We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Within walking distance of the Strip and great breakfast included!”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #34 of 265 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We were invited to join a friend at this timeshare. The 2 bedroom was roomy and quiet for our party of 5 adults. One person took the couch, with 2 in each bedroom. It seemed newly decorated - clean and neat with TVs in all rooms. Outdoor parking just outside our unit was very convenient. The hot breakfast included each morning was a treat, as we sat near friendly vacationers each morning. The gym is small, but not crowded and we used great treadmills. One in our party swam in the pool and found it comfortable. We usually stay in suites at the Golden Nugget Hotel downtown, but found this to be a very nice alternative. I do have to add that the twin beds were comfortable for the 2 of us petite women, but may not suit larger or taller persons.

Room Tip: We were a unit or two away from the elevator, so didn't hear a lot of noise from that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,496 - 1,500 of 3,933 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

I stayed while attending a conference at the Mandalay Bay and got a great deal. I read some reviews that talked about the Desert Rose being "a block and a half" from the Strip. Those are some pretty big blocks, though! It took me right at 10 minutes to walk to the southeast corner of Tropicana and Las Vegas Blvd (through the Hooters and Tropicana properties). 10 minutes may sound like a short walk, but it's 10 minutes to just get you to the Strip. You're still probably not anywhere you want to really spend any time. Bring comfortable shoes to Vegas!

After four days of walking back and forth, I was ready to take a cab, but the Desert Rose is too small to have cabs waiting out front. The major Strip hotels always do. The front desk clerk told me it would take 20 minutes for a cab to come if she called one for me, so I just walked some more. (When I left for the airport, I did ask the front desk to call me a cab, and one turned up in three minutes. He had been waiting at Hooters for a fare and sped down the block to meet me. I'm not sure if this was typical or just lucky responsiveness.)

The property is lovely and does have a condo feel. I had a one bedroom unit with a full kitchen. The breakfast was good, though crowded, as the other reviewers have mentioned. The fitness center was better than average.

I truly have no complaints about the Desert Rose. It is my own fault for underestimating its distance from everything I wanted and needed to do in Las Vegas. I would not stay here again while traveling for business, as the company would have reimbursed an on-strip resort. I learned that I prefer to be in the thick of the action, and that's exactly opposite of how I can describe the Desert Rose.

However, if budget is a concern, and/or if you'll have access to a car, I would be surprised if you could find a better value in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToughCritic36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is now my third time I have stayed here after the first time, it was like I was coming home! It is ranked very high out f all the hotels in Vegas and I have yet to stay at any of the 6 others that beat this but in my opinion, for a condo, I don't think it can get any better. Think about it, a full kitchen yet you don't have to make breakfast because they provide it for you, as well as a managers reception Mon-Thurs....you WON'T be disappointed with this place. I only wish I was staying longer than one night but booking through Hot$i;e you never knw until you hae booked it.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Ercadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

So I found out about the hotel from searching this site. I found the reviews to be accurate and honest. When we check in, not five minutes into the hotel concierge gave us great info on free shows on the strip and the best way to maneuver from strip to downtown.

If I could change anything it would be the hours of contenital breakfast. That time went so fast and the line so long that I only wanted to grab juice and leave. However, the staff was very accommodating and friendly that more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pb1bicdic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I am an elite owner with SHELL Vacations Club and this is one of ours. Usually SHELL properties are all GREAT, but this one leaves much to be desired! It was old and run-down, noisy, and had "QUESTIONABLE" employees and other guests! Not at all the nice atmosphere I expected or am used to with SHELL. It is a nice location...close to the strip...walking distance, but the place itself is almost a dive!

Room Tip: top floor away from pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#32 of 265 in Las Vegas
2,263 reviews
Platinum Hotel and Spa
#7 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,817 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#19 of 265 in Las Vegas
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Polo Towers Suites
#27 of 265 in Las Vegas
2,611 reviews
The Strip
Tuscany Suites & Casino
Tuscany Suites & Casino
#45 of 265 in Las Vegas
3,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#40 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: ₹ 5,334 - ₹ 17,224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing