We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoky and remote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Ranked #45 of 264 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Healesville
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smoky and remote”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife & I stayed at the Hotel to attend a conference. The conference was very successful, the room was a good size with a good view. The Spa and massage were wonderful, although expensive. The hotel has a number of restaurants with reasonable food, although the restaurant staff were not very good catering for special diets eg coeliac (gluten), fructose, lactose.
The Hotel is situated at the Southern end of Vegas, a long way off the strip. You will need to catch a bus or shuttle to see or do anything outside the Hotel (including food shopping) as nothing is in walking distance. Taxi from the middle of the strip to the Hotel was around US$70 with tip, so get the shuttle if possible.
Like most casino's this Hotel has all restaurants arranged around the gaming areas. Unlike most casino's the cigarette smoke is not removed well (pity for a building only 4 years old). If you do not smoke you will hate this place entering or leaving the building.
Given the Hotels isolation it has a captive clientele, meaning that you will need to eat in the smoky restaurants or bars, have the eat in room service (adding to expense) or shuttle bus somewhere else. No fridges in the rooms adds to the difficulty - first time I have encountered lack of even a rudimentary bar fridge.
Check in staff were friendly, although there was a mix up at reception initially despite at least 5 emails to the Hotel before arriving. Frustrating but resolved.
Check out was marred by a young surly employee with an attitude problem, her problem not mine!
Overall, I would not choose to stay at this establishment again primarily due to the isolation and cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: Choose a non smoking higher floor away from the lifts. Bring a cooler bag to place ice around peris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mrphysio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, as your feedback is very important to us.

It disappoints us to hear our location was inconvenient for you. We do offer a strip shuttle for our guests at a minimal fee of $8 for an all day pass. We also do have refrigerators availalbe upon request at a daily cost of $15. I apologize if our staff did not inform you of this option.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience these experiences may have caused on your recent stay.

We greatly appreciate your business and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future!

Thank you,

Hotel Operations
702-796-7111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,099
    2,028
    574
    194
    149
See reviews for
1,163
1,831
336
708
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,082)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

If you are at South Point for any reason check out the spa. I had the best massage ever, by Kevin. So nice and really knew what he was doing. I have had many massages for my muscle spasms and have to say this was by far the BEST! The whole staff was wonderful. Can not say enough good things about it!
I was there for an Arabian horse show and really love the equine facilities. It's not on the strip but has movie theater, bowling alley ( great place to get an inexpensive meal!) I usually take teens with me and they love it!

Room Tip: I like the mountain view, high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arabianfancycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for completing our online survey! We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, as your feedback is very important to us.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to serving you again on a future visit to Las Vegas!


Thank you,

Hotel Operations
702-796-7111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed here during a convention for my husband’s work. I wouldn’t stay again. Positives: hotel staff is friendly, there are at least two good restaurants on site, and the casino is great (including fun staff). We had a great time at the craps table, despite walking away with empty pockets. It was reasonably lacking in hallway or over-the-head noise, especially given that it’s a mid-level hotel. Negatives: well, first of all you’re off strip. WAY off strip (7 miles south). We rented a car so that the wives could do some shopping, so it wasn’t a huge deal to us, but it might be to some. Noise is definitely a factor here; we always request a quiet room because my husband is keenly sensitive to noise. The first room was in a corner that overlooked the HVAC systems on the roof; the windows vibrated from the pressure. It faced east, and the placement of the windows in the room doesn’t allow the curtains to close all the way…it got very bright very early. The second room was quieter, and I liked the view over the pool, but it’s also the side on which deliveries arrive, so the backing-up beeps of trucks was pretty consistent. The room was clean and pretty basic, about what you’d expect for the price. It wasn’t terrible; it just wasn’t great. However, if you’re attending something at the equine center, it’s probably worth it to be that close. The spa is nice, although a tad on the expensive side for its location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettibiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaza City, Palestinian Territories
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I spent at South Point 6 nights. It is an amazing hotel. The room was big, clean, with a very comfortable bed, LCD and an amazing view of the city from the 14th floor. There's a big choice of restaurants with delicious food and different kind of entertainment for those who are not interested in gambling. It's a bit far away from the Strip but you can reach it with the shuttle, local bus or taxi.

Room Tip: if you want a nice view ask for a room on a higher floor, to avoid a hotel bulding view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maysha1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Hotel Operations at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for completing our online survey! We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, as your feedback is very important to us.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to serving you again on a future visit to Las Vegas!


Thank you,

Hotel Operations
702-796-7111
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

great place to get away from kids for the weekend. great large rooms fair price. besides a wide variety of gaming, you can take in a movie go bowling or just hang out by the pool. nice choice of eating establishments.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redr0b4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteloperations2010, Manager at South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Thank you for the great review you shared about our property. We are so glad you found various amenities to help make your stay a great one! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, and look forward to having you stay with us on a future visit to Las Vegas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Enterprise
The Grandview at Las Vegas
The Grandview at Las Vegas
#47 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#39 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,426 reviews
The Orleans Hotel & Casino
#49 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enterprise
Silverton Hotel and Casino
Silverton Hotel and Casino
#68 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Palms Casino Resort
#58 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,221 reviews
Summerlin
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
Suncoast Hotel and Casino
#50 of 264 in Las Vegas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa

Property: South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa
Address: 9777 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, NV 89183-4013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas > Enterprise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Las Vegas
#20 Casino Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Spa Hotel in Las Vegas
#25 Luxury Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#47 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
#52 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,715 - ₹ 13,227
Hotel Class:4 star — South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 2163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Point Hotel, Casino & Spa is located in the heart of the premiere southwest Las Vegas valley, just minutes away from the famous Las Vegas Strip. Our distinctive hotel features spacious rooms and suites with 42-inch plasma televisions, Point Plush mattresses and Wireless Fidelity throughout. Some of our many amenities include a world class spa and fitness center, a 16-screen Century Theatre movie complex, a 64-lane bowling center and a handful of restaurants that cater to all appetites and tastes. Our casino features a large selection of table games and the latest slot and video poker machines. A unique feature to this property is its Equestrian Center, which is the finest horse facility in the country. South Point also has a fabulous 400-seat showroom that features headliner entertainment and dancing to live bands on weekends. Stop by the South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa today, we are sure you will want to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Point Hotel, Casino and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Las Vegas
South Point Hotel Las Vegas
South Point Casino
South Point Hotel Casino
South Coast Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing