We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to "resort" to!”
Review of Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Rose Resort
Ranked #46 of 263 Hotels in Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My 13 year old daughter had a dance competition in Vegas at the Orleans hotel. They were booked so we scrambled to find another place to stay. I was attracted to this resort because the rooms are set up like tiny apartments. It felt really relaxing, as if we were home....with the living room, roomy kitchen and even a dining area! My 10 year old son loved the tv in the living room and my daughter and I watched in the bedroom. The decor was cheery and warm and the place was immaculate! The couch was comfortable and so were the beds. I was able to cook a few times and found the kitchen working perfectly. There are no casino slot machines so there was no smoking which was a huge plus! It was within walking distance of the MGM Grand where we ate dinner. The breakfast at the hotel was pretty good...dissapointed that there were no pastry or bagels, just toast. However, the coffee was Starbucks...piping hot! The pool area was great. Only complaint was that the inside rooms are dark so ask for one facing the outside or the pool, NOT the inner courtyard area which was a bit depressing staring at hotel walls and walkways. This hotel was very quiet so we slept quite well! The only annoyance was that it took quite some time to get across Las Vegas AVe to get my daughter to her events at the Orleans as you are competitng with airport traffic. I reccomend this hotel for families!

Room Tip: ask for a room NOT facing the inner courtyard....there are four complexes and each has an inner cour...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationfromvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,844)
There are newer reviews for Desert Rose Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,477 - 1,481 of 3,844 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

The Desert Rose is just the place to stay. Away from the hustle and bustle of the Strip and cacophonic noise of a Casino. The units are very well equipped and furnished. The complimentary wifi service was great for organizing activities. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and accomodating. The complimentary continental breakfast was a perfect way to start the day.
We're looking forward to returning to the Desert Rose the next time we go Vegas and we definitely would recommend this resort to our friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west and north sides have a better view of the Neon Lights at Night.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLH1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hello everybody.As you can see posted here the Desert Rose Resort is a very good place to stay in Las Vegas.It is close to the strip.It is convenient given that you have a small kitchen.It offers the one or two bedroom option.They offer free drinks in the evening with some very cheap finger food and a cheap continental breakfast in the morning.So regarding the free stuff they do it as cheap as possible.However it is free but not as good as one may think.I have been going here every year for the last 5 years for one week.It is usually around Sept-Nov time of the year.Every year it has been a slam dunk for price comparison and value but things have changed.Last year a Mon-Fri one bedroom unit cost me $403.Very good for what you get.This year you pay $656 ???. So it is quickly now not such a good deal and I must shop around.The Trip Adviser Rating has dropped from 1 or 2 to 7 at the time of this posting.Its too bad they do this as they had a good thing going for many repeat customers.If you have any questions on this place please ask and I will tell you what I know.

BTW if you so decide to pay the extra money to stay here avoid the back units.The garbage truck arrives early in the morning unloading the garbage dumpsters.The noise will wake you.......its like a clap of thunder for 30 min straight.And that my friends is the unbiased truth.

Cheers!

Room Tip: Avoid the back units as stated in my post.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dscvmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed four nights (ave.$54/night incl. tax), and returned for another following a road trip to the Grand Canyon.

Before booking accommodation in Vegas, you have to decide what type of stay you want, and get a feel for the different styles. If you want a party-hard, hangover place, this isn’t it. We found Desert Rose to be a peaceful and welcome place to return to each evening, after the trashy, noisy Strip.

Overall: It’s fantastic value-for-money in a large suite with kitchen facilities. Unlike most hotels in Las Vegas, there are no surprise, exhorbitant resort fees charged. Best for families or those wanting a quieter non-casino experience a reasonable walk from The Strip.

What’s good: This was our 22nd hotel stay in fifteen weeks across North America, and one of the best value for money and largest rooms so far. We had a one-bedroom suite with balcony and full kitchen (microwave, refrigerator, stove). We booked the night before our stay on hotels.com for an average rate of $54/night (incl. tax & breakfast) for three nights.

It’s a 15 minute walk through Hooters and Tropicana Hotel carparks to the start of the strip at MGM Hotel/Casino. Our first stay was in a third floor room (facing the internal courtyard), and a third floor room facing a carpark our second stay. Beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. Free wifi worked well our first stay, but a bit unrealiable and patchy our second.

Staff were enthusiastic, friendly, efficient and polite. Plenty of free carparks available. There’s a tiny shop onsite with limited snacks and toiletries, and a guest laundry available (small fee). A bonus free beer, softdrinks and limited snacks are provided for guests for a few hours in the evening Monday through Thursday.

Breakfast was included in our rate, and was standard hotel continental (cereals, yoghurt, bagels, toast, juice, coffee and bulk-style scrambled egg & mini sausage). Free coffee available 24/7 in the foyer.

Two colour tvs in our suite, with a reasonable selection of channels. In-room safe also available.

Potential showstoppers: My partner had 17 bed bug bites, 24 hours after our second stay here. Whilst we can’t guarantee the bites were from here (we stayed in two other hotels within two weeks), and everyone reacts differently (some people take up to 9 days to show a bite, and others don’t react at all), I’d recommend you inspect mattresses, around the bed and furniture & fixtures thoroughly for any bed bug signs (as with all hotels) After our stay, we found two entries (dated 2011) for this hotel, on the bed bug registry website.

Minor annoyances: (there weren’t many). Both stays were reasonably quiet but staff can sometimes be a bit loud, yelling and chatting to each other as they work around rooms.

Transport: we caught the Westcliff Airport Express bus (WAX) from the airport ($1.50pp) – it’s an approx. 10 minute walk from the stop at E. Tropicana Avenue (after Kovan Lane) to the resort, but is do-able providing your luggage is small. Bus passes for the gold, double-decker Duece Strip bus are cheaper if purchased off strip. The Duece Strip bus stops nearby the resort (around the corner on the Boulevard, outside the Tropicana carpark) and can take you along the strip and back.

Safety/Security: The side exit gates to the facility can be inadvertently left unclosed by exiting guests (staff need to regularly check), as gates have a dampner on them on don’t quite close properly if left to swing shut. This puts guests at risk for uninvited visitors in the resort compound. We witnessed a young man chased by a security guard, attempting to gain entry to the resort through one of these side gates.

Also, avoid betting on sidewalk ‘spot the marble under the cup’ games – they’re a scam. We watched a guy running one of these ask the watching crowd for a $100 bet to pick where the marble was. A $100 note held up by an audience member was quickly snatched and the guy did a runner. Sidewalk gambling is not legal, and you’ll likely be scammed the same way.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRRYieldManager, General Manager at Desert Rose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Desert Rose Resort, I am sure that many people will find it helpful in planning upcoming trips. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

I would like to mention that Desert Rose Resort has a proactive program in place to identify, detect and immediately treat any potential case of bed bugs found on our property. Each of us at Desert Rose Resort take this matter very seriously and we would like to speak with you to find out more information about your stay.

Thank you again for your review and we do appreciate your objectivity regarding the potential source of the bed bug bites. When traveling, it is strongly recommended that you notify hotel management of any suspicions of bed bugs immediately.

Thank you,
Desert Rose Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We enjoyed staying here. It's cozy with a comfortable bed and furnishings, great kitchen, free wifi (although a bit slow), and no casino to walk through. The pool is pretty good too. Breakfast is simple and sufficient. Staff is very friendly. Great value. Would recommend to those who aren't into partying late into the night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Vegas hotels
Polo Towers Suites
#32 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,441 reviews
The Strip
The Carriage House
The Carriage House
#16 of 263 in Las Vegas
1,372 reviews
The Strip
Wyndham Grand Desert
Wyndham Grand Desert
#29 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Strip
Travelodge Las Vegas Airport North/Near the Strip
The Strip
Marriott's Grand Chateau
Marriott's Grand Chateau
#6 of 263 in Las Vegas
3,346 reviews
Hampton Inn Tropicana
#28 of 263 in Las Vegas
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Rose Resort

Address: 5051 Duke Ellington Way, Las Vegas, NV 89119-1143
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nevada > Las Vegas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Las Vegas
#36 Romantic Hotel in Las Vegas
#49 Family Hotel in Las Vegas
#61 Business Hotel in Las Vegas
Price Range: ₹ 5,870 - ₹ 22,125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Rose Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 blocks from the Las Vegas Strip, Desert Rose Resort provides you with great access to all the glitz and glam of Las Vegas along with all the gracious pleasures of a resort hotel. Settle into one and two-bedroom condo suites in Las Vegas with fully equipped kitchens and comfortable living and dining areas – all beautifully decorated with sleek, contemporary furnishings and a rich color palette. Desert Rose Resort’s pool is an oasis, a truly relaxing and refreshing hideaway – dramatically different from the crush of people at some Vegas hotels. Lucky you, Desert Rose Resort is a winning deal in Las Vegas - without stepping foot in a casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Rose Hotel Las Vegas
Desert Rose Las Vegas
Desert Rose Resort Las Vegas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing