We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Information to know . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Desert Paradise Resort
Ranked #37 of 262 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Information to know . . .”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

First of all, I am not a complainer! I just feel that all you fellow travelers would like to have as much information about a resort as possible in order to plan what is probably costing you a lot of money, so here goes:

Please note that there are NO umbrellas anywhere around the adult pool; therefore, you will have a hard time finding shade. There are a few small trees, but mimimal shade. There are some canopies around the family pool, but they are very sheer and do not fully block out the sun and when it is 100 degrees -- you can easily get burned.

The grills are LP gas, so if you barbeque, there is no taste. Hardly worth the trouble. They also are situated along a wall of total sun. One guy was sweating bullets while trying to barbeque.

The grounds are very clean, as others guests have mentioned.

The unit was mostly clean, but I did notice that the carpet was very dirty.
We had a two bedroom unit, which had a lot of space! Very nice.
The living room furniture was very simple. There was a couch, a chair and
two ottomans. No table. A recliner would have been nice.

We were very rushed when we checked in. (I do not know why?) We were not told what the code was (or that we needed a code) to open the gate after 6:00 p.m. and sat there looking stupid when we came back one evening and could not open it. They called security! We were not given any information regarding shuttles/busses to get to the strip, where grocery stores were or anything. Our unit was not ready, so we had to wait. You are, however, able to use the facilities while you wait.

In the laundry room, there are vents in there and they are very noisy. The clothes I put in the
dryer came out very linty even though I cleaned the filter.

Under the stairs as you enter the room, there are two units of some kind, which I assume ran the air conditioning, were also very noisy, especially in the second bedroom. One night there was a high-pitched screech. This may be annoying for you.

The staff were mostly very friendly and helpful, although I did notice a slight cold shoulder when we did not choose to take part in the timeshare presentation.

Although a nice gesture, the "welcome party" was at 8:30 in the morning. We did not attend.
There are NO activities at all.

We felt that 10:00 a.m. check out was a bit early.

All in all, I would recommend this resort as a pretty good option.

Room Tip: Second floor, away from street or family pool if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Muggs35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    185
    41
    14
    17
See reviews for
217
182
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east midlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our road trip across from the west coast. We had a 2 bed apartment . It was an upper apartment away from the pool area. Lovely and quiet , well furnish and very comfortable. we used the sofa bed of well as their are 5 of us. We used the washing machine , great to clean a few clothes before our flight home. The staff where very friendly and helpful , desk staff and concierge. The kids loved the pools and the waterfall was on whilst we were their too. The barbecues are a great idea too but didnt get the chance to use them. The strip was only 10 to 15 minutes in a car or you could use a shuttle. We were given maps for groceries stores and the outlets too. Well kept . clean , tidy and quiet. Good facilities as well.

Great place for us to rest up and see the sites of las vegas.

Room Tip: choose a an apartment away from the pool area if you want the quietest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Desert Paradise Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for posting positive feedback about your recent stay at our resort. Our staff takes great pride in offering superior customer service to our guests. Hopefully, the maps provided to you greatly assisted with your shopping needs. We are very happy to hear that you and your family were able to take advantage of our recently renovated pools. It is our hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for a week and we loved it. The kitchen and laundry room had everything we needed for our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the fact that it was quiet and away from the strip. No loud casino, bars, or shops below you while you're trying to sleep. Also, the pool is quiet and relaxing; there are two pools, a family pool and an adult pool. If you are looking for a place close to the strip, this is not for you. A rental car, shuttle or taxi is a must for getting to and from the strip. It's too far to walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LMG1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Rented a 2 bdrm condo where 4 high school friends (class of 1983) and I stayed for 4 nights. We loved the comfort and convenience of a spacious condo where we could "catch up", lounge by the pool and have all the conveniences of home. We took the shuttle or a taxi to/from the strip each afternoon/evening and took in shows, did some gambling, martini bars, shopping, fine dining and sight seeing. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The condo was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Nice pool and bath towels. Great location near convenience store, Walgreens, Starbucks, Quiznos, Qdoba. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor; away from Decatur Blvd
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovetheBeach64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We just had a wonderful experience staying four nights at this timeshare-resort property. Our two bedroom unit was one of the most spacious condos we have ever stayed in. The kitchen was newly updated and very well equipped. Our three year old grandson really enjoyed the children's pool area. The adults appreciated that it was away from the "bling and bang" of the strip yet an easy drive to all the action.

If this was an RCI property it would definitely be a Silver Crown resort. Don't hesitate to reserve a condo. Great location, great property, great price...who could ask for more?!

Room Tip: Reserve a second floor condo away from the street if you are sensitive to street noise and "cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sdtravelersf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
3.7 km away
Desert Rose Resort
Desert Rose Resort
#45 of 262 in Las Vegas
3,824 reviews
0.4 km away
Tahiti Vacation Club
Tahiti Vacation Club
#65 of 262 in Las Vegas
415 reviews
3.6 km away
Polo Towers Suites
Polo Towers Suites
#31 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Hilton Grand Vacations on Paradise (Convention Center)
0.9 km away
Club de Soleil All-Suite Resort
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Tropicana
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#27 of 262 in Las Vegas
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Paradise Resort

Property: Desert Paradise Resort
Address: 5165 S Decatur Blvd, Las Vegas, NV 89118-1520
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#27 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,906 - ₹ 20,799
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Paradise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Paradise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Paradise Hotel Las Vegas
Sunterra Desert Paradise Resort
Desert Paradise Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing