We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveler with Dog” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Traveler with Dog”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Am not sure how to word this review. The employees are wonderful. Having a place to stya with my dog ($100 refundable deposit required) is priceless. There are areas to walk the dogs and they even provide some pretty upscale poop bags free of charge.
The back end of the casino along the river is wonderfully kept and the river walk is well worth the time in the cool of the morning or late at night.
I find the slots the loosest in the are except Gilligans. The breakfast buffet had the fattest sausages and finest strips of bacon around. The eggs were a bit runny, but I could have had an omelet. Fruits of many kinds, including my loved prunes, and the most delicious corn muffins with cheese in them ( I think it was cheese)
However, the rooms I have stayed in, often complimentary are desperately in need of remodeling and carpet cleaning. I stayed one night without my dog and chose a deluxe room close to the pool and found it no different except the carpet was a bit cleaner.
This is an old time and maybe past its prime casino and hotel, but then I have never stayed in the suites, etc. Would I keep going there, even when shopping in Bullhead City? Yes. This place has some good specials starting on Thursdays in the restaurant and that is the night for karaoke in the riverside bar. The people are so friendly as employees. I love the ease of getting to my room without having to park in a ramp and walking back and through the casino.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    105
    76
    58
    79
See reviews for
88
158
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

we had an amazing time at the pioneer hotel! the food in the fine dining restaurant was exceptional and the decor was great! The hotel and accomodations were clean and very nice. We had a blast singing karaoke in the bar til the wee hours of the morning. My husband loved the river view from our room and the ducks floating down and flyig up! Check it out!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have stayed at pioneer about 5 times now. We take a ground floor room as we can then take in our plug in cooler without having to climb stairs. There reward programme is really good. Ground floor isn't always the quietest room, if noisy people are above you, but the rooms are clean, and the beds are very comfortable.
The service at Pioneer is the best. It is very friendly and helpful.
On the downside the Casino is very heavy with smoke due to low ceilings. However, if you are there to gamble, you get your money's worth. Older style with coins is fun.

Room Tip: River view is the best. The river walk is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed at the Pioneer during my first trip to Laughlin...happened to be wheelchair-bound at the time due to a snowboarding accident so I booked a handicapped suite. It was perfect! Plenty of room in the suite and the staff were extremely helpful. The views of the river and the all out hospitality throughout the property were superb. Will definitely be back at the Pioneer whenever I may return to Laughlin for a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weidna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Right on the banks of the Colorado River and the pretty waterfront walkway connecting most hotels & resorts, this property is indeed a time warp. Following a 1800's gambling hall - old west theme, it certainly is pretty basic (bring your own hairdryer) yet clean and the folks are mighty friendly. We had a large ground floor room river facing and surprisingly it was not noisey at night. Granted the Pioneer isn't the liveliest of casinos which in this instance was a good thing. Plenty to do in the area and we walked river walkway to pm shows at other casinos & restaurants. Weather permitting we would have taken advantage of some of the river boat rides/excursions...you can even take a water taxi to other hotels. Sure, the 1960's double vanity could have been updated but balance of large bathroom was more than adequate and modernized. Oddly, the huge closet (?) only had three coat hangers. Oversized room with round table & chairs plus a sofa and the TV/Cable was fairly new as was the cabinet in which it was housed in. A solid value.

Room Tip: River front the only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FalWetVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.3 km away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
0.9 km away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
0.4 km away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Lodge on the River
Lodge on the River
#3 of 14 in Bullhead City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.3 km away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,612 reviews
0.7 km away
Edgewater Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Property: Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Address: 2200 S. Casino Drive, Laughlin, NV 89029
Region: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laughlin
#11 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,508 - ₹ 5,004
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with an Old Western theme located right on the historic Colorado River. The Pioneer has earned its well-known reputation as the "Friendliest House on the River". At the Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall, our Guestrooms are being refurbished, and new amenities have been added to our guestrooms....complimentary bottled water, complimentary in-room coffee, and upon request, iron with ironing boards, and mini-refrigerators Our Pet Rooms are all tiled floor. Great Friendly Services, and lots of activities to do in Laughlin, NV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel And Gambling Hall
Pioneer Hotel Gambling Hall
Pioneer Laughlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing