We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel tropicana in Las Vegas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
Ranked #103 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Very clean and relax in comparison to the other hotels in the area. The only bad thing is that the pool closes early and the gym also, around 8:00PM. Very nice staff overall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (12,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,827 - 7,831 of 12,126 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

A light and airy casino compared to some of the others, so it was a nicer place to work around, than for example, Planet Hollywood. Had a family / relaxed feel. The Italian restaurant had nice food and really good coffee. The Cafe was surprisingly good - had a few meals here and was not disappointed. At one end of the strip but close to the bus which is the easiest way to get around. Room was ok. Well worth a look for an affordable option. Had wi-fi but it was hard to get a good signal.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank holidayhunter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoyed our more relaxing atmosphere. I do apologize over the WiFi signal challenges and we are currently working on this.
Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Check in at this hotel took nearly half an hour but apparently that is fairly standard at any hotel in Vegas so we were prepared for this. When my partner was here September 2011 he was placed in a very noisy room and was given earplugs by the receptionist at that time. As his room was facing a pool party, all he had was noise all weekend. Upon check out he was informed by the receptionist (can't remember his/her name) that if he returned to the Tropicana within a year he would be provided with a free upgrade and that it would be noted on the system. Well, we checked in on June 29, 2012 (less than a year later) and inquired about this so called upgrade. But according to the current receptionist there was nothing noted in the system and so there was no upgrade.

We had room 1858 which faced out onto the airport and so was rather noisy first thing in the morning when planes were getting ready to take off. The room was spacious and relatively clean. My biggest whinge would be the fact that there was no fridge and no kettle. Therefore, one had no cold drinks or access to tea or coffee making facilities. Yes, there was an ice machine and a vending machine somewhere down the hall but who wants to trudge down there in the middle of the night when all you want is a sip of a cold drink to quench one's parched throat. Also, there was no slippers.

The bathroom was generally clean but there was mould in some areas of the grout. There was also areas where grout was missing in between the bathroom tiles. But in the scheme of things this is minor. The toilet paper was only 2ply and fairly rough to use. No shower caps which is standard in 3stars-5stars hotel.

Our room did not get cleaned on the third day and one morning the lights and extractor in the bathroom turned off while I was in the shower. We called maintenance and they fixed it immediately. However, the lights went out again a few days later while I was using the bathroom and as it was 4th of July, they could not fix it as there were no engineers or maintenance personnel. So, they decided to move us. Bianca told us to wait 1and a half hours to get a room cleaned and ready for us to move into. Two hours had passed and no phone call from reception to let us know if the room was ready. So, I rang again and this time Bianca told me that it was already ready. Why hadn't she called to let us know as soon as it was ready? She told me she would send someone up for the new room keys. We waited 15mins and no one appeared with the room keys. So, my partner rang Bianca again and she said she would send someone up. A few minutes later there was a knock on the door, we thought it was someone with the room keys but it was the housekeeping manager. She wanted to know why we hadn't changed rooms and we told her we haven't received the room keys. So, she rang Bianca and inquired about it. Finally, the housekeeping manager took us to the new room and let us in. We waited another 10mins before someone finally came up with the new room keys. All up we waited over two and a half hours just to change rooms because the bathroom/toilet lights and extractor went out and no one could turn on the switch outside. Ridiculous!

I know that everyone has to pay a resort fee but when we didn't use the pool or any other facilities you begin to wonder why one should pay this fee. Why can't wifi be provided free? A lot of 4 stars-5stars hotel I've stayed in Europe, Asia and South Africa have provided free Wifi.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room away from the airport side and away from the pool parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aitenshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for any confusion over the upgrade. This is something that we would have had to have done at the time you made your reservation to ensure availability and the upgrade. We do offer a fridge and coffee makers for the rooms, simply let us know and we can have one sent up. These do come standard in the suites. We recognize the challenge with the bathrooms and we are correcting this in each and every room. I also apologize over the challenges with the lights and we have corrected the challenge.
Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely stay:) We got a clean and big room with a view over the airport. All though Vegas is quite loud the room was quiet. The poolarea is fantastic! You can easily spend hours there:) The location of the hotel was good too, in a walking distance to almost everything:) Would love to stay here again:)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad we were able to exceed you expectations.
Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Leaving everything with valet and moving on to check-in we were in our room almost an hour before the bellman came up. Which we paid both of them very well I'll add!! The next morning my $175.00 GHD flat iron and a $50.00 curling iron is missing, giving them them the benefit of the doubt my husband went to our car to check well not there! When we approached them about they got very defensive oh why did you wait so long UGH!!! Also carts lined the walkway outside filled with peoples belongings and valet and bellman no where around oh maybe inside or in the storage room but who is watching this stuff there is people everywhere!! Bottom line filled out a report and its my word against theirs no compensation what so ever. Also the cafe restaurant was horrible food. My husbands dinner was so salty he almost couldn't eat it and we like salt! Breakfast the next morning was just as bad the corned beef hash couldn't be eaten by the 2 people who ordered it, and the waiter was like ah sorry then the manager came by and had a really bad attitude! Customer service not so much here I'll pass on this hotel to many places in Vegas with good customer service

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback and I apologize over missing items. It is always important to report missing items/bags ASAP. If they had fallen or been missed during transport they are easier to located right away then a day later. We do have security watching the carts at all time and I apologize if this was not more obvious as we would not want to give the impression your belongings are left unattended. I also apologize over the Cafe challenges and would love to know more details so we can address and correct this ASAP.
Nicole Marshall nmarshall@troplv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
Excalibur Hotel & Casino
#107 of 264 in Las Vegas
4,109 reviews
The Strip
Treasure Island - TI Hotel & Casino
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#44 of 264 in Las Vegas
3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Trump International Hotel Las Vegas
Signature at MGM Grand
#12 of 264 in Las Vegas
12,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel

Address: 3801 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89109-4325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > The Strip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#43 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#53 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#71 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#75 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: ₹ 4,102 - ₹ 19,098 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropicana Las Vegas - a DoubleTree by Hilton redefines the expectations of today's global travelers with a casually elegant experience on the Las Vegas Strip and a convenient location just minutes from the airport, major convention centers and top entertainment stadiums. The hotel features all-new rooms, suites and luxury villas that evoke the sentiment of a breezy beach house or penthouse in Miami, a fresh redesign of the 50,000-square-foot casino, several award-winning restaurants; including Robert Irvine's Public House which opened in 2017, Oakville Steakhouse a Napa Inspired Steakhouse, and Bacio Italian Cuisine. Other amenities include an award winning pool surrounded by palm trees, lush landscaping and flowing waterfalls, and Glow(R), a Mandara Spa and fitness center. Top entertainment includes David Goldrake Imaginarium, Rich Little, our Laugh Factory comedy club and live music in the Tropicana Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Las Vegas - A DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Las Vegas Hotel Las Vegas
Tropicana Resort Las Vegas
Tropicana Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing