We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Horrible Experiences in a Row -- 1 Year Apart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Las Vegas
Ranked #39 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Provo, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two Horrible Experiences in a Row -- 1 Year Apart”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I never write reviews, but had to share this experience for the unwary. I have been a member of Hilton Honors for a number of years and travel a lot for work and leisure. I have tried to be loyal to Hilton because they are typically customer friendly and a good value. In traveling through Vegas, I have found the Swenson Street Embassy Suites to be a really good value, and off the strip, which is great for young families like mine. In 2011, having been at the hotel on 8 different trips over a year and a half period, I had made a reservation for my family to stay again. We were stuck in LA traffic on the way to Vegas so we called at about 4:00 pm to inform the staff that we'd be arriving late. I asked if that would cause any problems and was told it wouldn't because we had prepaid (non-refundable) and our room was confirmed. When we arrived at 10:00 pm, the front desk clerk told me that they had given away the 2 bed suite and that we'd have to stay in the one-bed suite. She said she knew that meant that my wife and I and 4 small children would share one bed and 1 hide-a-bed, but there was nothing she could do because were late. Then she said, "There's another problem. We don't have any more pillows or blankets, either." I reminded her that we had called to confirm our late arrival and she was not impressed. Eventually, the staff rounded up one more pillow -- giving us 3 pillows for the six of us.

In February, I decided to give this hotel one more chance. Again -- it is a great value, the breakfast is wonderful, and the location is fantastic. We booked two nights separated by 4 days for the end of May 2012. The first night, I was delayed by traffic and called again. The desk clerk said "You don't need to call, sir. You have a prepaid, confirmed reservation. We look forward to seeing you later tonight." When we arrived, everything was great. On check out, the desk manager said, "We'll see you in four days!"

Four days later, we were delayed in LA traffic, again. We called at 4:00 pm. and told the front desk we were on our way and would not arrive until after 11:00 pm. The clerk said, don't worry, you're confirmed, see you tonight. At 11:15 pm I walked into the lobby. The lobby was empty except for the night time clerk and the security guard. I introduced myself. The clerk said, "Do you want the good news or the bad news?" Then said, "The good news is you are staying in Vegas tonight on us. The bad news is you're not staying here. We gave your room away." I asked why they gave away the room when we had called seven hour earlier. The security guard said, "You have to understand their position, a bird in the hand is worth 2 in the bush, like they say." The clerk didn't believe I'd called -- he asked who I spoke to. As I went to answer he said, it didn't matter anyway, the room was gone and he was sending us to the other Embassy Suites on the strip. He said, "I actually think it's a much nicer property, anyway." Then he called to see if they had a room available. He hadn't checked before, and if they'd been full, there was no apparent back-up plan. I'd have just been driving.

The fortunate reality is that the other Embassy Suites' Staff IS much nicer. They went above and beyond to apologize on behalf of the other property. In fact, when I called Hilton to ask why this happened 2 trips in a row, I was told that the Swenson Street property does this much more often than any other hotel in the chain. They told me that I'd receive a call from the property manager to apologize within 4 days. 3 days later, the customer service rep emailed to tell me that the manager reported he had called me and that he had apologized and told me how they'd make it right. The problem is that the property manager has never called and spoken to me at all.

If I stay at Hilton in Vegas again, it will be at the convention center Embassy Suites, not Swenson Street.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JK74604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    413
    165
    65
    41
See reviews for
424
259
37
404
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Words cannot even begin to describe how awesome the staff is at this property! My pre-arrival expectations were completely blown out of the water once I checked in. Every single staff member I met went above and beyond to accommodate our needs and were happy to help out with whatever we needed! I have stayed in lots of other Hiltons and this is THE best service I have ever gotten at any property. The management is to be commended on the terrific selection of employees, careful training, and superb motivation! It doesn't matter that this hotel is a mile off the Vegas strip, I am staying here every time I come back. Thank you so much for a perfect vacation and I would especially like to thank Jason at the front desk for being such a great person to just talk and joke with as well as Phil and the others (I wish i remembered their names). Would I recommend this hotel to others? Hell yes!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarbaugh0516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brew city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My daughter and I arrived early and was still allowed to check into our room which was really nice after our flight. The room was comfortable and clean as was expected. The breakfast was better at this location in comparison to the other Embassy suites we've stayed. My biggest issue was the shuttle! It has a very limited schedule (that should be mentioned on their site!). When it's not running it's parked in the lot right at the entrance! huh??...Also, when I checked in I was told I could stay past check out up til 2:00 and pay half for the day or pay full price after 2pm...The morning of checkout I was rudely told by the front desk guy that whomever told me that was wrong and that if I stayed past noon I would have to pay full price. So we had to wait in the lobby until the shuttle ran again then unfortunately spent the next 7 HOURS at the airport!! Not saying it's all the Embassy's fault but the front desk guy could've been more reasonable.....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank s l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connorysh, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Las Vegas, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Embassy Suites Las Vegas. We are sorry that your entire experience was not a positive one. We have addressed the people who caused those challenges that resulted in your inconvenience.

We hope to see you back with us soon so you can experience the great service we are capable of delivering

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I was in Las Vegas for a three day meeting at thi shotel. Had it not been Las Vegas, the trip woudl have been rather disappointing. The hotel is very near the airport - which is convenient, but also can be VERY noisy when the planes use some flight paths. The first morning of the meeting, in the meeting room, the plane takeoff noise was a bother. At night it was also a problem.
The morning breakfast was OK but served in a rather disultry fashion, almost like "Why are you bothering me?" Als, there was not too much else other than eggs, bacon and sausage. The evening "Manager's cocktails" was pathetic.
The rooms are fine, roomy and nicely equipped.
My real problem was the desk staff on Sunday - my arrival day. I had to wait a long time to check in because there was only on person on the desk, and he was taking new reservations, answering phone calls and trying to check in people. all at the same time. At one point he spent quite a long time giving a person driving directiosn to the hotel from somewhere outside the city. Secondly, my spouse tried to call me about 20 times concerning a matter (I was having trouble with my cell phone battery) - and nobody answered the phone, or put her on hold and then never returned - the same 1 person on the desk problem. (She did finally get through). I mentioned it to the person on the desk the next morning - she said simply that there were 2 people scheduled to be working on Sunday. Bottom line - this hotel is not up to the standard of the chain.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have stayed at the Embassy Suites several times over the past few years when I have business meetings at UNLV. It is literally across the street from the campus which means it only takes 5 minutes by car and I'm there. The front desk staff are always very nice no matter what time of night I arrive. There is a manager's reception, but honestly I usually get in too late to enjoy it so I can't comment on it. The free cook-to-order breakfast is amazing, and one of the reasons why I keep coming back. Great variety, and the eating area is never so crowded that I don't get a seat. I haven't used the pool, but there is a business center where you can print boarding passes. The lobby is lovely and has two beautiful swans. The rooms are all suites so you get two rooms for the price. One room has couches and a nice desk for working. I used to get free wifi as a preferred Hilton member, but now that I have lost my elevated status, I had to pay for it on this trip but it was only $4.99 for up to a week - very reasonable considering what I usually pay in most hotels! The other room has a king bed (I only come for business so I don't get a double room) and another TV. There is also a refridgerator, large sink and coffee maker in between the rooms. Bathroom is nice, has shampoo, conditioner and lotion, and the water pressure is good. Rooms are usually clean and stocked. Free bottles of water are included as well.

The only reason why I don't give this little gem 5 stars is for two nit-picky reasons. First, with the fridge and AC unit situated close to the room with the bed, it can be a bit loud in the room at night. Plus on this trip, I was placed next to the elevator which is also noisy. But I always carry ear plugs when I travel so not a big deal. (The rooms on the top floor are much quieter, but usually reserved for premier Hilton members. Ask if you can get one when you check in - it's worth it.) The other thing is that while the location is great for working at UNLV and is only 10 minutes from the airport, everything else is at least one long block away, including restaurants. As a woman who travels alone, i don't feel comfortable walking alone at night anywhere, so I always have to get in the rental and drive somewhere to get dinner. It would be 5 stars if there were some eating options right next door. There is a free shuttle to the LV strip that leaves once an hour, but I always seem to just miss it and end up driving everywhere.

I do see families staying here, and I imagine it's very convenient having an extra room for luggage and hanging out. There is no casino so it would also be a nice place for a family to get away from all of the noise of the strip. Most of the people usually are obvious business folk who are looking for something away from the strip. The hotel offers a government rate, which is nice, and if you want to stay somewhere without a casino, this is a wonderful choice and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the top floor room for a quiter stay. Ask to be away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Hyatt Place Las Vegas
#70 of 263 in Las Vegas
765 reviews
The Strip
Residence Inn Las Vegas Hughes Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#28 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,065 reviews
Candlewood Suites Las Vegas
#79 of 263 in Las Vegas
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Las Vegas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Las Vegas

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Las Vegas
Address: 4315 Swenson St, Las Vegas, NV 89119-6736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#32 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#56 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#68 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,793 - ₹ 14,362
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Las Vegas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atrium-style all-suite hotel situated 1 mile east of The Strip and 1 mile north of McCarran International Airport. Enjoy warm hospitality and a refreshing stay at the Embassy Suites Las Vegas hotel. Our hotel is across the street from the University of Nevada Las Vegas, Cox Pavilion and the Hard Rock Casino. The Las Vegas Convention Center and famous Las Vegas Strip are within walking distance of the hotel. Enjoy style and sophistication in a spacious two-room suite, host a meeting in our 6,000 sq. Ft. Meeting space, work out in the fitness center or relax in the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Las Vegas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Las Vegas Airport Hotel Las Vegas
Las Vegas Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing