs, toast/english muffins, danish, make your own waffles along with coffee, whole and skim mild as well as OJ and apple juice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flashncrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Immaculate, comfortable, HUGE room.
Registration desk staffed 24 hours.
Nice grassy park and beautiful neighborhood to walk with pooch.
Very conveniently located right near the 395/88 interchange, and just south of the Kingsbury Grade cutoff to South Lake Tahoe.
Staggeringly good complimentary breakfasts, including a make-your-own-waffle station.

What more could you ask for? We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room on end near park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melaquelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
1.4 km away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
233 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
3.8 km away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#6 of 6 in Gardnerville
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 km away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
316 reviews
4.9 km away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
36.1 km away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 1795 Ironwood Dr, Minden, NV 89423-4704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,525 - ₹ 10,731
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® & Suites in Minden, NV is located in beautiful Carson Valley – historically the staging arena for adventurers as they prepared to cross the high mountain passes on their way to the gold fields of California. This hotel offers easy access to Carson Valley Museum and Cultural Center and Western Nevada College and a host of outdoor activities including water skiing, snowmobiling, parasailing, hiking, fishing and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Minden
Minden Best Western
Quality Inn & Suites Minden/Lake Tahoe (Nevada), NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing