We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now One of The Best Downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plaza Hotel & Casino
Ranked #108 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Now One of The Best Downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I've stayed at this hotel maybe 10 times or so since the 90s, but this was my first visit since the renovation. The hotel was really in need of a facelift, and the results are for the most part very satisfactory. The new furniture looks great and the bed felt real good (firm). The bathrooms were always small and still are, I guess that's the only negative thing I have to say. But other than the small bathroom, the rooms are pretty large.

My buddy and I stayed on the 18th floor of the North Tower. This is the original tower opened in 1970 or 1971. The South Tower was opened in the mid 80s I think. We didn't have any noise problems. I didn't use the WiFi but my buddy did and he said it was fine.

The upgrades makes the Plaza probably my top hotel choice downtown, with the possible exception of the Golden Nugget. The bang for the buck can't be beat. We paid $50 a night for 2 nights which included a $50 dining credit at Oscar's Steakhouse. You just can't beat the value at the Plaza, and now the rooms are all cherried out. We could have stayed the better part of a week but we had to go back to reality after 2 nights. But we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: If you pay a little more you can get a view of the action on Fremont Street. If you're a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichaelMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
It’s always exciting to hear from guests that have stayed with us before the renovation! We appreciate your kind words, making us one of your top choices for Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    1,384
    883
    446
    412
See reviews for
891
1,450
385
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

The valet parking at this hotel is an oxymoron. You had to walk the entire length of the
casino to pick up your car. Upon return you still had to walk the same distance to return
to the main lobby. Also the the rooms have been spruced up but the bathroom door was
dirty.

Room Tip: Do some research before booking any hotel in downtown Las Vegas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lefty3195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered regarding our valet. Unfortunately we can’t utilize the dome area 24 hours a day due to the fact the area is not big enough, it would create congestion on Main Street. With that being said, we do try to accommodate our guests by opening the dome after 5pm to assist with Oscar’s and Simpatico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Las Vegas hotels

Vandalia, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

I was nervous after reading the reviews. The reviews are spot on with everything being said true but the good outweighs the bad. The rooms are huge and nice. We stayed on the 15th floor South. Very quite. The walls are thin and the doors shut loudly but nothing you can't live with. You can hear people talking, but can't make out what they are saying. The bathroom is small with no closets, but plenty of storage in the drawers. The toilet and sink are separated so it is relatively easy for two people to get ready together. Everything worked great in my room, including the safe. Beds are comfortable. Everyone keeps posting there are only sheets on the bed. We actually had two sheets, with a thinner blanket which was perfect to sleep comfortable. We asked housekeeping for extra pillows and an iron board via a note when they cleaned the room, and they were there on our return. Maybe we were just lucky but the ice machine on our floor worked as well. Many reviewers posted about the perfume smell in the casino. It is definitley there, but once again not anything that is overpowering. If I was supersensitive to colognes might reconsider as it is there. The front desk staff overall was very nice, only one rude one the entire time. We never seen lines at the front desk our entire stay. The location was great! I usually stay on the strip, but was with relatives. I am 50, so I was pretty pleased. If I was younger probably would prefer the strip as more to do. There are dancing girls in the casino in front of the swinger's club so if this offends you then beware. The dueling piano guys in the swinger's club are awesome. We ate at the Hash House a go go, Sushi Bar, and McDonald's. Food was good with portion sizes large. The portions at Hash House are huge with the prices moderate but overall a good value. The best place to eat is the Brewery at Main Street Station next door. Large beers are 395, and most dinners run from 10 - 15 dollars. Didn't win in the casino but was able to get my room comped. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I can not say anything about the North Tower as we did not stay there, but South Tower on 15th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stringbean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for the positive comments. I am glad your family decided to stay at the Plaza, everyone should experience downtown, at least once.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We decided to stay at the Plaza after reading alot of mixed reviews. I thought it was fantastic! We stayed in room 1414 - It was roomy & clean. The bathroom is very small so if you have a need for big bathrooms this isn't the place for you. You would not want this room if you are planning on going to bed before 1 or 2 in the morning because of the noise from the band on Fremont street (didn't bother us) and the front desk did let us know about the noise when we checked in. Lots of other rooms that don't face Fremont Street. We were also able to get an early check in. The bell desk was great in helping us with information about different places we wanted to go shopping etc. Would definitly recommend the Plaza to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaBest, Manager at Plaza Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your praises regarding our bell staff I will be sure to pass it along. We also greatly appreciate you recommending The Plaza to your friends and family. As for the Fremont Street noise in most cases guests can only hear it from the Hotels North tower so if a person is a light sleeper we recommend the South tower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were among those who stayed at the Plaza right after its reopening last year and had an unhappy experience (lots of kinks to be worked out). A year later and with a weekend to fill, we gave it a whirl again. Things went much better. We arrived on a Thursday braced for a line-up at check-in, but only one person ahead of us. Our room in the south tower was clean, very spacious, with new linens and furnishings. The bathroom is split into tub/toilet in a very tight space, and outer, larger sink and clothes hanging area. There was no noise from adjoining rooms which was a problem for us in other hotels this trip. There is a gym for guests, and the pool area isn't fancy but adequate. Our one problem was the noise from Fremont Street which we faced and a bandstand right across the street from the Plaza. We didn't mind during the evening but it didn't end till 2 am and that got annoying.
This is a place we would return for a short stay with a quieter room location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finnie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
El Cortez Hotel & Casino
#99 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Golden Gate Hotel & Casino
#128 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#107 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#102 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel & Casino

Property: Plaza Hotel & Casino
Address: 1 S Main St, (previously known as the Union Plaza), Las Vegas, NV 89101-6370
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#54 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,076 - ₹ 11,913
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the culturally diverse Downtown Las Vegas, the Plaza offers over 1,000 newly renovated guest rooms, casino, race & sports book, bingo hall, entertainment, five bars and a variety of eight dining options, including our signature glass-dome restaurant, Oscar's, overlooking Fremont Street and a food court offering quick and value-driven meal options. The Fremont Street Experience is a pedestrian mall offering a collection of casinos, dining, bars, attractions and free entertainment - all just outside our front door. Additional dining, attractions and outlet shopping mall are within walking or a short distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Plaza Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel And Casino
Plaza Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing