We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value in Vegas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Nugget Hotel
Ranked #86 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
San Francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best value in Vegas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

i've been to vegas about 10 times for both business and pleasure. most of the times I stay on the strip since it's more centrally located and most of the conferences I attend are at the Sands or the LV Convention Center. though this isn't my first time to the Golden Nugget, it was my first time staying there. here's my breakdown of my stay:

LOCATION: the location of the Nugget is good and bad. if you want to hang out in downtown Vegas, it's in the perfect location. however, if you're planning on hanging out on the strip, the Golden Nugget (or any hotel downtown) is a bad option.

ROOM: the room is clean, nice and big. I would honestly say it's on par with the bottom of the top range of hotels on the strip or the top of the middle range of the hotels on the strip. no free wifi though which sucks.

AMENITIES: the hotel has some really awesome attractions. the shark tank is definitely one of the cooler, more family oriented pools in all of Vegas. there definitely are younger, hotter types there but it's mostly families who want to see & swim with the animals. Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse is one of my favorites in all of Vegas as well, but it's not cheap. expect to pay normal high end steakhouse prices, around $80 per person.

overall this hotel is extremely nice and but honestly nothing special. however, factor in that there is free parking and the rooms was only $50, this was one the best deals i've ever had in vegas. 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ekchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

10,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,556
    3,844
    1,563
    760
    560
See reviews for
1,807
4,475
512
594
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,773)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

we recently stayed in the rush towers of this hotel for 5 nights after travelling round america. We have never stayed down town of vegas before but thought we would try it. And after staying here the nugget is the only hotel we would consider staying in if we was to stay in downtown again but personally we prefer the new strip!!!. As downtown is cheap but after 2 days nightlife can become boring as the downtown strip is not very big and does not take long to walk up and down but freemont street worth seeing if nothing else!!1 the hotel its self was very big and bold following the theme of vegas,however very busy hotel hince as its alot cheaper to stay in and the pool well get up at 7am if you want a spot by the pool any later and forget sunbathing for the day due to how crowed it always was!!! due to half the pool side being closed for half the day in the middle of our stay we had to pay $40 per day to get a sun longer in the H20 area of the nugget which was extra expensive that we had not considered before hand overall glad we stayed there but would not stay again but if your on a budget its very cheap to drink and eat!!! shark tank amazing just pity too busy to hardly see or get close to!!!

Room Tip: we upgraded to the rush towers after reading reviews on here nice room,however the room was smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked the Rush Tower Room for the two first nights of our road trip. Although we weren't used to valet parking we did take the opportunity to use the rush tower valet since it was already midnight when we arrived and we didn't want to bother hauling our luggage from the self-parking. For the valet you can tip whatever you want - turned out to be very convenient. Self-Parking is free when you stay at the hotel. The Rush Tower check-in was closed (I guess they close it early) so we had to use the regular registration which was ok since there weren't that much people. Service was friendly.

But the best part was the room: in one word AMAZING. Beautiful bed, salon, big bathroom, two flatscreens. It is definitely worth paying a bit more for the Rush Tower since it is more modern. Price for wifi was quite high but overall great hotel in downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nora L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Ok...so you want to enjoy the lights, food and excitment of Las Vegas...but you don't want to spend the whole time walking long distances between casinos. This is the place to be!
Yes, there are cheaper hotels on the Fremont Experience...but nothing as nice as the Golden Nugget. We have stayed at just about all of them.
Want a nice pool? This is the best of the best! The only downside about the pool is the challenge of getting a chair. Everyone gets out early and places a towel or hat or book on a chair to save it for when they want to return. We saw chairs that were reserved with hats on them that remained un-used all day. There must be a solution to this problem. Aside from that it is amazing.
The rooms are large, clean and classy. They lack the old casino smell! The staff is very helpful and friendly. The buffet is JUST OK! We would recomend going to one of the others on the Fremont.
We will be there again soon...hope to meet you there!
Kim and Nick

Room Tip: All seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HideawayCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte Sereno, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We had never stayed downtown but the Golden Nugget had been highly recommended by relatives. We read Tripadvisor reviews so we knew to expect long check-in lines. We checked in late (11pm) Friday night and there was a long line (Gold Tower). Valet parking was full in front at the main entrance but the parking attendant told us valet parking was available at the rear entrance. We self parked which was fine. We chose the Gold Tower for the upgraded mattresses and were pleased. Pool was crowded but the kids had fun and hubby got there early to save an area. Cafe was hit and miss. Good service. Really good rewards program if you gamble and join their program. We normally stay at Bellagio which we still prefer as a couple but when traveling with kids, this is the place to stay. The kids loved the arcade. We were pleasantly pleased.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNDanczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Downtown
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
Four Queens Hotel and Casino
#106 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Downtown
The D Casino Hotel Las Vegas
Downtown
Downtown Grand, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fremont Hotel and Casino
Fremont Hotel and Casino
#103 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
The Strip
Circus Circus Hotel & Casino Las Vegas
Plaza Hotel & Casino
#108 of 264 in Las Vegas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Nugget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Nugget Hotel

Property: Golden Nugget Hotel
Address: 129 East Fremont Street, Las Vegas, NV 89101-5603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#37 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#42 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#77 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,511 - ₹ 13,855
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Nugget Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 2419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Nugget Las Vegas is the most luxurious resort on the Fremont Street Experience, and consistently receives critical acclaim for exceeding customer expectations. With more than 2,400 deluxe guestrooms and suites, the Golden Nugget has everything necessary for a top-notch Las Vegas vacation. The high-energy casino features the most popular slot and video poker machines, table games, race and sports book and poker room. Experience nightly entertainment with master impressionist and comedian Gordie Brown and dine at world-class restaurants such as Grotto Italian Ristorante and Vic & Anthony's Steakhouse. Complete with a luxurious spa and salon, The Tank, a year-round outdoor swimming pool complete with a 200,000-gallon, live shark aquarium and the new H20 poolside lounge, there is something for everyone at the Golden NUgget. Take one step inside and you'll see why the Golden Nugget Las Vegas sets the standard for luxury and comfort. We look forward to welcoming you as our guest and hope you enjoy your trip to Las Vegas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Golden Nugget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Nugget Las Vegas
Downtown Las Vegas
Las Vegas Golden Nugget
Golden Nugget Hotel Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing